Bitcoin Forum
May 21, 2019, 02:11:09 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Advice on PSUs/other parts for Scrypt mining rig  (Read 1582 times)
JBrace1990
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 18, 2014, 02:51:24 AM
Last edit: January 18, 2014, 03:07:43 AM by JBrace1990
 #1

So I'm working on building a new rig, and I've already purchased some parts, but I could use some advice.

The graphics cards I am using is 6x Sapphire Radeon Tri-X 290x (Yes, expensive cards), and the motherboard is a Gigibyte 990FXA-UD7.

That leaves RAM, PSUs, possibly a PSU connector and a CPU. I'll be using a USB stick with BAMT on it for an OS.

I don't care about CPU mining at all, so cheap and low power is fine with me.

For reference, the items I already purchased are these:

mobo:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128508

Graphics:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814202079


EDIT:
I could also use a nice mining case. Any suggestions on that too?
1558447869
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558447869

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558447869
Reply with quote  #2

1558447869
Report to moderator
1558447869
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558447869

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558447869
Reply with quote  #2

1558447869
Report to moderator
NEW GAME FORMAT
JACKPOT UP TO $8000+
Guess The Symbols Of a Real Ethereum Hash
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1558447869
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558447869

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558447869
Reply with quote  #2

1558447869
Report to moderator
PeerMedia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 19, 2014, 03:21:49 AM
 #2

Are you planning on doing all this on a single rig? You'll need 2 PSU's to handle 6x 290's. RAM I generally see the rule is 1.5GB/GPU but I don't think you really need that much RAM, I'd start with 4GB and if you have issues add another 2-4GB, especially on BAMT you shouldn't need it. CPU, just pick entry level, Celeron or Sempron depending on what chipset your mobo is. You'll probably need to buy a custom case to handle 6 GPU's, I use milkcrates which can handle 4 without problem, but for 6 you'll need something bigger. You'll also want something sturdy to handle the weight of some expensive GPU's. Maybe openrigs? They're pricey but considering what you spent on your GPU's, probably not that much extra. Enjoy, that's some sweet hardware.
JBrace1990
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 21, 2014, 03:02:38 PM
 #3

Thanks. I got 2x 1200watt corsair power supplies and a connector for them. I'm thinking of going with 3 on one supply, 3 on another with the rest of the parts. how does that sound? I was also thinking 4 and 2, since it should support it, but I'm not sure.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!