Bitcoin Forum
April 21, 2018, 04:54:50 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PSU can I bridge the DC rails to put the WATTS where I need them?  (Read 2679 times)
stryker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 05, 2011, 01:42:58 PM
 #1

Just toasted a 850 watt psu.

I realiase now that the psu had two 38 amp 12v rails providing 336 watts each.  As it happens one rail had one gpu on it while the other had 2 on it and was thus over-loaded.

Now I have the replacement on order I have this question.

Is there anything stopping me from "bridging" the two rails? I'd do it by splicing the wires together outside the PSU.  I'm fairly familiar with DC and can't immediatly see an issue with this but thought I ought to ask.

Also more to the point, if I can do that, then whats to stop me doing it across several PSUs ?

Cheers

           ▄▄█████████▄▄
       ▄████▀▀       ▀▀████▄
     ▄██▀▀               ▀▀██▄
    ██▀                    ████
   ██                     ███▀██
  ██                    ▄██▀   ██
 ██                    ▄██      ██
██▀                  ▄██▀      ▄███
██                  ▄██      ▄██▀██
██                 ██▀    ▄███▀  ██
██               ▄██▀   ▄██▀     ██
██▄             ▄██  ▄███▀      ▄██
 ██           ▄██▀ ▄██▀         ██
  ██         ▄██▄███▀          ██
   ██       █████▀            ██
    ██▄   ▄████▀            ▄██
     ▀██▄███▀            ▄▄██▀
       ▀████▄▄       ▄▄████▀
           ▀▀█████████▀▀
L I V E T R E E   A D E P T TM
Own the future of entertainment
The World's 1st Community-Powered,
Film, TV and Content Network  ★
1524286490
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524286490

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524286490
Reply with quote  #2

1524286490
Report to moderator
1524286490
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524286490

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524286490
Reply with quote  #2

1524286490
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524286490
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524286490

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524286490
Reply with quote  #2

1524286490
Report to moderator
1524286490
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524286490

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524286490
Reply with quote  #2

1524286490
Report to moderator
stryker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 05, 2011, 01:51:10 PM
 #2

doh of course i cant, i imagine id have one rail driving the other an kaboom as its too much to expect the voltages to match exactly?

           ▄▄█████████▄▄
       ▄████▀▀       ▀▀████▄
     ▄██▀▀               ▀▀██▄
    ██▀                    ████
   ██                     ███▀██
  ██                    ▄██▀   ██
 ██                    ▄██      ██
██▀                  ▄██▀      ▄███
██                  ▄██      ▄██▀██
██                 ██▀    ▄███▀  ██
██               ▄██▀   ▄██▀     ██
██▄             ▄██  ▄███▀      ▄██
 ██           ▄██▀ ▄██▀         ██
  ██         ▄██▄███▀          ██
   ██       █████▀            ██
    ██▄   ▄████▀            ▄██
     ▀██▄███▀            ▄▄██▀
       ▀████▄▄       ▄▄████▀
           ▀▀█████████▀▀
L I V E T R E E   A D E P T TM
Own the future of entertainment
The World's 1st Community-Powered,
Film, TV and Content Network  ★
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 942
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 05, 2011, 02:28:48 PM
 #3

Just toasted a 850 watt psu.

I realiase now that the psu had two 38 amp 12v rails providing 336 watts each.  As it happens one rail had one gpu on it while the other had 2 on it and was thus over-loaded.

Now I have the replacement on order I have this question.

Is there anything stopping me from "bridging" the two rails? I'd do it by splicing the wires together outside the PSU.  I'm fairly familiar with DC and can't immediatly see an issue with this but thought I ought to ask.

Also more to the point, if I can do that, then whats to stop me doing it across several PSUs ?

Cheers


Yes you can.  Internally the PSU most likely has a single 12V output and the only thing separating the output rails is a current limiting resistor.
stryker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 05, 2011, 02:56:03 PM
 #4

hmm interesting thought.... I may just try that just to find out..... I have 3 GPUs and TBF on the old PSU if I had joined the rails and it had worked then I think it would still be ok to this day.

           ▄▄█████████▄▄
       ▄████▀▀       ▀▀████▄
     ▄██▀▀               ▀▀██▄
    ██▀                    ████
   ██                     ███▀██
  ██                    ▄██▀   ██
 ██                    ▄██      ██
██▀                  ▄██▀      ▄███
██                  ▄██      ▄██▀██
██                 ██▀    ▄███▀  ██
██               ▄██▀   ▄██▀     ██
██▄             ▄██  ▄███▀      ▄██
 ██           ▄██▀ ▄██▀         ██
  ██         ▄██▄███▀          ██
   ██       █████▀            ██
    ██▄   ▄████▀            ▄██
     ▀██▄███▀            ▄▄██▀
       ▀████▄▄       ▄▄████▀
           ▀▀█████████▀▀
L I V E T R E E   A D E P T TM
Own the future of entertainment
The World's 1st Community-Powered,
Film, TV and Content Network  ★
stryker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 06, 2011, 07:11:52 PM
 #5

I see, my God I used to know that because I played with PV about 10 years ago :-)

Thanks for the refresher

           ▄▄█████████▄▄
       ▄████▀▀       ▀▀████▄
     ▄██▀▀               ▀▀██▄
    ██▀                    ████
   ██                     ███▀██
  ██                    ▄██▀   ██
 ██                    ▄██      ██
██▀                  ▄██▀      ▄███
██                  ▄██      ▄██▀██
██                 ██▀    ▄███▀  ██
██               ▄██▀   ▄██▀     ██
██▄             ▄██  ▄███▀      ▄██
 ██           ▄██▀ ▄██▀         ██
  ██         ▄██▄███▀          ██
   ██       █████▀            ██
    ██▄   ▄████▀            ▄██
     ▀██▄███▀            ▄▄██▀
       ▀████▄▄       ▄▄████▀
           ▀▀█████████▀▀
L I V E T R E E   A D E P T TM
Own the future of entertainment
The World's 1st Community-Powered,
Film, TV and Content Network  ★
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!