Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 11:34:36 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: poclbm fails on mac os x  (Read 2926 times)
digimag
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 138


View Profile
March 01, 2011, 11:33:23 PM
 #1

Hello,

It seems like I'm the only one having an Apple computer here. Am I wrong?

Here are my error messages:

Code:
$ ./poclbm.py -d 0
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "./poclbm.py", line 55, in <module>
    options.verbose)
  File "/[…]/m0mchil-poclbm-6bbc198/BitcoinMiner.py", line 116, in __init__
    self.miner = cl.Program(self.context, [device], [binaryFile.read()]).build(defines)
pyopencl.LogicError: clCreateProgramWithBinary failed: invalid value

$ ./poclbm.py -d 1
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "./poclbm.py", line 55, in <module>
    options.verbose)
  File "/[…]/m0mchil-poclbm-6bbc198/BitcoinMiner.py", line 116, in __init__
    self.miner = cl.Program(self.context, [device], [binaryFile.read()]).build(defines)
pyopencl.LogicError: clCreateProgramWithBinary failed: invalid value

Additional info:

Code:
$ ./poclbm.py
No device specified or device not found, use -d to specify one of the following

[0] GeForce 320M
[1] Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     L9400  @ 1.86GHz

Is there any alternative to poclbm?

Thanks!

17opQsbw8873x4PTwzvacEjNR2a59mSxoT
1481326476
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481326476

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481326476
Reply with quote  #2

1481326476
Report to moderator
1481326476
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481326476

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481326476
Reply with quote  #2

1481326476
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481326476
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481326476

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481326476
Reply with quote  #2

1481326476
Report to moderator
1481326476
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481326476

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481326476
Reply with quote  #2

1481326476
Report to moderator
1481326476
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481326476

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481326476
Reply with quote  #2

1481326476
Report to moderator
planalpha
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
March 02, 2011, 05:13:15 AM
 #2

Mac noob here, too. I've been using Diablo with some success. Get it here:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1721.0

Works with deepbit.net. But it dies all of the time. I'm not sure if it's the app or the pool because all of my Mac's Diablo instances die at the same time. Bitcoin-miner.exe on my thinkpad doesn't die.

Still tweaking...

Goodluck.

Gimmie!
174pN6Wmf7ocKxGjKFJ2XjCYnAfxGQp6mY
M4v3R
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 607



View Profile
March 02, 2011, 05:44:08 AM
 #3

Digimag: I also had these problems with poclbm. It seems that it creates an .elf binary with every run, and there is something wrong with it. Just delete the binary (rm *.elf) BEFORE you run it and it'll be fine.
planalpha
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
March 02, 2011, 05:53:28 AM
 #4

If you do get it running let us know how and if it performs better than Diablo.

Thanks!

Gimmie!
174pN6Wmf7ocKxGjKFJ2XjCYnAfxGQp6mY
digimag
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 138


View Profile
March 02, 2011, 11:35:25 AM
 #5

Digimag: I also had these problems with poclbm. It seems that it creates an .elf binary with every run, and there is something wrong with it. Just delete the binary (rm *.elf) BEFORE you run it and it'll be fine.

It worked for me! Thanks Smiley

If you do get it running let us know how and if it performs better than Diablo.

Unfortunately it doesn't. DiabloMiner performs at around 5 Mhash/s and poclbm at 3 Mhash/s.

DiabloMiner wins on a MacBook Air!

17opQsbw8873x4PTwzvacEjNR2a59mSxoT
FnuGk
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
March 02, 2011, 02:23:27 PM
 #6

i am on a 2010 13"mbp with a 2.4 c2d and 320m

i get about 3900-4200khash/s with diablo on the gpu and about 1400 using the built in cpu miner in bitcoin

are others with the same model getting? how does it compare to the new 2011 models? post away Smiley

My bitcoin address if you feel like giving things away Smiley
1NvURSqNqFUX1g4xAJe5xzBJYRkMSCyXqk
m0mchil
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 171


View Profile
March 02, 2011, 04:31:40 PM
 #7

Just fixed it to avoid this specific problem on Macs.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!