Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 02:40:50 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 5830 overclocking shortfall  (Read 2679 times)
Jarredm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile
September 06, 2011, 04:20:35 AM
 #1

I have a 5830 card that I recently installed but I can't seem to get it to overclock to the degree that I see others doing.  I can only increase the clock speed to 950 MHz where I see several reports on the mining hardware comparison that state 1040.  I haven't tried to mess with the memory clock much I have tried it at the stock 1000 MHz and 810 MHz.  Is there something I'm missing here or is it just a poor performer?

If it matters I am mining with guiminer, phoenix with the phatk kernel that is bundled with guiminer. (-k phatk VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP=true WORKSIZE=128)
1481208050
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481208050

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481208050
Reply with quote  #2

1481208050
Report to moderator
The forum strives to allow free discussion of any ideas. All policies are built around this principle. This doesn't mean you can post garbage, though: posts should actually contain ideas, and these ideas should be argued reasonably.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481208050
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481208050

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481208050
Reply with quote  #2

1481208050
Report to moderator
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
September 06, 2011, 04:30:08 AM
 #2

I have a 5830 card that I recently installed but I can't seem to get it to overclock to the degree that I see others doing.  I can only increase the clock speed to 950 MHz

What brand/model number?
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
September 06, 2011, 04:34:51 AM
 #3

I haven't tried to mess with the memory clock much I have tried it at the stock 1000 MHz and 810 MHz.

Definitely drop the memory to 300 mhz. 300-350 mhz is standard practice for bitcoin mining.

Also what program are you using to overclock?
ajareselde
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414


✔ Need a manager !? https://goo.gl/S51oFc


View Profile
September 06, 2011, 04:43:23 AM
 #4

i have xfx 5830 and its doing its best stabile at 950/345  @ 310 MH.

it doesnt have voltage control and it only stabile to this point.

i can push it to 330MH, but it wont be stabile, and im guessing that is what those dudes did on hardware comparison page.

cheers

.BitDice.               ▄▄███▄▄
           ▄▄██▀▀ ▄ ▀▀██▄▄
      ▄▄█ ▀▀  ▄▄█████▄▄  ▀▀ █▄▄
  ▄▄██▀▀     ▀▀ █████ ▀▀     ▀▀██▄▄
██▀▀ ▄▄██▀      ▀███▀      ▀██▄▄ ▀▀██
██  ████▄▄       ███       ▄▄████  ██
██  █▀▀████▄▄  ▄█████▄  ▄▄████▀▀█  ██
██  ▀     ▀▀▀███████████▀▀▀     ▀  ██
             ███████████
██  ▄     ▄▄▄███████████▄▄▄     ▄  ██
██  █▄▄████▀▀  ▀█████▀  ▀▀████▄▄█  ██
██  ████▀▀       ███       ▀▀████  ██
██▄▄ ▀▀██▄      ▄███▄      ▄██▀▀ ▄▄██
  ▀▀██▄▄     ▄▄ █████ ▄▄     ▄▄██▀▀
      ▀▀█ ▄▄  ▀▀█████▀▀  ▄▄ █▀▀
           ▀▀██▄▄ ▀ ▄▄██▀▀
               ▀▀███▀▀
        ▄▄███████▄▄
     ▄███████████████▄
    ████▀▀       ▀▀████
   ████▀           ▀████
   ████             ████
   ████ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ████
▄█████████████████████████▄
██████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████████
████                   ████
████                   ████
████                   ████
████                   ████
████                   ████
████▄                 ▄████
████████▄▄▄     ▄▄▄████████
  ▀▀▀█████████████████▀▀▀
        ▀▀▀█████▀▀▀
▄▄████████████████████████████████▄▄
██████████████████████████████████████
█████                            █████
█████                            █████
█████                            █████
█████                            █████
█████                     ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
█████                   ▄█▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█▄
█████                   ██          ██
█████                   ██          ██
█████                   ██          ██
██████████████████▀▀███ ██          ██
 ████████████████▄  ▄██ ██          ██
   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ ██          ██
             ██████████ ██          ██
           ▄███████████ ██████▀▀██████
          █████████████  ▀████▄▄████▀
[/]
minero1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145



View Profile
September 06, 2011, 06:01:41 AM
 #5

Relax, in the long run you are better off staying away from the bleeding edge. i have some 5830's and i run them at 950 exactly as you are now, they could go up to 1000 but i prefer stability, also 310Mhash/s is very good for a 5830, that's 5850 territory.
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 893

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
September 06, 2011, 06:12:46 AM
 #6

at stock volts I run 1040 core 354 mem for weeks on end and its never crashed at that speed. even at 1050 it runs for a few days before crashing. I dont like having to check it so I leave it 1040.

what are your temps? under 70? mine runs in the mid 60s. open case, with a 120v muffin fan aimed at it.

what PSU? card is on PEGs with no adapters (although adapters shouldnt make a difference)? wondering if your 12 is sagging.

mine is the sapphire 5830 xtreme, it has a non reference cooler. but from what Ive seen and read theres nothing special or "extreme" about it.

btcmerchant
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51



View Profile WWW
September 06, 2011, 06:19:32 AM
 #7

I'm running 2 5830s so I figured I post my speeds here too - both overclocked to 960 and memory under clocked to 325 using afterburner.

