Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 04:45:00 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: MULTIPLE RIGS  (Read 1882 times)
Splirow
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164


View Profile
August 30, 2011, 07:46:35 AM
 #1

Hi everyone!

How do you setup multiple mining rigs with only 1 keyboard and 1 mouse?

Can all the rigs be networked together?

Is "logmein" a better solution?

thanks!
1481129100
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481129100

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481129100
Reply with quote  #2

1481129100
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
KarlSpaat
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44


View Profile
August 30, 2011, 09:51:53 AM
 #2

Hi,

what OS do you want to use. It looks like you want to use windows. I would suggest Ubuntu, if you feel safe enough to use it.
Otherwise you should use remote software to control the rigs. Its cheaper than buying KWM switches.


Big Time Coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332



View Profile
August 30, 2011, 10:45:08 AM
 #3

you really shouldn't waste your time or money mining if you can't answer these questions for yourself by searching the forums and teh internets.

Big time, I'm on my way I'm making it, big time, oh yes
- Peter Gabriel
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
August 30, 2011, 12:55:24 PM
 #4

A kvm is good if you insist on direct access when configuring the computer however logmein us free and easy with windows

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
Reckman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 712


View Profile
August 30, 2011, 01:11:12 PM
 #5

Run linux coin headless.
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 946



View Profile
August 30, 2011, 02:11:42 PM
 #6

Hi everyone!

How do you setup multiple mining rigs with only 1 keyboard and 1 mouse?

Can all the rigs be networked together?

Is "logmein" a better solution?

thanks!

I use teamviewer once i have the rig setup and running.

mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
August 30, 2011, 03:31:25 PM
 #7

If your using windows 7 cant you just use windows built in remote desktop?
kirax
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77


View Profile WWW
August 30, 2011, 03:36:17 PM
 #8

Hi everyone!

How do you setup multiple mining rigs with only 1 keyboard and 1 mouse?

Can all the rigs be networked together?

Is "logmein" a better solution?

thanks!

Linux is a better choice then windows, you can use SSH to control everything in a decent OS, and I can SSH from pretty much anything, including my phone. No need for multiple keyboards and mice, I use a keyboard and a monitor to make sure the rig turns on for the first time ever, then unhook them and move onto the next machine. I keep it around in case some problem arises I cannot fix remotely, though. Just fire them all on a network, and use something like BAMT, which will make nearly any computer into a mining computer, and setup is editing one file that opens when you first turn it on. Also, windows licenses cost money, reducing MH/$. Getting a windows virus while trying to crack it and having to wipe and reinstall reduces overall Mhs :p

VPS, shared, dedicated hosting at: electronstorm.ca. No bitcoin payment for that yet, but bitcoins possible for general IT, and mining/GPGPU rigs. PM for details.
mb300sd
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232

Drunk Posts


View Profile WWW
August 30, 2011, 03:56:17 PM
 #9

Remote desktop works fine for mining, but not for overclocking. If you don't care about having a password on the console session, you can have it auto-login and run afterburner on startup, then remote desktop in for the rest.

1D7FJWRzeKa4SLmTznd3JpeNU13L1ErEco
Jezzz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120


View Profile
August 30, 2011, 05:54:28 PM
 #10

Logmein functions fine with afterburner, trixx and clocktweak. 
Tim the Magician
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96


View Profile
August 31, 2011, 04:28:36 AM
 #11

If your using windows 7 cant you just use windows built in remote desktop?

I had a hard time getting the miners to start on my multi-card Windows 7 rigs with remote desktop.

I ended up with a KVM for local direct access but I use TightVNC ( http://www.tightvnc.com/ ) for remote access.. its free and lets me control everything remotely.
Valalvax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439


View Profile
August 31, 2011, 04:51:35 AM
 #12

I'm sorry, but what? How the fuck would you get malware (unless you specifically set out to do that) in the time it takes to download drivers and install mining clients

Hell, any professional miner would have all the same computers so that he could just install drivers with a USB stick, computer never sees the light of a browser..
Tim the Magician
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96


View Profile
August 31, 2011, 06:19:09 AM
 #13

I'm sorry, but what? How the fuck would you get malware (unless you specifically set out to do that) in the time it takes to download drivers and install mining clients

I agree.  Unless you use your mining rig to surf porn or something there isn't much chance of getting a virus.  I only go to Windows Update, AMD, MSI and Sapphire's web sites on my miner so no problems.
MajorMiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71



View Profile
September 01, 2011, 01:39:01 AM
 #14

Use Teamviewer, its free and works great. I use it on all my rigs.

