Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2018, 09:18:30 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Problems with cgminer (AdvancedStyle & Bitmaintech version) for Bitmain on RPi  (Read 1262 times)
OliRS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 20, 2014, 10:18:43 PM
 #1

Hi everyone, I'm new to the forum. I did a search but was unable to find the error I'm having.

I have installed the original version of cgminer from the original author onto my Rev 2 B RPi and it runs fine. However, I wanted to install the version by AdvancedStyle or Bitmaintech to enable support to Overclock the Bitmain Antminer U1 I currently own.

I followed the build instructions using their git repos, i.e.

./autogen.sh        # only needed if building from git repo
CFLAGS="-O2 -Wall -march=native" ./configure --enable-bmsc
make

It goes fine until a few minutes in using make I get this error:

Quote
  CC     cgminer-usbutils.o
usbutils.c:304:26: error: redefinition of ‘ica_epinfos’
usbutils.c:242:26: note: previous definition of ‘ica_epinfos’ was here
usbutils.c:309:27: error: redefinition of ‘ica_ints’
usbutils.c:247:27: note: previous definition of ‘ica_ints’ was here
usbutils.c:313:26: error: redefinition of ‘amu_epinfos’
usbutils.c:251:26: note: previous definition of ‘amu_epinfos’ was here
usbutils.c:318:27: error: redefinition of ‘amu_ints’
usbutils.c:256:27: note: previous definition of ‘amu_ints’ was here
usbutils.c:322:26: error: redefinition of ‘llt_epinfos’
usbutils.c:260:26: note: previous definition of ‘llt_epinfos’ was here
usbutils.c:327:27: error: redefinition of ‘llt_ints’
usbutils.c:265:27: note: previous definition of ‘llt_ints’ was here
usbutils.c:331:26: error: redefinition of ‘cmr1_epinfos’
usbutils.c:269:26: note: previous definition of ‘cmr1_epinfos’ was here
usbutils.c:336:27: error: redefinition of ‘cmr1_ints’
usbutils.c:274:27: note: previous definition of ‘cmr1_ints’ was here
usbutils.c:340:26: error: redefinition of ‘cmr2_epinfos0’
usbutils.c:278:26: note: previous definition of ‘cmr2_epinfos0’ was here
usbutils.c:344:26: error: redefinition of ‘cmr2_epinfos1’
usbutils.c:282:26: note: previous definition of ‘cmr2_epinfos1’ was here
usbutils.c:348:26: error: redefinition of ‘cmr2_epinfos2’
usbutils.c:286:26: note: previous definition of ‘cmr2_epinfos2’ was here
usbutils.c:352:26: error: redefinition of ‘cmr2_epinfos3’
usbutils.c:290:26: note: previous definition of ‘cmr2_epinfos3’ was here
usbutils.c:357:27: error: redefinition of ‘cmr2_ints’
usbutils.c:295:27: note: previous definition of ‘cmr2_ints’ was here
make[2]: *** [cgminer-usbutils.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/pi/cgminer'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/pi/cgminer'
make: *** [all] Error 2

I get this exact same error with the AdvancedStyle version and the Bitmaintech version, both from github. I have searched and can't find an answer. I thought maybe it was a dependency issue, but I'm pretty sure I have all the required packages.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Oli.
1542662310
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542662310

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542662310
Reply with quote  #2

1542662310
Report to moderator
1542662310
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542662310

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542662310
Reply with quote  #2

1542662310
Report to moderator
1542662310
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542662310

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542662310
Reply with quote  #2

1542662310
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542662310
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542662310

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542662310
Reply with quote  #2

1542662310
Report to moderator
Bigun
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2014, 05:19:46 PM
 #2

I'm having the exact same issue.
OliRS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 21, 2014, 10:38:51 PM
 #3

I'm having the exact same issue.

OK so update: I used "make -j 6" instead of just make and it works. That was advised by the author of the AdvancedStyle repo but it's not in the README :-/

Anyway, I found a better repo https://github.com/fractalbc/cgminer

It has the bmsc drivers merged into a 3.9.0 version of cgminer and it also now supports my Adafruit I2C LCD screen which didn't work with AdvancedStyle or bitmaintech's version's as they altered the api.

Happy days.

See here for details: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=390929.msg4379693#msg4379693
nwoolls
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2014, 10:53:48 PM
 #4

Anyway, I found a better repo https://github.com/fractalbc/cgminer

It has the bmsc drivers merged into a 3.9.0 version of cgminer and it also now supports my Adafruit I2C LCD screen which didn't work with AdvancedStyle or bitmaintech's version's as they altered the api.

You can also use the official, latest version of bfgminer which has support for the AntMiner U1 and many other devices. No custom forks required.

MultiMiner: Any Miner, Any Where, on Any Device |  Xgminer: Mine with popular miners on Mac OS X
btc: 1BmXY4ZZQh1iHSVre658gM1gPAEtDnq8rv  |  ltc: LP1SsHZTDexndkvRKsqAkXNsienPHwaMb5  |  hardware: nwoolls at gmail dot com
Bigun
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
January 30, 2014, 12:45:32 PM
 #5

Anyway, I found a better repo https://github.com/fractalbc/cgminer

It has the bmsc drivers merged into a 3.9.0 version of cgminer and it also now supports my Adafruit I2C LCD screen which didn't work with AdvancedStyle or bitmaintech's version's as they altered the api.

You can also use the official, latest version of bfgminer which has support for the AntMiner U1 and many other devices. No custom forks required.

That's the solution I went with.  With a few API flags turned on, it will work with PiMiner as well.
Buchi-88
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1044



View Profile
January 30, 2014, 01:13:31 PM
 #6

Anyway, I found a better repo https://github.com/fractalbc/cgminer

It has the bmsc drivers merged into a 3.9.0 version of cgminer and it also now supports my Adafruit I2C LCD screen which didn't work with AdvancedStyle or bitmaintech's version's as they altered the api.

You can also use the official, latest version of bfgminer which has support for the AntMiner U1 and many other devices. No custom forks required.

But with the official Cgminer overclocking is NOT possible at the Antminer U1, but the costum Cgminer version is not stable 24/7 Cry

greets

nwoolls
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
January 30, 2014, 01:25:47 PM
 #7

But with the official Cgminer overclocking is NOT possible at the Antminer U1, but the costum Cgminer version is not stable 24/7 Cry

Note I said bfgminer, not cgminer. cgminer has no support for the AntMiner U1. bfgminer supports it fully, including over-clocking and running side-by-side with Block Erupters.

MultiMiner: Any Miner, Any Where, on Any Device |  Xgminer: Mine with popular miners on Mac OS X
btc: 1BmXY4ZZQh1iHSVre658gM1gPAEtDnq8rv  |  ltc: LP1SsHZTDexndkvRKsqAkXNsienPHwaMb5  |  hardware: nwoolls at gmail dot com
Buchi-88
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1044



View Profile
January 30, 2014, 03:14:32 PM
 #8

You are right, sorry!

But the new CGMiner 3.12.0 also support the Antminer without overclocking Wink

OliRS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 13, 2014, 10:41:20 PM
 #9

Thanks for the replies guys, I did indeed go with the latest Bfgminer in the end and not only does it work "out of the box" with the Antminers I am also getting a steady 2.0 GH/s out of all of them with literally no hashing errors. Using the 2.2 (0A81) clock speed gives many errors but I'll take a steady 2.0 any day.

Just added a ASICMiner Cube to my mix too, works fine on low clock but won't mine when I switch to high clock, it just hangs for a while then I get all X's in the status page and have to power cycle it to get it mining again happily at 32 GH/s.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!