Bitcoin Forum
May 07, 2024, 08:54:26 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: "Windows cannot find..." anything I place after poclbm.exe in my batch file  (Read 3949 times)
mrgiles1 (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 05, 2011, 05:53:59 PM
 #1

Hi there,

I'm trying to get into bitcoin mining, but I keep running into the same problem with several different mining apps.

when using the batch file with the following line:

start /DC:\Program_Files_(x86)\Bitcoin\python\poclbm.exe -d1 --host=deepbit.net --port=8332 --
user=mrgiles1@gmail.com --pass=*********


I get the following:

Windows cannot find '-d1' Make sure you typed the name correctly and try again.


Can anyone help with this?  I haven't been able to find anyone with the same issue.

Thanks,

Daniel

Win7 Home
i5 M 480 @ 2.67Ghz
Nvidia GEForce GT 420M 1Gig
1715072066
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715072066

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715072066
Reply with quote  #2

1715072066
Report to moderator
1715072066
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715072066

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715072066
Reply with quote  #2

1715072066
Report to moderator
In order to achieve higher forum ranks, you need both activity points and merit points.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715072066
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715072066

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715072066
Reply with quote  #2

1715072066
Report to moderator
1715072066
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715072066

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715072066
Reply with quote  #2

1715072066
Report to moderator
1715072066
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715072066

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715072066
Reply with quote  #2

1715072066
Report to moderator
LMGTFY
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 502



View Profile
March 05, 2011, 06:03:31 PM
 #2

Hi there,

I'm trying to get into bitcoin mining, but I keep running into the same problem with several different mining apps.

when using the batch file with the following line:

start /DC:\Program_Files_(x86)\Bitcoin\python\poclbm.exe -d1 --host=deepbit.net --port=8332 --
user=mrgiles1@gmail.com --pass=*********


I get the following:

Windows cannot find '-d1' Make sure you typed the name correctly and try again.


Can anyone help with this?  I haven't been able to find anyone with the same issue.

Thanks,

Daniel

Win7 Home
i5 M 480 @ 2.67Ghz
Nvidia GEForce GT 420M 1Gig

Just a guess, but how does Windows/DOS know when the file path ends? Maybe that's the problem? Try putting double-quotes ("s) around the path:

start /D "C:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin\python\poclbm.exe" -d1 --host=deepbit.net --port=8332 --
user=mrgiles1@gmail.com --pass=*********

(Also, there was a space missing between "/D" and "C:\" - I presume that was a typo?)

(Edit: replaced underscores with spaces).

This space intentionally left blank.
niooron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 193
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 05, 2011, 06:06:04 PM
 #3

Just put the batch file in the same folder as the miner, then use a shortcut to the batch file. That way you avoid dealing with paths.
xenon481
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 05, 2011, 06:22:18 PM
 #4

when using the batch file with the following line:

start /DC:\Program_Files_(x86)\Bitcoin\python\poclbm.exe -d1 --host=deepbit.net --port=8332 --user=mrgiles1@gmail.com --pass=*********

Use this line instead:
Code:
start /DC:\Program_Files_(x86)\Bitcoin\python poclbm.exe -d1 --host=deepbit.net --port=8332 --user=mrgiles1@gmail.com --pass=*********

Notice that I took out the last slash between python and poclbm.exe. The /D command is telling the start command what the "working directory" should be. The parameter after that is the application name that should be run.

I'm not sure about your Program_Files_(x86), though. If your directory actually has spaces instead of underscores, then do this:
Code:
start /D"C:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin\python" poclbm.exe -d1 --host=deepbit.net --port=8332 --user=mrgiles1@gmail.com --pass=*********

Tips Appreciated: 171TQ2wJg7bxj2q68VNibU75YZB22b7ZDr
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1284
Merit: 1001


View Profile
March 05, 2011, 09:42:18 PM
 #5

Or just make a shortcut to the exe file and add the parameters you need in properties.
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1855
Merit: 1016



View Profile
March 07, 2011, 07:02:33 PM
 #6

Hi there,

I'm trying to get into bitcoin mining, but I keep running into the same problem with several different mining apps.

when using the batch file with the following line:

start /DC:\Program_Files_(x86)\Bitcoin\python\poclbm.exe -d1 --host=deepbit.net --port=8332 --
user=mrgiles1@gmail.com --pass=*********


I get the following:

Windows cannot find '-d1' Make sure you typed the name correctly and try again.


Can anyone help with this?  I haven't been able to find anyone with the same issue.

Thanks,

Daniel

Win7 Home
i5 M 480 @ 2.67Ghz
Nvidia GEForce GT 420M 1Gig

I think windows dont allow start. not sure. i got error when i first started mining, then i created bat file with this line only & everything is fine
C:\Users\Administrator\Desktop\poclbm_py2exe_20110222\poclbm.exe -d0 --host=mining.bitcoin.cz --port=8332 --user=xxxxxxxxxxxxxx --pass=xxxxxxxxxx

I think u have only ONE graphics card/chip & thats will be d0 or u may have to add second monitor to second card.

u can also try new GUI, here http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3878.0;all
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!