Bitcoin Forum
October 18, 2017, 05:57:30 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Does the H81/H61 Pro BTC Need Powered Risers?  (Read 19653 times)
LTCXE.COM
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26

MiningBitcoin.ca


View Profile WWW
February 18, 2014, 07:57:42 AM
 #21

I second the use of powered risers for any rig with 4 cards or more. Especially with 7970 or higher cards. They pull way more than 200 watts per card.


http://MiningBitcoin.ca (http://MiningBitcoin.ca) - Mining Hardware and Accessories
1508306250
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508306250

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508306250
Reply with quote  #2

1508306250
Report to moderator
1508306250
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508306250

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508306250
Reply with quote  #2

1508306250
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Solidchance
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169


View Profile
February 18, 2014, 06:08:02 PM
 #22

Posted this in another thread, used 6xr9 270 and burned out the traces at the 24 pin power connector. So I would definitely use powered risers w/ this board.
bitmonster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 129


@cryptominer


View Profile WWW
February 18, 2014, 11:04:45 PM
 #23

here is a youtube where you can see a guy installing the H81 PRO BTC http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WfqfEpanpig
joeventura
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
February 19, 2014, 12:41:08 AM
 #24

here is a youtube where you can see a guy installing the H81 PRO BTC http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WfqfEpanpig

Hmmm he seems to say DO NOT USE POWERED RISERS.


BitCoinRateWatcher.com One stop for latest rates from MtGox, Bitstamp, CampBx, Coinbase and Bitpay all on one mobile friendly screen.
evansearle42
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 371


View Profile
February 19, 2014, 01:26:07 AM
 #25

Posted this in another thread, used 6xr9 270 and burned out the traces at the 24 pin power connector. So I would definitely use powered risers w/ this board.

Did you plug in double molex?
joeventura
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
February 19, 2014, 04:45:45 AM
 #26

Posted this in another thread, used 6xr9 270 and burned out the traces at the 24 pin power connector. So I would definitely use powered risers w/ this board.

Did you plug in double molex?

 I sure did. I have 4 R9 290X running happy as clams with NON powered risers. All cables are cool and happy.

I would urge you to use the search function on the site and search on:

Asrock H81 powered risers

and see what you find, Youtube video not withstanding.

BitCoinRateWatcher.com One stop for latest rates from MtGox, Bitstamp, CampBx, Coinbase and Bitpay all on one mobile friendly screen.
Solidchance
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169


View Profile
February 19, 2014, 05:04:19 AM
 #27

Posted this in another thread, used 6xr9 270 and burned out the traces at the 24 pin power connector. So I would definitely use powered risers w/ this board.

Did you plug in double molex?

Yup, sure did

Also found this post on reddit
http://www.reddit.com/r/litecoinmining/comments/1vumlx/running_6x_r9_290not_the_x_asrock_h81_pro_btc/

My opinion of this board- its a POS, gonna go w/ another board and powered risers, preferably USB powered risers
RickJamesBTC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
February 19, 2014, 06:12:07 AM
 #28

I keep answering this, but this forum doesn't do a lot of searching Tongue   Just use USB risers and the board is fine. It's got great bios, it's CHEAP and has six working slots. Preferably my risers, if you want.
chopsbit
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
February 19, 2014, 08:58:25 AM
 #29

Has anyone had an issue with this board where after installing more than 2 GPUs the BIOS boot or the new Windows 8 splash screen won't load? With 2 GPUs everything works fine, however as soon as I add more no more BIOS boot!

Updated to the latest BIOS 1.30 but same issue. Is there a specific order of PCIe slots to install these into, currently only using the PCIe on non-powered risers.

RickJamesBTC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
February 19, 2014, 09:44:14 AM
 #30

Has anyone had an issue with this board where after installing more than 2 GPUs the BIOS boot or the new Windows 8 splash screen won't load? With 2 GPUs everything works fine, however as soon as I add more no more BIOS boot!

Updated to the latest BIOS 1.30 but same issue. Is there a specific order of PCIe slots to install these into, currently only using the PCIe on non-powered risers.