"From a small seed a mighty trunk may grow." -Aeschylus
Ausversucht
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 02:10:35 AM
 #15

I use Tight VNC on my 3 setups.  It allows me to control my computers from anywhere with my Android phone.  Unless, like today, one of the computers crashes because the 11.7 drivers are shit.  Went back to the 11.6 drivers as the 11.8 drivers were even worse
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 946



View Profile
September 01, 2011, 02:12:18 AM
 #16

teamviewer also has an android app

mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120


View Profile WWW
September 01, 2011, 08:22:28 AM
 #17

I'm sorry, but what? How the fuck would you get malware (unless you specifically set out to do that) in the time it takes to download drivers and install mining clients

It was shown that it takes just a few minutes for example for a fresh Windows XP install to get infected by malware by simply being connected to the Internet. Example: http://blog.chron.com/techblog/2008/07/average-time-to-infection-4-minutes/

More recent Windows versions have fewer known remote vulnerabilities out of the box, but still.
Tim the Magician
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 03:25:54 PM
 #18

I'm sorry, but what? How the fuck would you get malware (unless you specifically set out to do that) in the time it takes to download drivers and install mining clients

It was shown that it takes just a few minutes for example for a fresh Windows XP install to get infected by malware by simply being connected to the Internet. Example: http://blog.chron.com/techblog/2008/07/average-time-to-infection-4-minutes/

More recent Windows versions have fewer known remote vulnerabilities out of the box, but still.

Who has their computer connected directly to the Internet?  I would think that almost everyone is using NAT (Network Address Translation) where a router is exposed on the internet with a single IP address and your internal computers are assigned local IP addresses by your router.. If you are using wireless you are using NAT by default..

With NAT, external computers on the Internet cannot contact your internal computer unless you either initiate the connection or explicitly forward the ports on your router.

Everyone running multiple mining rigs will absolutely be using NAT unless they are paying extra to their ISP for multiple public IP addresses..  So quit the fear-mongering.. any OS is safe for mining as long as that’s all you do with it.  You only get into trouble if you start using your mining rig to visit the shady side of the Internet or to open sketchy email attachments.
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120


View Profile WWW
September 01, 2011, 04:56:28 PM
 #19

It was shown that it takes just a few minutes for example for a fresh Windows XP install to get infected by malware by simply being connected to the Internet. Example: http://blog.chron.com/techblog/2008/07/average-time-to-infection-4-minutes/

More recent Windows versions have fewer known remote vulnerabilities out of the box, but still.

Who has their computer connected directly to the Internet?

As evidenced by the many stories of stolen Bitcoin wallets, I think that people in this community need some security education. I bet that some people connect their rig directly to the Internet, or have a Windows gateway sharing the Internet connection, etc.
Tim the Magician
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 05:25:25 PM
 #20

It was shown that it takes just a few minutes for example for a fresh Windows XP install to get infected by malware by simply being connected to the Internet. Example: http://blog.chron.com/techblog/2008/07/average-time-to-infection-4-minutes/

More recent Windows versions have fewer known remote vulnerabilities out of the box, but still.

Who has their computer connected directly to the Internet?

As evidenced by the many stories of stolen Bitcoin wallets, I think that people in this community need some security education. I bet that some people connect their rig directly to the Internet, or have a Windows gateway sharing the Internet connection, etc.

The wallet stealing is the result of malware which spreads in the usual ways: email attachments, malicious websites, or Trojans hidden in freely distributed software (including rogue versions of Bitcoin utilities). We don’t have the remote exploits like Blaster any more.. in fact if you read to the bottom of the link you posted it says it only really applies if your OS is from before September 2004.

Here is what you should do to stay safe with ANY OS:
1. Use NAT.. that just means having a router between your computer and the internet.. most people already have this.
2. Stay up to date with your security patches
3. Don't use your miner for anything else.. or if you do make sure you have firewalls and antivirus and be careful about where you go online and what you install.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!