Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 06:42:24 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Anyone interested in my ubuntu live cd for mining?  (Read 9102 times)
fibble
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
March 03, 2011, 09:42:01 PM
 #1

Hi,

I have a large number of pcs at my disposal that I can use for mining on an evening, but can't touch the HDDs, so I've rolled a custom ubuntu 10.10 ISO with jkzaliks CPU miner and the python openCL GPU miner ready to run.

I PXE boot it but it burns to cd or dvd or usb fine too. If anyone is interested ill upload the ISO somewhere to share.

Andy
1480963344
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963344

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963344
Reply with quote  #2

1480963344
Report to moderator
1480963344
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963344

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963344
Reply with quote  #2

1480963344
Report to moderator
1480963344
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963344

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963344
Reply with quote  #2

1480963344
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480963344
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963344

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963344
Reply with quote  #2

1480963344
Report to moderator
1480963344
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963344

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963344
Reply with quote  #2

1480963344
Report to moderator
smgoller
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
March 03, 2011, 09:52:37 PM
 #2

I'd be interested.

--
If I posted something that helped you out, please give me a tip:
13ndhNvWsbvHxoZDQcDcuem5frf2zbz5Xx
fibble
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
March 03, 2011, 09:56:09 PM
 #3

I'm about to head to bed but ill upload it first thing and post the link in this thread.

M4v3R
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 607



View Profile
March 03, 2011, 10:22:42 PM
 #4

What about other software on it, like ATI Stream SDK and fglrx?
Cerebrum
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
March 04, 2011, 02:05:42 AM
 #5

Sounds great, I just got two HD 5970's today in the mail, but I'm having problems getting the OpenCL Libraries to work properly.
AmpEater
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 240



View Profile
March 04, 2011, 02:55:40 AM
 #6

Sounds fantastic. 
opticbit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 676


PGP: 6EBEBCE1E0507C38


View Profile WWW
March 04, 2011, 07:58:35 AM
 #7

I'll try it.

Set up the same thing..
http://bit.ly/btcrefs
Get more bitcoins.
fibble
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
March 04, 2011, 12:43:03 PM
 #8

Hey,

Right, here is a version of the live ISO ive been using for mining.

http://emphony.com/UbuntuLiveMiner.iso

The actual version i use has an entry in /etc/rc.local which automatically kicks off the python GPU miner and minerd in a screen session, but this has had to be removed as it had my Deepbit account credentials in the parameters. So you will have to kick off these processes manually. An SSH Daemon will start on boot so you can do this remotely if desired.

root password = bcroot1

Python GPU miner and some other bits are in /mining

cpu miner is at /usr/bin/minerd

As root (or sudo) you can
Code:
cd /mining
python poclbm.py -d0 --host=deepbit.net --port=8332 --user=username --pass=password

Tested fine with on a few systems Nvidia cards - and also on some PCs with no GPU (just cpu mining)

I dont have any ATI hardware, so im not sure if the stock drivers are any good for gpu mining. If not and someone can give me an idea of what extra needs installing i will happily integrate the ATI drivers and any other software for them to test.

Any issues/requests/etc just let me know.

Andy

If anyone finds it useful feel free to donate to: 13Lyi1Z5JkGdRg2S4Y5o2BVfZFFRmcx6Zm


Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086


View Profile
March 04, 2011, 04:48:03 PM
 #9

I dont have any ATI hardware, so im not sure if the stock drivers are any good for gpu mining.
No they're not. This will not work with GPU mining. Look around for all the other threads on how to install the drivers/sdk for ATI hardware.

