Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 04:12:30 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Motherboard MSI 890FXA-GD70 wont boot with 5 GPU's  (Read 3061 times)
JeroenV1990
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
August 31, 2011, 01:15:59 PM
 #1

Hi there,

I have a MSI 890FXA-GD70 with 4 GPU's; works perfectly.
If i connect a 5th GPU, it will 'hang' on the BIOS screen.

Any solutions for this?

Thanks!
1481256750
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481256750

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481256750
Reply with quote  #2

1481256750
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481256750
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481256750

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481256750
Reply with quote  #2

1481256750
Report to moderator
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 946



View Profile
August 31, 2011, 02:45:21 PM
 #2

#1 - What GPUs
#2 - What PSU?
#3 - Are you using powered pci-e extenderr cables?

mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
August 31, 2011, 03:03:08 PM
 #3

I was having a similar problem as you. I own the same board with 5 5850's. It's not exactly the same as your issue but I had trouble reliably using 5 cards. Each card and component worked individually just not all together. I went into the bios and went to advanced and there should be a option that has 64 as your choice boost it to 96 and that might help you. I don't remember the name of the option but from what I remember is 64/16=4 16 being x16. This fixed my problem and it might fix yours.

If you cant find this option I guess I can reboot my machine to look for it but I prefer not to.
Big Time Coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332



View Profile
August 31, 2011, 07:47:16 PM
 #4

have not tried, but from other threads know you can search these terms:

Short A1 B17
Powered Pcie extender
linux

Big time, I'm on my way I'm making it, big time, oh yes
- Peter Gabriel
Elder III
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91



View Profile
September 01, 2011, 02:23:35 AM
 #5

Are you using XP?  I have not been able to get more than 4 GPUs to work with XP on that (or any other) mobo no matter what drivers I use.  It should work with Windows 7 or Linux though.
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 02:59:41 AM
 #6

I looked up what I was talking about earlier. Its called the pci latency timer. You need more then 64 if you want more then 4 cards on that board.
max in montreal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 03:23:52 AM
 #7

I too have been having problems with 4 cards/7 gpu in total. Other than heat issues all cards run using linuxcoin, but only some run in windows, i will change the latency timer...brb...

So info found:

Quote
PCI latency timers are a mechanism for PCI bus-mastering devices to share the PCI bus fairly. "Fair" in this case means that devices won't use such a large portion of the available PCI bus bandwidth that other devices aren't able to get needed work done.

How this works is that each PCI device that can operate in bus-master mode is required to implement a timer, called the Latency Timer, that limits the time that device can hold the PCI bus. The timer starts when the device gains bus ownership, and counts down at the rate of the PCI clock. When the counter reaches zero, the device is required to release the bus. If no other devices are waiting for bus ownership, it may simply grab the bus again and transfer more data
max in montreal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 03:44:57 AM
 #8

then there was this, but not much help...still does not work.
JeroenV1990
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 12:41:46 PM
 #9

I looked up what I was talking about earlier. Its called the pci latency timer. You need more then 64 if you want more then 4 cards on that board.

Yup this helped!  Grin

OS is Windows 7, i use all 5830's.
Last question; After setting up 92 pci latency timer the machine booted perfectly.
Unfortunate, the 6th GPU gives 200 Mhash/s, all other GPU's give 260 Mhash/s, any idea's? Replaced it with a other 5830, works now.

Thanks all!
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 946



View Profile
September 01, 2011, 12:57:45 PM
 #10

#1 - What GPUs
#2 - What PSU?
#3 - Are you using powered pci-e extender cables?

Can you answer these questions?

JeroenV1990
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 01:06:32 PM
 #11

#1 - What GPUs
#2 - What PSU?
#3 - Are you using powered pci-e extender cables?

Can you answer these questions?

Excuse me:
#1 - What GPUs 5830's
#2 - What PSU? OCZ 1250W
#3 - Are you using powered pci-e extender cables? I am using extenders but no powered.
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 946



View Profile
September 01, 2011, 02:25:05 PM
 #12

You cannot run 5 gpus without at least one of them being powered.
4 will work.  5 will overload the power that can be provided by the pcie bus.

mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 02:47:09 PM
 #13

You cannot run 5 gpus without at least one of them being powered.
4 will work.  5 will overload the power that can be provided by the pcie bus.
That isn't true. I'm running 5 cards with out powered extenders right now and have been for awhile.
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 02:55:57 PM
 #14

You cannot run 5 gpus without at least one of them being powered.
4 will work.  5 will overload the power that can be provided by the pcie bus.
That isn't true. I'm running 5 cards with out powered extenders right now and have been for awhile.


Mike's right, there isn't any limitation on the number of PCIe devices outside of the number of PCIe slots you've got.

The danger is in overloading the power rails and traces.  The motherboard will often let you pull a lot more power via the PCIe slots than the 24pin ATX connector can handle, and you end up melting your 12V wires.

So, you can run more than 4 devices without powered PCIe extenders, it's just not a good idea after 4 cards.  This is especially important in relation to the dual-GPU cards, they generally suck a lot more power from the PCIe slots than single GPU cards, up to the 75W available limit if the manufacturer has any care for specs.

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
David_Benz
Donator
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56

you got hacked bitch!


View Profile
May 09, 2012, 07:23:40 AM
 #15

You cannot run 5 gpus without at least one of them being powered.
4 will work.  5 will overload the power that can be provided by the pcie bus.
That isn't true. I'm running 5 cards with out powered extenders right now and have been for awhile.

This guy got owned.

I am the Bitcoinica Hacker.
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
May 09, 2012, 05:46:52 PM
 #16

You cannot run 5 gpus without at least one of them being powered.
4 will work.  5 will overload the power that can be provided by the pcie bus.
That isn't true. I'm running 5 cards with out powered extenders right now and have been for awhile.

This guy got owned.

I can confirm.  you do NOT need powered extenders. 

I have many of these boards running 5.  I have 4 of these rigs running 6 cards.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
QuantumFoam
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
May 14, 2012, 05:05:38 PM
 #17

I also have this motherboard running 4x5870 and 1x5970 on a corsair ax1200 with no powered extenders, runs fine. ATX wires are running cool. Pulls about 1050w at the wall.
likuidxd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
May 14, 2012, 07:34:30 PM
 #18

You cannot run 5 gpus without at least one of them being powered.
4 will work.  5 will overload the power that can be provided by the pcie bus.

<<< 8 GPUs not one powered extender

jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
May 14, 2012, 07:36:46 PM
 #19

You cannot run 5 gpus without at least one of them being powered.
4 will work.  5 will overload the power that can be provided by the pcie bus.

<<< 8 GPUs not one powered extender
i think he meant cards...

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
likuidxd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
May 14, 2012, 07:37:11 PM
 #20

You cannot run 5 gpus without at least one of them being powered.
4 will work.  5 will overload the power that can be provided by the pcie bus.

<<< 8 GPUs not one powered extender
i think he meant cards...

...me too

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!