Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 06:28:50 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 5870 not hashing in new computer - Stream 2.1 installed  (Read 5532 times)
theGECK
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 410



View Profile
March 02, 2011, 04:44:09 PM
 #21

Will do. Do you recommend completely removing the current version of the SDK before installing 2.2, or just installing 2.2 right over it? I'm planning on removing first, as that's generally how I've had to downgrade in the past, unless I should do it the other way.

Use my referral codes for Bitcoin faucets and I'll send you 25% of my referral bonus - Win/Win! PM for details on all sites available or use one of the links here.

FreeBitco.in | FreeDoge.co.in
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481135330
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481135330

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481135330
Reply with quote  #2

1481135330
Report to moderator
1481135330
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481135330

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481135330
Reply with quote  #2

1481135330
Report to moderator
os008
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79



View Profile
March 02, 2011, 05:29:55 PM
 #22

What i did was remove the "newer" SDK only, not the whole package, then install the .msi file of the SDK from the older package only.

2x5850 @ 600[M|K]H/s
humble
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91



View Profile
March 02, 2011, 05:55:19 PM
 #23

I run 4x5870s. Each is giving me ~355Mh/sec. They've all been overclocked to 900 and this is my setup. I'm running poclbm (I know the post says Diablo but that was then) with -w128, -v, and -f1 flags.
smgoller
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
March 02, 2011, 07:35:24 PM
 #24

I run 4x5870s. Each is giving me about 355MH/S. They've all been overclocked to 900 and this is my setup. I'm running poclbm (I know the post says Diablo but that was then) with -w128, -v, and -f1 flags.


I followed your setup with a single 5870, and I'm getting 13MH/s. o_O

aticonfig --odgc tells me clock is running at 850Mhz and GPU load is 99%. Am I missing something obvious? I'm not CPU mining.

--
If I posted something that helped you out, please give me a tip:
13ndhNvWsbvHxoZDQcDcuem5frf2zbz5Xx
Ownski
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 180



View Profile
March 02, 2011, 11:38:19 PM
 #25

Just installed my new shiny 2GB 5870 Cheesy Cheesy. Got the latest drivers and everything. So far I love the card. A lot quieter than my GTX 285. Default I was running 290 khashes but with humbles extra paramaters i went up to 320 khashes!! awesome! This card is really quiet. The temps and fan are really low so Im assuming theres room for some overclocking Smiley

Money is the oldest magic trick in the book.
Neereus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
March 02, 2011, 11:43:46 PM
 #26

320kh/s? Are you sure, seems low, unless you mean 320Mh/s?

Donate (even 0.01 BTC) to my Robot Fund:
18jXUmXEz3c8Ji3SqZMwGE6PYY3V7qyQ86
humble
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91



View Profile
March 02, 2011, 11:49:34 PM
 #27


I followed your setup with a single 5870, and I'm getting 13MH/s. o_O

aticonfig --odgc tells me clock is running at 850Mhz and GPU load is 99%. Am I missing something obvious? I'm not CPU mining.

Hmm... never experienced anything like that. You _sure_ you're not mining with the CPU? What output do you get if you just run:

./poclbm.py

without any flags?
Ownski
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 180



View Profile
March 03, 2011, 12:00:36 AM
 #28

Oh yeah I ment 320Mhashes. I overclocked the GPU to 900 and now im pulling in 340Mhashes. This is a surprisingly strong card.

Money is the oldest magic trick in the book.
smgoller
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
March 03, 2011, 12:16:17 AM
 #29


I followed your setup with a single 5870, and I'm getting 13MH/s. o_O

aticonfig --odgc tells me clock is running at 850Mhz and GPU load is 99%. Am I missing something obvious? I'm not CPU mining.

Hmm... never experienced anything like that. You _sure_ you're not mining with the CPU? What output do you get if you just run:

./poclbm.py

without any flags?

I was trying to use DiabloMiner. Right now I'm trying again using windows, just to see if the hardware might be bad.

--
If I posted something that helped you out, please give me a tip:
13ndhNvWsbvHxoZDQcDcuem5frf2zbz5Xx
humble
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91



View Profile
March 03, 2011, 12:38:07 AM
 #30


I was trying to use DiabloMiner. Right now I'm trying again using windows, just to see if the hardware might be bad.

My speeds were slightly slower w/Diablo (peaked out ~343) but otherwise the same setup works fine for me.
foo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 409



View Profile
March 03, 2011, 09:43:10 AM
 #31

Tip: be careful with overclocking. I ran my 5770 at 975 MHz for a week (up from 850) and everything seemed to be fine. The GPU temperature never went above 90 degrees C, which I think is OK. (I'm a GPU n00b since I'm not a gamer.)