I was running at 975 but I noticed it wasn't quite as stable (probably due to increased temp). I've also been running at 310mh/s whether it's at 960 or 975.

I'm using Phoenix to mine btw as I noticed for me that gives me a better speed.

List your business for free on http://btcmerchants.com
donations: 1CbbGpPq6Dmr4spMVN4NjPZWtBtiYvBFZ3
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 893

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
September 06, 2011, 10:19:31 AM
 #8

huh. guess I got lucky and scored a good one. I thought all 5830s were good for an easy 1000+ on the core..



tritium
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86


View Profile
September 06, 2011, 12:36:55 PM
 #9

I have seen quite a variation in the speeds of my cards

I have 3 XFX XXX version 5830s with the rear exhausts and they can all do 1000mHz easily, I have 2 5830s that only vent into the case that are only stable at 950.

I have a 5850 that wont go beyond 900. all these are regardless of the temperature

1FCzN34C1xCLsDaLxfY7yB5CQKN74ruGHV
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
September 06, 2011, 02:31:12 PM
 #10

I bought a batch of 5 Sapphire 5830 'Xtreme's a while back, they all clock a bit differently.

Rig 1:  ASrock Extreme3,  750W + 480W PSU, 2x 6950 in the 16x slots, 2x 5830 in the 1x slots.
The 5830s are rock solid at 1010/300 for ~320MH/s each.

Rig 2:  ASrock Extreme3,  750W + 480W PSU, 2x 6950 in the 16x slots, 2x 5830 in the 1x slots.
The 5830s lock everything up at anything > 930/300 for ~292MH/s each.

The 6950s are clocked the same in both boards, 885/760.

Another rig has two 'older' Sapphire 5830s, they're unhappy > 940/300, and yet another single-card rig has one of the Xtremes stable at 970/300.

The stable clock rates seem to be dependent on the motherboard more than anything else for me - if I swap the cards between the two ASrock boards, Rig 1 is still happy at 1010/300, and Rig 2 still locks up > 940/300.

This tells me the 5830s all probably have a bit of headroom still, but the motherboards can't push 'em that hard without getting a bit squirrely.

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
mike678
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
September 06, 2011, 04:19:57 PM
 #11

Relax, in the long run you are better off staying away from the bleeding edge. i have some 5830's and i run them at 950 exactly as you are now, they could go up to 1000 but i prefer stability, also 310Mhash/s is very good for a 5830, that's 5850 territory.

You're an idiot if you think 311 is 5850 territory. That is the low end speed for non overclocked 5850. If you do a 900/300 overclock which is very moderate that's 375 megahash. 5850's can be pushed stably to 400 megahash.

huh. guess I got lucky and scored a good one. I thought all 5830s were good for an easy 1000+ on the core..
Sapphire tends to be a very reliable brand. I have 4 5830's total and each can do exactly what you say.
Blackout
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile WWW
September 06, 2011, 04:26:34 PM
 #12

I have 8 and can push most of them to 330 mhash without needing to go to 1040 but at 1030 they are around there 328
bit strangely I have learned the two that are actually in the 1st agp slot and used as a display need to be clocked a little lower  around 960-970 max.

Also, another odd thing is a notice running them at max doesn't really pay... at least not on elgius where I am currently mining, when I drop the clock to about 1020 and 320 mem and aggression levels 1 number dif for each card, like 9, 8,7,6 from the furthest out card to the display card in slot one being lowest aggression I get astoundingly better hash rates from the averages reported by elgius (which is what matters) over what mhash my cards say they are doing. 




http://blackout.com
Insane writings for an Outsane world: http://blackoutsblog.com

Blackout Radio on android or iphone DL TuneIn APP & search for Blackout Radio http://tunein.com/tuner/?StationId=136506

https://secure.btcontilt.com/register.php?referred=Blackout (BTC Poker)
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
September 06, 2011, 05:54:48 PM
 #13

Relax, in the long run you are better off staying away from the bleeding edge. i have some 5830's and i run them at 950 exactly as you are now, they could go up to 1000 but i prefer stability, also 310Mhash/s is very good for a 5830, that's 5850 territory.

I couldn't agree more..  I run my 5830's at 920.  I get about 280Mhash. 
I don't push any of my cards above 950. I would rather have the stability.

the most I get is 420Mhash from the 5870's at 940

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Jarredm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile
September 06, 2011, 08:28:32 PM
 #14

Wow a lot of replies!

