Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 03:51:39 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [SOLVED] GUIMiner crashes PC when clicking "Stop mining".  (Read 2332 times)
tacc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
August 28, 2011, 11:51:45 AM
 #1

So I found a lot of threads on several forums about this problem but no solution at all.

GUIMiner with rpcminer-cuda.exe (latest version) always freezes my PC for good when I click "Stop mining" in order to... stop mining.

Windows 7 x64
E8400
9800 GTX
4 GiB RAM

It also happens on my ION2 Netbook (EeePC 1215N, Windows 7 x64, 4 GiB).

Latest drivers on both.

Yes, I know. Both systems are completely unsuitable for mining. I don't intend to seriously mine anyway.

Solution:
Turn off behavior monitoring of Microsoft Security Essentials.
1480780299
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480780299

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480780299
Reply with quote  #2

1480780299
Report to moderator
1480780299
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480780299

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480780299
Reply with quote  #2

1480780299
Report to moderator
1480780299
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480780299

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480780299
Reply with quote  #2

1480780299
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480780299
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480780299

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480780299
Reply with quote  #2

1480780299
Report to moderator
BookLover
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 535


^Bitcoin Library of Congress.


View Profile
August 28, 2011, 01:26:58 PM
 #2

What miner are you using? Have you tried opening task-manager(right click on taskbar and select) and ending the process tree of your miner?

Pearikay
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
August 28, 2011, 03:54:44 PM
 #3

Cuda didn't work for me.
tacc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
August 28, 2011, 05:22:32 PM
 #4

What miner are you using?
If my initial post doesn't answer it then I have no idea.


Quote
Have you tried opening task-manager(right click on taskbar and select) and ending the process tree of your miner?
That works but couldn't it possibly end up in data loss or corruption?
BookLover
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 535


^Bitcoin Library of Congress.


View Profile
August 28, 2011, 08:52:55 PM
 #5

I mean what miner are you running through gui-miner?  Gui-miner is just a handy interface for a bunch of different types of miners.

I guess it could, but I do it every half hour to my miners and haven't had any trouble so far.

tacc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
August 28, 2011, 09:37:38 PM
 #6

I mean what miner are you running through gui-miner?  Gui-miner is just a handy interface for a bunch of different types of miners.

I know but I thought that's the rpcminer-cuda.exe I mentioned.
Still no idea.
ermsam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
August 29, 2011, 02:57:47 AM
 #7

So I found a lot of threads on several forums about this problem but no solution at all.

GUIMiner with rpcminer-cuda.exe (latest version) always freezes my PC for good when I click "Stop mining" in order to... stop mining.

Windows 7 x64
E8400
9800 GTX
4 GiB RAM

It also happens on my ION2 Netbook (EeePC 1215N, Windows 7 x64, 4 GiB).

Latest drivers on both.

Yes, I know. Both systems are completely unsuitable for mining. I don't intend to seriously mine anyway.
>9800 GTX
>8/2011
>facepalm.jpg
Try rolling back your drivers and then updating them again.
tacc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 11:25:54 AM
 #8

>9800 GTX
>8/2011
>facepalm.jpg
Any problems with that GPU? Keep it to yourself then. A 9800 GTX is still widely used in gaming PCs.

Quote
Try rolling back your drivers and then updating them again.
Now you just need to explain how that is magically supposed to change something. Hoping that some usually unwanted driver leftovers solve the problem? "Downdating" or updating a driver can solve problems. But surely not installing an older driver just to replace it with the "old" new one a minute later.

Doesn't matter anyway.
The behavior monitoring of Microsoft Security Essentials was the cause. Thought I turned that off months ago. Now it seems to work.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!