Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 08:46:10 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Difficulty from 1777774.48200146 to 1779163.943662?  (Read 1237 times)
Kermee
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
September 06, 2011, 11:25:15 AM
 #1

Granted, I'll be the first to admit that I'm not the sharpest tool in the shed, but could someone explain to me why within our 2016 block range between difficulty retargets, we have some blocks at 1777774 and some at 1779164?

This is the first time I've seen a difficulty change/difference during a 2016 block range.

Did I miss something?

Cheers,
Kermee

EDIT: bitcoind still shows 1777774.48200146, and all the latest blocks solved still shows 1777774.48200146... But http://blockexplorer.com/q/getdifficulty ...  Huh

1480970770
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480970770

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480970770
Reply with quote  #2

1480970770
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480970770
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480970770

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480970770
Reply with quote  #2

1480970770
Report to moderator
1480970770
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480970770

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480970770
Reply with quote  #2

1480970770
Report to moderator
1480970770
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480970770

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480970770
Reply with quote  #2

1480970770
Report to moderator
Furyan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175



View Profile
September 06, 2011, 12:16:12 PM
 #2

All my bitcoin instances report 1777774.48200146 so I'm going to go with, blockexplorer has a bug.

Interestingly, some of the pools are displaying the 1779163 number, thus revealing that they're obtaining the number from blockexplorer.  We obtain it directly from bitcoin.
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
September 06, 2011, 08:34:22 PM
 #3

There was a bug in the difficulty display in some previous versions.  The actual difficulty was always right, but it was reported incorrectly.  This has been fixed in recent versions.  Update your nodes, and if you mine for a pool showing 1779163, pester the pool operator to update his.

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
ampirebus
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
September 07, 2011, 12:20:48 AM
 #4

Estimated   1741808 in 871 blks
Kermee
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
September 07, 2011, 01:34:38 AM
 #5

Ah.

http://blockexplorer.com/q/getdifficulty

Looks like it's fixed now =)

But yes... It does show how many sites, pools, etc. are getting their #'s from there vs. directly from bitcoind.

Cheers,
Kermee

payb.tc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
September 07, 2011, 01:43:51 AM
 #6

simple explanation:

0.3.20.2 calculates less accurately => 1779163.94366
0.3.24 calculates more accurately => 1777774.482

they must have been grabbing the difficulty factor from an older install temporarily.

edit: sorry i just noticed kjj said basically the same thing above.
Kermee
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
September 07, 2011, 01:52:04 AM
 #7

There was a bug in the difficulty display in some previous versions.  The actual difficulty was always right, but it was reported incorrectly.  This has been fixed in recent versions.  Update your nodes, and if you mine for a pool showing 1779163, pester the pool operator to update his.

simple explanation:

0.3.20.2 calculates less accurately => 1779163.94366
0.3.24 calculates more accurately => 1777774.482

they must have been grabbing the difficulty factor from an older install temporarily.

edit: sorry i just noticed kjj said basically the same thing above.

Awesome. Thanks you two for the explanation!

Cheers,
Kermee

theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492


View Profile
September 07, 2011, 03:08:38 AM
 #8

Sorry about that. I fixed it.

There are two instances of BBE: one is run by me and one is run by MtGox Live. Usually you get MtGox Live's version, but they were running slowly yesterday and my monitoring system automatically switched to my version. My version is running an old version of Bitcoin, which caused that discrepancy. I updated that part of my Bitcoin code to use the new calculation.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
Furyan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175



View Profile
September 07, 2011, 01:04:51 PM
 #9

Sorry about that. I fixed it.

There are two instances of BBE: one is run by me and one is run by MtGox Live. Usually you get MtGox Live's version, but they were running slowly yesterday and my monitoring system automatically switched to my version. My version is running an old version of Bitcoin, which caused that discrepancy. I updated that part of my Bitcoin code to use the new calculation.

Thanks theymos!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!