Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 10:05:29 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [CLOSED]Make me a live Win7 disc that does the following (3btc bounty)  (Read 1838 times)
shakaru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile WWW
August 29, 2011, 08:08:57 AM
 #1

I know that with vista there is a live disc. I have much better oc control in windows and I have 2 machines that need sata drives and all I have laying around is ide. I do have sata dvd drives and before I goto a wimpy linuxcoin distro, I really want to see if anyone can provide me with any ideas.

Little more info.
Machines are MSi890-gd45s. 6x5830 config on both.
Ive read about some live dvds and I am downloading a few. But my most promising lead is to get someone to compile a version with the amd 11.7 driver, sapphire trixx, phoenix and CGminer and make it work on that board. Internet is through ethernet so no wifi, and anythng besides that I am good.
3btc bounty for who can pull it off.

If this works and I can use it further, I will pay royalties.

1481234729
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481234729

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481234729
Reply with quote  #2

1481234729
Report to moderator
"Apparently, so I am told, there exist "people" who prefer to wipe sitting down. From the front. Initial research indicates it could be up to half the population." -- benjamindees
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
kokjo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050

You are WRONG!


View Profile
August 29, 2011, 08:27:43 AM
 #2

why is windows important?
the OS sucks.

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves and wiser people so full of doubts." -Bertrand Russell
TeaL
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
August 29, 2011, 08:29:17 AM
 #3

I'm pretty sure what you're asking for is illegal (as it would be re-distributing a MS Windows OS). If you can adjust your voltage allowance to the cards in your BIOS, then you can use LinuxCoin, using aticonfig to set clock speeds for memory and core.

To live is the rarest thing in the world, most people simply exist.
Helpful? ~ 1D3674hkatc4qQBjioWniF6epCmvAEQ45S
https://deepbit.net/userbar/4de68def8161972437000002_f1c525313c.png
Free as in Freedom.
shakaru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile WWW
August 29, 2011, 08:41:12 AM
 #4

I'm pretty sure what you're asking for is illegal (as it would be re-distributing a MS Windows OS). If you can adjust your voltage allowance to the cards in your BIOS, then you can use LinuxCoin, using aticonfig to set clock speeds for memory and core.

Oh, I am not asking for someone to make and send me an iso. My bad for assuming everyone knows how this process works.
People make scripts that will take files from your own windows install disc and customize a live iso you can burn. As long as you have the appropriate cd key (i do) programmed into the config at ISO creation, you all in the clear. In fact, the tools used for this, are all by Microsoft and are part of the automated installation, RIS/PXE system, and the preloaded environment part of windows. Most importantly, microsoft and almost all network card manufacturers support PXE booting of an OS which is where you can run an os from a server on a network via a tftp server and some other software. This is at your bios boot options. This is the same tech used to make a live cd, but just not over a network. I would actually make a pxe server, but you run into some hard dhcp issues and it will most likely mess up my network and cripple my other miners. 

Jazkal
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 319



View Profile
August 29, 2011, 02:34:12 PM
 #5

All the 'Live' Windows discs I've seen are all based on a WinPE foundation, which is limited to one GPU. If this is not a problem, then ok, just didn't know if you knew this.
shakaru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile WWW
August 29, 2011, 04:26:26 PM
 #6

All the 'Live' Windows discs I've seen are all based on a WinPE foundation, which is limited to one GPU. If this is not a problem, then ok, just didn't know if you knew this.

Nope, I need 8.

CyberPhunk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 124


View Profile
August 29, 2011, 04:38:54 PM
 #7

Have you even tried Linuxcoin yet? Or did you dismiss it out of hand?

List of client download mirrors / Older Catalyst drivers/SDK
13dRbbqBpfZEmZiXXdLM4NKNoJYsgHbuFJ  <- might as well, in case someone feels generous. Wink
shakaru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile WWW
August 29, 2011, 04:54:47 PM
 #8

Have you even tried Linuxcoin yet? Or did you dismiss it out of hand?
I cant OC in Linux coin to where I can in Windows. Also in regards to all PE environments begin one gpu. Isnt if the 11.7 driver are installed onto the disk, that it will do 8 like any other system?

Ill say that if someone can make a Luniucoin distro that has CG miner on it, can handle 6 gpus and have all devices expect device 4 run at 990/255 - 980/300 on all gpus but #4 and have #4 run no higher than 850/255-300 I will settle for that.

Jazkal
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 319



View Profile
August 29, 2011, 04:59:24 PM
 #9

I cant OC in Linux coin to where I can in Windows.
Try BAMT, it can do most OC (can't think of anything it can't do).



Also in regards to all PE environments begin one gpu. Isnt if the 11.7 driver are installed onto the disk, that it will do 8 like any other system?
If that works then it would be the first I've heard of it. The one GPU thing is hard coded into the kernel (or so I thought).
indio007
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
August 29, 2011, 05:14:29 PM
 #10

USB or dvd? What software?