So to answer the questions.  I am using MSI Afterburner to do the overclocking and I do have the unofficial OC enabled.

The Brand is Sapphire and the model I believe is 100297-2L  Let me know if that doesn't make sense. (this one does vent into the case)

This is in a machine that my wife has to use daily so it has to be stable and usable.  If I underclock the mem to 300-325 will it be noticeable when using the windows areo?  My temps aren't bad the case is an NZXT PanzerBox case with 2 300mm fans plus one 120 in the back. I'm currently running around 66C with an ambient room temp of ~72F.

I don't think it's a PSU issue,  the supply is an XFX XXX 650W it has two dedicated 6-pins and is only powering the system and this card. Core 2 Duo 3.016 GHz

I am only getting around 287 Mhashs which I think is a little low.  For reference here are the CL options copied directly from the phoenix guiminer.  -k phatk VECTORS BFI_INT AGRESSION=9 FASTLOOP=TRUE
stryker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 232


View Profile
September 06, 2011, 08:29:56 PM
 #15

0. ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series (:0.0)
    engine clock 950MHz, memory clock 325MHz, core voltage 1.2VDC, performance level 2, utilization 98%
    unable to get fan speed
    temperature 39 C
1. ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series   (:0.1)
    engine clock 995MHz, memory clock 325MHz, core voltage 1.163VDC, performance level 2, utilization 99%
    fan speed 65% (2649 RPM) (user-defined)
    temperature 46 C
2. ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series   (:0.2)
    engine clock 925MHz, memory clock 325MHz, core voltage 1.163VDC, performance level 2, utilization 99%
    fan speed 65% (2179 RPM) (user-defined)
    temperature 45.5 C

0 = 209 Mh/s
1 = 318 Mh/s
2 = 295 Mh/s

Number 0 (5770)
Number 1 (5830), is a sapphire, I could push it faster.
Number 2 (5830), forget what it is... xfd maybe.... very disappointing 925 is as fast as it will go and remain stable.
Jarredm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile
September 06, 2011, 10:11:38 PM
 #16

2. ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series   (:0.2)
    engine clock 925MHz, memory clock 325MHz, core voltage 1.163VDC, performance level 2, utilization 99%
    fan speed 65% (2179 RPM) (user-defined)
    temperature 45.5 C

2 = 295 Mh/s

Number 2 (5830), forget what it is... xfd maybe.... very disappointing 925 is as fast as it will go and remain stable.

Hey stryker, looks like your #2 5800 is outperforming mine by quite a bit despite being clocked 25MHz lower.  Could you elaborate on your miners setup?  I'm on phoenix and posted the options I'm using in the post directly before yours.


Also, a general question for all who may read.  I have been decreasing the mem clock on this card and now that I am down to 550 from 800 previously my mhash rate is up from 287 to around 293.  Is this a benefit of the lower memory clock rate?  I was under the impression that a lower memory rate was just a measure to save wattage.
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 893

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
September 06, 2011, 10:52:28 PM
 #17

So to answer the questions.  I am using MSI Afterburner to do the overclocking and I do have the unofficial OC enabled.

The Brand is Sapphire and the model I believe is 100297-2L  Let me know if that doesn't make sense. (this one does vent into the case)

VGA SAPPHIRE|100297-2L HD5830 1G

same as I have.. above is the part number from my newegg invoice.

mine is in a dedicated mining rig with XP Pro so cant comment on aero with low mem clocks. I use trixx for overclocking. PSU is an Antec Basiq 500. not a high end PSU by any means, just a decent no nonsense one. using GUIMiner with "-v -w 256 -f 5" flags
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
September 07, 2011, 01:27:45 AM
 #18

I would bump the mem clocks up for general usability, 300mhz is a bit slow for graphics performance.  The only loss is slightly higher power usage, maybe 10W or so.

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
hdfxst
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
September 07, 2011, 02:48:25 AM
 #19

I have that same card and i run it at 1025/300 1.175 volts. -v    -f1 give me the best hash rate(320-325),if i put -w128 the rate goes down
Jarredm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile
September 07, 2011, 03:14:08 AM
 #20

I have that same card and i run it at 1025/300 1.175 volts. -v    -f1 give me the best hash rate(320-325),if i put -w128 the rate goes down

I discovered that I am losing around 2-4 Mhps by using the WORKSIZE=128.  I stopped that.  I am convinced that dropping the mem clock does increase the hash rate for some reason.  I have tried it on two machines and am getting a better rate 2-3 mhps by dropping from 1000 Mhz to 500 Mhz.  I don't know why.  I am using MSI Afterburner to set clocks and apparently it won't let me go below 500, I may not want to for usability as others have said.  I am using phoenix not poclbm so my options are a bit different from yours.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!