However, after shutting down my computer for a few hours yesterday, I'm now getting garbage pixels on the screen, and random "verification failed" errors when mining, at all clock speeds. Looks like I damaged the card. Sad

I know this because Tyler knows this.
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1269


View Profile
March 03, 2011, 10:41:47 AM
 #32

90 degrees is very close to the edge, I try to never let it go above 80 degrees by manually controlling the fan speed. If you're very close to the edge of where it will crash (20-30 MHz below) or you're over volting it should be even lower.
Ownski
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 180



View Profile
March 03, 2011, 03:20:05 PM
 #33

Tip: be careful with overclocking. I ran my 5770 at 975 MHz for a week (up from 850) and everything seemed to be fine. The GPU temperature never went above 90 degrees C, which I think is OK. (I'm a GPU n00b since I'm not a gamer.)

However, after shutting down my computer for a few hours yesterday, I'm now getting garbage pixels on the screen, and random "verification failed" errors when mining, at all clock speeds. Looks like I damaged the card. Sad


Yeah that is a high overclock, you kind have to expect your card to burn up without additional cooling. Im running my 5870 at 900 up from 850. I manually set the fan to 40% and the card hasn't went about 67 degrees. Now that is a good overclock.

Money is the oldest magic trick in the book.
smgoller
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
March 03, 2011, 09:58:52 PM
 #34

Happy to say I've gotten everything up and running, and I added a second 5870, which is also running smoothly. Chugging along at 660Mhash/s at stock. Thanks to everyone in this thread for their help.

--
If I posted something that helped you out, please give me a tip:
13ndhNvWsbvHxoZDQcDcuem5frf2zbz5Xx
foo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 409



View Profile
March 03, 2011, 10:27:24 PM
 #35

Looks like I damaged the card. Sad
Now this is weird. Looks like the card has "healed itself" today while I was at work, there's no trace of the problems any more. Bizarre, but I'm not complaining. Smiley

I know this because Tyler knows this.
GeorgeH
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
March 04, 2011, 02:42:51 AM
 #36

Thanks for the tips given here; I downgraded to stream SDK 2.2 and my hash rate jumped ~30 mhash/s to ~340mhash/s average.

A note to anyone else trying this; from SDK 2.3 to 2.2, your device numbers may change. I ended up with my CPU as device 0, which was previously my 5870.


Looks like I damaged the card. Sad
Now this is weird. Looks like the card has "healed itself" today while I was at work, there's no trace of the problems any more. Bizarre, but I'm not complaining. Smiley


It's possible that the solder on some components came loose when you were overclocking, but the solder has now reflowed.

If it happens again (and if you've got some guts), you can attempt to reflow the board using a toaster oven.

1DSpPtPTGXTYjkZehPsiAbjkXLkB1jsZ2x
Elanzer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
March 04, 2011, 09:17:51 AM
 #37

I don't see any performance problems with ATI Stream SDK 2.3 on Win7 with m0mchil's python miner, I don't see why so many people instantly suggest to downgrade.

My HD 5870 gets about 355-360 mhash/s at 940mhz with -v -f 5 -w 128, and my HD 6850 gets about 230-235 mhash/s at 1ghz with the same switches.

On my 5870 @ 940mhz I run the fan at about 50% (~2350rpm), the temp flatlines at a constant 81-82'c at this speed. Another thing is that the stability of the core overclock is a bit misleading with mining, my card at stock voltage only runs stable at 910mhz with games + mining at the same time (915mhz = crash), but has mined for a week at 940mhz without a single hickup. My HD 6850 gets a similar result and is stable running at a ~20-30mhz higher core speed for mining than games. I just created seperate profiles in MSI Afterburner to quickly switch the core between 910 and 940mhz depending on what I'm doing, as that little 30mhz boost increases the speed by about 10m hash/s.

You could probably overvolt and get into the 380-400 range with a single HD 5870 if you had one with a nice cooler, but the reference coolers are hot/loud enough on stock voltage as-is even with great case cooling and room temps.
wootwoot
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
March 04, 2011, 05:36:32 PM
 #38

What tools are you using to overclock? The catalyst driver is limiting me to 900mhz core. I tried using the msi program but it seems like catalyst overrides the setting and puts me back at 900mhz.
Elanzer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
March 04, 2011, 09:11:19 PM
 #39

MSI Afterburner, look into enabling unofficial overclocking (google).

Though my card allows up to 1300mhz in CCC without doing this.
Beremat
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118


View Profile
March 04, 2011, 09:34:26 PM
 #40

One awesome thing with these cards and mining is that you can downclock the memory REALLY far without it affecting your mining performance.

I'm running 900 core 275 mem right now. Temps and power consumption (I assume) went down. It's running much cooler and quieter now, from 77 at full load to around 70, and the fan is much much quieter. I'd set the mem clock lower, but if I reach 250 then it actually starts being unstable - Aero goes nuts and starts artifacting everywhere.

I used ATI Tray Tools to downclock, Afterburner or CCC wouldn't let me go lower than 600mhz. Even though the slider in Ati Tray Tools only goes to like 595mhz, what you can do is slide it to that 595mhz, click Apply, and for some reason the next few mhz will be "unlocked". You can keep going down until you reach the speed you want.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!