Your order isn't specific enough.
indio007
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
August 29, 2011, 05:15:38 PM
 #11

I forgot to mention. It's going to take at least 4 hours so you need to raise you bounty. Those are slave wages.
shakaru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile WWW
August 29, 2011, 05:21:22 PM
 #12

I forgot to mention. It's going to take at least 4 hours so you need to raise you bounty. Those are slave wages.

To late, solved!

joulesbeef
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


moOo


View Profile
August 29, 2011, 05:22:59 PM
 #13

ti actually pretty easy work.. well you have to get all the files together, but then it is just a couple button presses..

get rt seven lite, it is like winlite but for 7. It is nearly grandma easy.

just slip stream in the drivers and programs you need and make it into a pe disk. It's really not as complex as you think, might be a little complex for me and 3 btc.. but if you have questions send me a pm.. or if I get bored I might make this but it is highly unlikely, especially today.

mooo for rent
indio007
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
August 29, 2011, 05:33:44 PM
 #14

ti actually pretty easy work.. well you have to get all the files together, but then it is just a couple button presses..

get rt seven lite, it is like winlite but for 7. It is nearly grandma easy.

just slip stream in the drivers and programs you need and make it into a pe disk. It's really not as complex as you think, might be a little complex for me and 3 btc.. but if you have questions send me a pm.. or if I get bored I might make this but it is highly unlikely, especially today.

I don't think it's complex. It's time consuming. Especially if you don't have identical hardware and something screws up. then you are playing email tag for hours.
3 BTC is too low. But it's moot considering it's "solved"
Furyan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175



View Profile
August 29, 2011, 08:49:21 PM
 #15

why is windows important?
the OS sucks.

Lol.  What a fantastic advocate for Linux.

Who cares that Bitcoin needs all the fresh users it can get, most of whom will likely be Windows users, since it needs mass acceptance by the typical user.  "Teh W|ndoz3 $ux0rs" and to hell with them all?

A bit of perspective...

From my point of view, each OS has its advantages (and advocates, and disadvantages).  The end purposes for choosing each are usually different.  Having greater variety and more choices isn't a bad thing, IMO.
shakaru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile WWW
August 30, 2011, 12:12:06 AM
 #16

Well, here is what I have come to.
I thought I had a way to run Xp sp3 off a usb harddisk. I have it installed, but the system hangs right before it ask me to select Safemode or normal boot ect.
What I really need is a way to run this hardware rig at the OC settings above. Linuxcoin detects all my hardware, and while Im having connection issues, I think once I move from 0.2 to 0.2b I should be fine.
So if anyone knows how to pull off these speeds and get the clocks to set, I would be very thankful in the ways of bitcoins. The hardware can handle it, I have identical rigs ruining windows just fine, I just dont have any more sata drives right now.

3phase
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 313


Third score


View Profile
August 30, 2011, 01:46:04 PM
 #17

Well, here is what I have come to.
I thought I had a way to run Xp sp3 off a usb harddisk. I have it installed, but the system hangs right before it ask me to select Safemode or normal boot ect.
What I really need is a way to run this hardware rig at the OC settings above. Linuxcoin detects all my hardware, and while Im having connection issues, I think once I move from 0.2 to 0.2b I should be fine.
So if anyone knows how to pull off these speeds and get the clocks to set, I would be very thankful in the ways of bitcoins. The hardware can handle it, I have identical rigs ruining windows just fine, I just dont have any more sata drives right now.

Shakaru, I used Linuxcoin in persistent mode according to the great instructions at http://www.linuxcoin.co.uk/wiki/index.php/Headless_Linuxcoin

You can skip all the overclocking script stuff (see below).

Then got the latest Ubuntu CGminer binary from https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.0

And finally installed Atitweak (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=25750.0) with
Code:
sudo easy_install adl3==0.3

Atitweak is by far the easiest overclocking tool to use, and with 11.6 ATI drivers (which Linuxcoin comes with) you can overclock as much as you like. Full control of Core clock, memory and voltage. I even tried to undervolt a little to save some power consumption, which I couldn't do in Windows.

I set up a 4x5870 rig with automatic scripts for overclocking startup, within 2 hours, having messed up for days with Windows, Trixx and AfterBurner. Not all cards are the same manufacturer so I have different overclock settings for them. Example, my unattended startup script below (when I am going to be away for days, and I don't want to care about temperatures and stuck cards, so lower MHash):
Code:
#!/bin/bash
atitweak -A 0 -e 720 -m 240 -v 0.95
atitweak -A 2 -e 690 -m 230 -v 0.95
atitweak -A 1 -e 690 -m 230 -v 1.07
atitweak -A 3 -e 780 -m 260 -v 1.0
cd /root/cgminer-1.5.8
screen -d -m ./cgminer -o xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx -u xxxxxxxxx -p xxxxx -I 8 -k phatk -v 2 -w 256

Hope this helps.

Fiat no more.
Δοκιμάστε το http://multibit.org - Bitcoin client τώρα και στα Ελληνικά
shivansps
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
September 25, 2011, 08:54:48 PM
 #18

Last time i tryied moding WINPE, i found out that it works, but with only 1 VGA card, in yet to try using the newer drivers and APP to see if it makes any diference.

1NEvmZTwLhqBgr3h7LwZap1sEHsyf3QFuv
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!