Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 10:30:24 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: OpenCL with intel cpu possible ?  (Read 9992 times)
khal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 538


NamecoinID: id/khal


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2011, 09:29:47 AM
 #1

I've recently discovered this SDK for OpenCL with intel plateforms (windows only for now...) :
- http://software.intel.com/en-us/articles/intel-opencl-sdk/

It requires SSE 4.1, so, only cpu is used for now (yes, opencl is designed to be used by both cpu and gpu).

FAQ extract : "Will the Intel OpenCL SDK support Intel integrated graphics (processor graphics), and when?
Intel will support OpenCL on future tools and platforms.Intel is evaluating when and where OpenCL support will intercept our products, including processor graphics, but no announcement has been made."

Any volonteer to add this in existing miners, if possible ?
Will it improve speed compared to the SSE2 asm version ?

NMC: N1KHAL5C1CRzy58NdJwp1tbLze3XrkFxx9 | NamecoinID: id/khal | Register .bit domain
BTC: 1KHAL8bUjnkMRMg9yd2dNrYnJgZGH8Nj6T | My bitcoin Identity: send messages to bitcoin users
Free bitcoins: Surf4Bitcoin.com | Charity Ad: Make a good deed without paying a cent
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
niooron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 190


View Profile
March 03, 2011, 11:37:19 AM
 #2

You'll only get about 2khash/sec on a Core 2 Duo 45nm. The best cpu miner is still ufasoft's.

14dxwuQwkQiLbZjJFfciZ26xSGdRU5mKEp
khal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 538


NamecoinID: id/khal


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2011, 02:42:36 PM
 #3

Quote
The best cpu miner is still ufasoft's.
I'm waiting for the linux adaptation :p

NMC: N1KHAL5C1CRzy58NdJwp1tbLze3XrkFxx9 | NamecoinID: id/khal | Register .bit domain
BTC: 1KHAL8bUjnkMRMg9yd2dNrYnJgZGH8Nj6T | My bitcoin Identity: send messages to bitcoin users
Free bitcoins: Surf4Bitcoin.com | Charity Ad: Make a good deed without paying a cent
niooron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 190


View Profile
March 03, 2011, 04:32:49 PM
 #4

Shouldn't it run under Wine? I don't have any Linux machines right now, but the only thing that program does is crunch numbers and send results. Wine even runs full Directx10 games, can you test it?

14dxwuQwkQiLbZjJFfciZ26xSGdRU5mKEp
khal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 538


NamecoinID: id/khal


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2011, 05:25:28 PM
 #5

Already tested :
Quote
wine bitcoin-miner.exe -t 2 -o http://mining.bitcoin.cz:8332/ -u xxx -p xxx
bitcoin-miner 0.3.2  Copyright (c) 2011 Ufasoft  http://ufasoft.com/open/bitcoin
2 threads   Using SSE2
0 MHash/s

I've not investigated further, because there's no error reported by wine nor by bitcoin-miner (even if i put a wrong login/pass).

EDIT : If it helps someone, it seems related to libpthread :
Quote
Backtrace:
=>1 0x7b845932 in kernel32 (+0x25932) (0x7e2d4758)
  2 0x00427dad in bitcoin-miner (+0x27dad) (0x7e2d47c0)
  3 0x0040feb8 in bitcoin-miner (+0xfeb8) (0x7e2d4910)
  4 0x7e2d49a0 (0x7e2d49b0)
  5 0x0041c161 in bitcoin-miner (+0x1c161) (0x7e2d49dc)
  6 0x0041c1be in bitcoin-miner (+0x1c1be) (0x7e2d49f8)
  7 0x7bc6db92 in ntdll (+0x5db92) (0x7e2d4a98)
  8 0x7bc6dd7e in ntdll (+0x5dd7e) (0x7e2d5398)
  9 0xf7613955 start_thread+0xb5() in libpthread.so.0 (0x7e2d5498)
0 MHash/s

NMC: N1KHAL5C1CRzy58NdJwp1tbLze3XrkFxx9 | NamecoinID: id/khal | Register .bit domain
BTC: 1KHAL8bUjnkMRMg9yd2dNrYnJgZGH8Nj6T | My bitcoin Identity: send messages to bitcoin users
Free bitcoins: Surf4Bitcoin.com | Charity Ad: Make a good deed without paying a cent
niooron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 190


View Profile
March 03, 2011, 05:36:49 PM
 #6

Already tested :
Quote
wine bitcoin-miner.exe -t 2 -o http://mining.bitcoin.cz:8332/ -u xxx -p xxx
bitcoin-miner 0.3.2  Copyright (c) 2011 Ufasoft  http://ufasoft.com/open/bitcoin
2 threads   Using SSE2
0 MHash/s

I've not investigated further, because there's no error reported by wine nor by bitcoin-miner (even if i put a wrong login/pass).

EDIT : If it helps someone, it seems related to libpthread :
Quote
Backtrace:
=>1 0x7b845932 in kernel32 (+0x25932) (0x7e2d4758)
  2 0x00427dad in bitcoin-miner (+0x27dad) (0x7e2d47c0)
  3 0x0040feb8 in bitcoin-miner (+0xfeb8) (0x7e2d4910)
  4 0x7e2d49a0 (0x7e2d49b0)
  5 0x0041c161 in bitcoin-miner (+0x1c161) (0x7e2d49dc)
  6 0x0041c1be in bitcoin-miner (+0x1c1be) (0x7e2d49f8)
  7 0x7bc6db92 in ntdll (+0x5db92) (0x7e2d4a98)
  8 0x7bc6dd7e in ntdll (+0x5dd7e) (0x7e2d5398)
  9 0xf7613955 start_thread+0xb5() in libpthread.so.0 (0x7e2d5498)
0 MHash/s

Do you have a windows installation? You can try copying the native dlls and configuring wine to use them.

14dxwuQwkQiLbZjJFfciZ26xSGdRU5mKEp
FnuGk
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
March 06, 2011, 04:02:02 PM
 #7

would running it through wine not work out to be rather slow?

My bitcoin address if you feel like giving things away Smiley
1NvURSqNqFUX1g4xAJe5xzBJYRkMSCyXqk
khal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 538


NamecoinID: id/khal


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2011, 04:56:21 PM
 #8

I trid with some native windows dll, but nothing better (i don't have a windows installation).

I finally switched to this sse2 miner under linux, which works really fast :p


ps : wine is not an emulator, so, if it works, the loss of speed is not really significant.

NMC: N1KHAL5C1CRzy58NdJwp1tbLze3XrkFxx9 | NamecoinID: id/khal | Register .bit domain
BTC: 1KHAL8bUjnkMRMg9yd2dNrYnJgZGH8Nj6T | My bitcoin Identity: send messages to bitcoin users
Free bitcoins: Surf4Bitcoin.com | Charity Ad: Make a good deed without paying a cent
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!