Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 09:54:21 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Are ATI faster than NVIDIA for graphics?  (Read 1997 times)
Minsc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
August 29, 2011, 03:45:17 AM
 #1

Just wondering.  I am buying a card purely for game playing and games like Star Wars Knights of The Old Republic 2 only run on NVIDIA cards.

1DcXvfJdeJch9uptKopte5XQarTtj5ZjpL
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. Header-only clients like MultiBit trust that the majority of mining power is honest for the purposes of enforcing network rules such as the 21 million BTC limit. Full clients do not trust miners in this way.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480758861
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480758861

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480758861
Reply with quote  #2

1480758861
Report to moderator
1480758861
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480758861

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480758861
Reply with quote  #2

1480758861
Report to moderator
1480758861
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480758861

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480758861
Reply with quote  #2

1480758861
Report to moderator
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
August 29, 2011, 03:49:34 AM
 #2

Short answer, No Longer answer it's really application specific but i've generally seen better performance on nvidia hardware when it comes to games and professional level applications(my quadro isn't going anywhere) however really you should look up some reviews on the cards you're considering both tomshardware and anandtech are good resources to see how for example a radeon 5830 stacks up against a geforce 460

Also games of that age aren't going to seemuch noticble diffrence on either vendors hardware i remember playing koto 2 on a 1ghz p3 with a geforce fx5600

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
NothinG
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
August 29, 2011, 05:48:55 AM
 #3

I personally have a nVidia GeForce GTS 360m...
My problem is heat.

These stats are from personal experience with max settings for that game.

CSS ~250-300 FPS
TF2 ~150-200 FPS
MW2MP ~50-100 FPS (~15-20 FPS w/ FRAPS)
BF3 Alpha ~50-60 FPS
Brink ~35-50 FPS
Homefront ~20-30 FPS

All I can remember is that when Homefront FIRST came out, it was love with HIGH (65-80 on max settings) FPS. Now, I can't get anything higher than 40 FPS with the lowest settings.

Minsc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
August 29, 2011, 10:24:14 PM
 #4

Some cheaper video cards don't even have fans.  Could they burn out from heat?

1DcXvfJdeJch9uptKopte5XQarTtj5ZjpL
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
August 29, 2011, 10:30:54 PM
 #5

NothinG who built your laptop? i have no problems in either of my thinkpads(w510 w520) with the quadros thermally (based on 330m and 460m respectivly)

As far as passivly cooled cards are concerned they're only going to overheat if the case isn't ventilated properly. That being said get one with a fan unless absolute silence is a necesity it's a simple way to help ensure proper cooling.

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
NothinG
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
August 29, 2011, 11:41:45 PM
 #6

NothinG who built your laptop? i have no problems in either of my thinkpads(w510 w520) with the quadros thermally (based on 330m and 460m respectivly)
Toshiba

I don't think it's my graphics card that's the problem, it's my CPU.
2x 4 core i7

Too much for this Laptop.

deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
August 29, 2011, 11:48:27 PM
 #7

i have a i7 720 in the 510 it gets hot under load but not uncomfortable TS needs some better design people lately

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
NothinG
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
August 29, 2011, 11:51:51 PM
 #8

i have a i7 720 in the 510 it gets hot under load but not uncomfortable TS needs some better design people lately
I'm 110% done with laptops.
Only reason why I kept getting laptops was for portability.

Now, I'm going to be moving into an apartment soon...I'm building a bad ass series of desktops.

deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
August 29, 2011, 11:56:05 PM
 #9

I'm going to stay with thinkpads i get epic performance out of the workstation class machined and they hold their value well(i sold my thinkpad for half what i paid for it 3 years later when i bought my w510) and docking stations let me have all the ports of a desktop while being able to carry it around, the big thing i stay away from is anything consumer oriented they're hard to work on and gernally built down to a pirce in obvious ways

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
NothinG
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
August 29, 2011, 11:59:34 PM
 #10

I'm going to stay with thinkpads i get epic performance out of the workstation class machined and they hold their value well(i sold my thinkpad for half what i paid for it 3 years later when i bought my w510) and docking stations let me have all the ports of a desktop while being able to carry it around, the big thing i stay away from is anything consumer oriented they're hard to work on and gernally built down to a pirce in obvious ways
My main intention is to have at least 3 desktops in my room, 1 desktop in the kitchen and 1 laptop to walk around with.
There will also be a media server, and a firewall in the closet.

I've got the media server and the firewall implemented at my parents house, so I don't see it being too much in the way.

deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
August 30, 2011, 12:20:18 AM
 #11

I'm going to advocate for a thinkpad as the laptop to walk around with they'll survive one hell of a beating take a look inside a t400s(a slim model) and look at the chassis reinforcement

http://hothardware.com/articleimages/Item1340/thinkpad-t400s-roll-cage.jpg

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
Yuusha
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
August 30, 2011, 01:26:19 AM
 #12

and games like Star Wars Knights of The Old Republic 2 only run on NVIDIA cards.
Uhh... no.
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
August 30, 2011, 02:50:23 PM
 #13

Just wondering.  I am buying a card purely for game playing and games like Star Wars Knights of The Old Republic 2 only run on NVIDIA cards.

No... this is false

I have an ATI 6950, i bought it for gaming and run very well with everything
Minsc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
August 30, 2011, 07:07:13 PM
 #14

Just wondering.  I am buying a card purely for game playing and games like Star Wars Knights of The Old Republic 2 only run on NVIDIA cards.

No... this is false

I have an ATI 6950, i bought it for gaming and run very well with everything


It could just be that game.  It's extremely buggy.

1DcXvfJdeJch9uptKopte5XQarTtj5ZjpL
Yuusha
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
August 30, 2011, 07:51:35 PM
 #15

Just wondering.  I am buying a card purely for game playing and games like Star Wars Knights of The Old Republic 2 only run on NVIDIA cards.

No... this is false

I have an ATI 6950, i bought it for gaming and run very well with everything


It could just be that game.  It's extremely buggy.
Yeah, but it runs just fine on ATI cards.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!