Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 04:18:40 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can I add one more card to this??  (Read 1511 times)
kdf
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 05:08:38 PM
 #1

My current machine is:

Card 1 6950 shaders unlocked 850/400
Card 2 6870 960/300
Card 3 6870 960/300
Card 4 5970 800/300 both cores

PSU= Anatec 1200 pro high current psu
CPU Athalon X2
2gb RAM

I am using cable extenders to get all the cards out of the box.
1 extender in use has a molex adapter.
I have one PCI-e 1x and a cable with a molex for it.

Can I add another 6870 card or a 5970 card (I have one of each)

Temps are currently running between 61 - 65 with the current set up.

Thanks,
1481213920
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481213920

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481213920
Reply with quote  #2

1481213920
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481213920
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481213920

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481213920
Reply with quote  #2

1481213920
Report to moderator
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 05:21:49 PM
 #2

You might be able to fit another 6870 on there but I wouldn't personally try to put another 5970 in your machine. What mobo do you have? It might not even be able to support more then 4 cards.
kdf
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 05:56:50 PM
 #3

Here is a link to the MOBO

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157198

Thanks,
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 06:02:24 PM
 #4

What Psu exactly?

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
kdf
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 06:04:06 PM
 #5

Here is the link to the PSU...
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817371043

mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 06:06:17 PM
 #6

Um how do you plan to fit more then 4 cards on that mobo? There's only 4 pcie slots.  Huh
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 06:10:39 PM
 #7


Multi rail I have no clue which one is where... Good pint in the motherboard I didn't even check that.

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
kdf
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 06:13:16 PM
 #8

I am currently using two PCI to PCIe cards
https://cablesaurus.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=21&zenid=8634a00e7d846307145d916106d51a81

Actually with the right cables I can run 6 cards in this box.

So I have a PCIe 1x with a molex adapter that is open that I could plug in my 5th card, but I am not sure the system can handle it.

deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 06:16:59 PM
 #9

You have enough amperage out if the Psu but it's multi rail you'll have to check what connectors are what rail to not over draw any single rail but otherwise you're fine.

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 06:29:00 PM
 #10

I am currently using two PCI to PCIe cards
https://cablesaurus.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=21&zenid=8634a00e7d846307145d916106d51a81

Actually with the right cables I can run 6 cards in this box.

So I have a PCIe 1x with a molex adapter that is open that I could plug in my 5th card, but I am not sure the system can handle it.
For future reference pci to pcie is not cost effective. At the prices your paying for the converter your better off with a better mobo.
kdf
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 06:32:20 PM
 #11

You have enough amperage out if the Psu but it's multi rail you'll have to check what connectors are what rail to not over draw any single rail but otherwise you're fine.

With either 5970 or 6870 or just the 6870?
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
September 01, 2011, 06:34:40 PM
 #12

6870 for simplicity sake 5970 will require two rails

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
trippp
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
September 04, 2011, 10:50:55 AM
 #13

For future reference pci to pcie is not cost effective. At the prices your paying for the converter your better off with a better mobo.

That totally depends on the price of the converter, doesn't it? The thing looks simple enought on the picture on cablesaurus.com . Their prices are also 2-3X the lowest available price available on eBay for the PCIe extenders. I haven't seen that type of adapter before though. If it could be had for $15, it would be quite worth it.

EDIT: I found the adapter for $25 directly from China. I think I'll get one and try it out.
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
September 04, 2011, 01:42:20 PM
 #14

For future reference pci to pcie is not cost effective. At the prices your paying for the converter your better off with a better mobo.

That totally depends on the price of the converter, doesn't it? The thing looks simple enought on the picture on cablesaurus.com . Their prices are also 2-3X the lowest available price available on eBay for the PCIe extenders. I haven't seen that type of adapter before though. If it could be had for $15, it would be quite worth it.

EDIT: I found the adapter for $25 directly from China. I think I'll get one and try it out.

The problem is since the card is lifted it wont fit properly into a case. It wont align with the back so hot air can get out. You are going to need an extender cable as well so plan for an extra 12 dollars. Thats 40 bucks and I guarentee for 40 dollars + cost of the mobo this guy has you can pick up one with 6+ pcie.
trippp
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
September 04, 2011, 04:57:03 PM
 #15

A PCIe extender cable is $4 on eBay. Like I said, Cablesaurus are quite expensive.

Maybe a PCI-PCIe adapter isn't for everyone, but I can really see where it's a viable option. For example, it would be very useful for people who don't want to build dedicated rigs, but just add another card to their existing computer.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!