Buy & Hold
M4v3R
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 607



View Profile
March 04, 2011, 05:59:50 PM
 #10

Things you have to integrate to make it work with ATI:

ATI Stream SDK
There are few versions, for both 32 bit and 64 bit systems. The needed ones are v2.1 and v2.2. For me, the 2.1 didn't work, but for many it does (and does it even faster).
Link: http://developer.amd.com/gpu/AMDAPPSDK/downloads/pages/AMDAPPSDKDownloadArchive.aspx
Unpack to: /opt

ICD registration files
Just two files that are needed for OpenCL to work.
Link: http://developer.amd.com/Downloads/icd-registration.tgz
Unpack to: / (creates a directory in /etc)

ATI proprietary graphics driver
The fglrx driver is needed for OpenCL to work. For it to be activated, a Xorg.conf must be generated by aticonfig utility that ships with the driver.
How to install:
Code:
$ sudo apt-get install python-software-properties
$ sudo add-apt-repository ppa:ubuntu-x-swat/x-updates
$ sudo apt-get install fglrx
$ sudo apt-get install fglrx-amdcccle
$ sudo apt-get install fglrx-modaliases
$ sudo aticonfig --initial -f --adapter=all

Exported variabled
For OpenCL programs to know where the SDK is, an environment variable must be set. Preferably it should be set in .profile or .bashrc files. Note that the path is dependant on which SDK is in use and which platform you are. There should be an easy way to pick the desired SDK.
Code:
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64/lib/x86_64/:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
export DEKSTOP=:0

That's all I can think of at the moment.
fibble
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
March 04, 2011, 09:22:08 PM
 #11

Thanks for the info, ill get that integrated and post a new ISO for someone with an ATI GPU to test.

Andy
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
March 04, 2011, 09:29:28 PM
 #12

Post the .iso and I'll test it...

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
bitjet
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 556


View Profile
March 04, 2011, 10:32:26 PM
 #13

fibble if I can get it to work on my setup (2xati 5970) I'll def drop you some coin!

Thanks!
bitjet
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 556


View Profile
March 06, 2011, 07:20:28 AM
 #14

Still interested. Wink
fibble
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
March 06, 2011, 11:29:14 AM
 #15

Hey,

work on the ISO lost the battle with my 3.5yr old for my attention this weekend!

I will have time tonight and tomorrow to integrate the ATI stuff, and should have a 5870 arriving on tuesday to test it and improve things myself.

Andy
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
March 06, 2011, 12:43:47 PM
 #16

Andy,

What kind of man are you spending time with your family [/end sarcasm]

Hope you and the little one had fun!

Post it when you can and I am happy to test it.

Cheers!

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
Lardie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
March 06, 2011, 03:42:51 PM
 #17

Hey,

work on the ISO lost the battle with my 3.5yr old for my attention this weekend!

I will have time tonight and tomorrow to integrate the ATI stuff, and should have a 5870 arriving on tuesday to test it and improve things myself.

Andy

Will there be anyway to install it directly to a hard drive?
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
March 06, 2011, 04:04:10 PM
 #18

I don't recommend using Ubuntu for many GPUs at all. I've been using Ubuntu, but had troubles with third card in my setup. Reinstall to Squeeze helped.

As there are many users reporting troubles with Ubuntu & GPUs, I think there is something broken inside.

Edit: I found the trouble: don't use 32bit Ubuntu (or whatever else 32bit distro)! ATI drivers allocate 256 MB of virtual memory for every core, so setup with 8 cores ate whole 32bit memory space. 64bit installation should work fine (I didn't tested it yet). Thanks ArtForz for investigation.

JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
March 06, 2011, 05:05:44 PM
 #19

I am a longtime Gentoo man myself (home server mostly)...

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
aistto
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1005


View Profile
March 06, 2011, 09:57:25 PM
 #20

I don't recommend using Ubuntu for many GPUs at all. I've been using Ubuntu, but had troubles with third card in my setup. Reinstall to Squeeze helped.

As there are many users reporting troubles with Ubuntu & GPUs, I think there is something broken inside.

Edit: I found the trouble: don't use 32bit Ubuntu (or whatever else 32bit distro)! ATI drivers allocate 256 MB of virtual memory for every core, so setup with 8 cores ate whole 32bit memory space. 64bit installation should work fine (I didn't tested it yet). Thanks ArtForz for investigation.
I had same problem with 3-rd gpu (5970 + 5870 or 3x5870 don't work). I used integrated video on mobo as primary:)

or i misundertsand something about "ubuntu+gpu" problem?
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!