Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 10:28:41 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: CPU and memory for a Quad system.  (Read 560 times)
Striker
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
August 30, 2011, 10:50:14 AM
 #1

Hi,

In other thread I mentioned I am about to build a Quad 6990 system, 4 X 6990 boards.

I would like to know the CPU and Memory requirements for a system.
The Motherbord will be a MSI 990FXA, or  a MSI 890FX Mobo.

By requirements I mean the system CPU and Memory should not be a limitation in no way shape or form for the 4 6990 mining capability.
I do not mind to buy a bit more CPU  and memory and my system will run a Non-Graphical usb flash disk, that is no X Server no hdd, Linux machine.

I would like to know the CPU and memory needs for such a miner system in terms of CPU and memory.

Regards.
1480847321
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480847321

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480847321
Reply with quote  #2

1480847321
Report to moderator
1480847321
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480847321

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480847321
Reply with quote  #2

1480847321
Report to moderator
1480847321
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480847321

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480847321
Reply with quote  #2

1480847321
Report to moderator
"Your bitcoin is secured in a way that is physically impossible for others to access, no matter for what reason, no matter how good the excuse, no matter a majority of miners, no matter what." -- gmaxwell
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480847321
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480847321

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480847321
Reply with quote  #2

1480847321
Report to moderator
1480847321
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480847321

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480847321
Reply with quote  #2

1480847321
Report to moderator
1480847321
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480847321

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480847321
Reply with quote  #2

1480847321
Report to moderator
btckeeper
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
August 30, 2011, 11:07:54 AM
 #2

1 phoenix process uses ~50mb of system memory. I think 2GB will be enough
cryptomint
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60


View Profile
August 30, 2011, 11:28:14 AM
 #3

Sempron 140/145 & 1gb RAM.

You don't need more for a dedicated mining machine, especially one running linux.
sojic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
August 30, 2011, 02:21:58 PM
 #4

I am absolutely newbie. Can you provide links for totally newbies?

I am interested about linux mining... Is it possible to set up mining on linux server (without X, only terminal). Which software do I need.

Another question. How do I get bit coins? Can I set up remote server for mining and receive bit coins to my bit coin wallet, which is on another machine?
pyroman83
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 04:43:08 PM
 #5

I am absolutely newbie. Can you provide links for totally newbies?

I am interested about linux mining... Is it possible to set up mining on linux server (without X, only terminal). Which software do I need.

Another question. How do I get bit coins? Can I set up remote server for mining and receive bit coins to my bit coin wallet, which is on another machine?
Look into linuxcoin it basically has everything you need already. You get coins by mining or buying on an exchange like mtgox.
superfastkyle
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 437


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 05:16:22 PM
 #6

Being somewhat of a newbie myself, I've been mining a little over a month. I would suggest not getting the sempron 140 that everyone recommends. Is it enough processor for the job, sure. But if you are just getting started with a dedicated rig, and planning on using windows I would recommend against it. If your ATI driver crashes, sometimes it puts your system in high load and locks up your system, making it impossible to save what your settings are to get it right next time. So I would spend the extra 20 or 30 dollars on the cheapest dual core myself. But MSI motherboards are highly recommended! Its all I have used for years now

edit: just seen that you were going to run linux so this may not apply
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!