Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 06:59:20 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Anyone ever got 500mh/s off a single chip/core?  (Read 1195 times)
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
September 03, 2011, 11:21:53 PM
 #1

Title says it all really.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
1480964360
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480964360

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480964360
Reply with quote  #2

1480964360
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480964360
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480964360

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480964360
Reply with quote  #2

1480964360
Report to moderator
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
September 03, 2011, 11:34:54 PM
 #2

Title says it all really.

Broke 500MH/s.



/end thread Tongue
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
September 03, 2011, 11:46:41 PM
 #3

Well he did seem to get past 500mh/s but i really doubt it was stable considering he is at stock voltage.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
September 04, 2011, 12:10:13 AM
 #4

Well he did seem to get past 500mh/s but i really doubt it was stable considering he is at stock voltage.
I highly doubt any card can stably get to 500. I was surprised when I found that. I went to that thread expecting about 480. The only card that can get there would be the 5870 though.
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086


View Profile
September 04, 2011, 12:11:00 AM
 #5

With only 21 pool shares, that doesn't count. Show something that can run 24 hrs at that output.

Buy & Hold
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
September 04, 2011, 12:23:01 AM
 #6

With only 21 pool shares, that doesn't count. Show something that can run 24 hrs at that output.
Like I said above you cant realistically achieve that with any card that exists. You might be able to get 480 consistently (maybe) if you water cool your 5870.
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
September 04, 2011, 01:40:23 AM
 #7

A p4 can sustain 8ghz under liquid nitrogen i'm sure a 5870 could go well past 500 with similar methods. That being said the cost involved of maintaining that even for an hour would outweigh anything beyond the I did it factor.

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
scifimike12
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
September 04, 2011, 04:58:35 AM
 #8

Well he did seem to get past 500mh/s but i really doubt it was stable considering he is at stock voltage.

Stock voltage?  I was running it at 1.35v.

Problem is the heat now.  It's been at record highs in Colorado but the forecast seems to be getting cooler so I may try to see if its a few hours stable.  Don't want to risk killing my precious GPU, had it for nearly two years.   Cheesy
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
September 04, 2011, 11:31:40 AM
 #9

Well he did seem to get past 500mh/s but i really doubt it was stable considering he is at stock voltage.

Stock voltage?  I was running it at 1.35v.

Problem is the heat now.  It's been at record highs in Colorado but the forecast seems to be getting cooler so I may try to see if its a few hours stable.  Don't want to risk killing my precious GPU, had it for nearly two years.   Cheesy
Oh sorry, i thought that was core speed...For how long was it stable tho, and any...artefacts or unusual behavior after the stunt? My 5850 ran overclocked for two weeks(24/7 mining) and started having artefacts, so your 5870 shouldn't be different.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
September 04, 2011, 01:45:59 PM
 #10

Oh sorry, i thought that was core speed...For how long was it stable tho, and any...artefacts or unusual behavior after the stunt? My 5850 ran overclocked for two weeks(24/7 mining) and started having artefacts, so your 5870 shouldn't be different.

What speed and overclock was your 5850 running at?
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
September 04, 2011, 02:22:08 PM
 #11

950/475. Then this weird black screen freeze happened and nothing but a cold reboot fixed this. I know i should have reacted the first time, but it happened around 15-20 times like that, afterwards i tested the card at stock speeds, and i immediately got artefacts and the same freeze. Didn't mine on it for a while, afterwards when i started it i left it run at lower aggressions and so far i didn't get any problems with it. Tho my 5870 also did experience this, so i am running lower aggr there too, and much lower clocks

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
September 04, 2011, 02:43:53 PM
 #12

950/475. Then this weird black screen freeze happened and nothing but a cold reboot fixed this. I know i should have reacted the first time, but it happened around 15-20 times like that, afterwards i tested the card at stock speeds, and i immediately got artefacts and the same freeze. Didn't mine on it for a while, afterwards when i started it i left it run at lower aggressions and so far i didn't get any problems with it. Tho my 5870 also did experience this, so i am running lower aggr there too, and much lower clocks
Try lowering your mem clock to around 300. I've heard anything around 500 messes with the timings. If you say you cant go lower then 475 I had this problem too and it was fixed with trixx and a reinstall of my drivers.

Also what temp is the card running at and how long have you run it that way?
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
September 04, 2011, 04:01:03 PM
 #13

Memory varies by card. I have a 5870 that runs at 1000/500  any lower on the memory is unstable.

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!