Use linux
chopsbit
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
February 19, 2014, 10:04:55 AM
 #31

Has anyone had an issue with this board where after installing more than 2 GPUs the BIOS boot or the new Windows 8 splash screen won't load? With 2 GPUs everything works fine, however as soon as I add more no more BIOS boot!

Updated to the latest BIOS 1.30 but same issue. Is there a specific order of PCIe slots to install these into, currently only using the PCIe on non-powered risers.

Use linux

Thanks for that, I'll give BAMT a go later to see if any difference. But from what I'm seeing with this issue so far, the error happens before either Windows or Linux would load as there is no BIOS post screen. The first output from the card is when the Windows drivers loadup.

I'm wondering whether there is a need to have 1 card plugged into the x16 slot, although when I have the 2 working they are both plugged into x1 slots

RickJamesBTC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
February 19, 2014, 10:07:35 AM
 #32

No, you don't need a card on the board. I always install the OS and drivers with just one on the board, then after it all works I shut it down and plug all cards in via usb risers. I've got no problems with any of them so far.
chopsbit
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
February 19, 2014, 10:55:07 AM
 #33

Thats how I started this, put 1 card in and installed everything needed then turned off and plugged in the other 3 cards. Do you have a card in the x16 slot? I'm not going to put the card onto the board I have an x16 -> x16 riser that I can use

RickJamesBTC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
February 19, 2014, 05:43:42 PM
 #34

Thats how I started this, put 1 card in and installed everything needed then turned off and plugged in the other 3 cards. Do you have a card in the x16 slot? I'm not going to put the card onto the board I have an x16 -> x16 riser that I can use

No, I do not have a single 16x- 16x or gpu mounted directly to a motherboard. you have some other issue.
Solidchance
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169


View Profile
February 23, 2014, 03:24:07 AM
 #35

Update.....Finally got this board to work w/ out powered risers, however, the verdict is still out on whether or not this board will hold up to 24/7 ops using the molex plugs....stay tuned
thenextmoney
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
February 23, 2014, 03:28:03 AM
 #36

Posted this in another thread, used 6xr9 270 and burned out the traces at the 24 pin power connector. So I would definitely use powered risers w/ this board.

Did you plug in double molex?

Yup, sure did

Also found this post on reddit
http://www.reddit.com/r/litecoinmining/comments/1vumlx/running_6x_r9_290not_the_x_asrock_h81_pro_btc/

My opinion of this board- its a POS, gonna go w/ another board and powered risers, preferably USB powered risers
I agree these boards are absolute garbage. I've had two explode on me. sparks flying everywhere, burning out any peripherals attached.
gpucoolingmethod
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
February 24, 2014, 06:22:42 PM
 #37

Powered risers are so that you don't pull too much power through your MB. If each GPU pulls 25W, a 6 GPU rig means you'll pulling 150W through a board that's not designed to have that much power running through it. Things get hot, and they fry.

The Pro BTC MB has 2 separate molex connectors for supplying extra 12V power to the MB, specifically to the PCIe lanes. It's designed so you won't have to use powered risers.

I mean, you still could if you wanted to, but it'd be kinda pointless.

Ive read on reddit thread to only use four because there are 2 molex into mobo and that

If more are used then something will melt
beegatewood
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 300


View Profile
February 25, 2014, 02:44:27 AM
 #38

You should use powered riser for the 1x even though you have enough power. Because 1x only can transfer 25 watt

lorbas
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82


View Profile
February 25, 2014, 10:17:51 PM
 #39

You should use powered riser for the 1x even though you have enough power. Because 1x only can transfer 25 watt

The way I understand it, actually 75W will be drawn through the 1x slot! That's because of the16x graphics cards usually draw 75W from the 16x slots. Since the card doesn't "know" it's attached to an 1x slot, it does not bother drawing 75W. When you take a look at the pci express pinlayout for example at wikipedia, you will notice that it's only the pins prior to the key notch, that are dealing with power. The rest is for data.

That's also why powered risers provide extra power to the PINS, not the 6+2 pin power connectors.
RickJamesBTC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
February 25, 2014, 10:44:10 PM
 #40

You should use powered riser for the 1x even though you have enough power. Because 1x only can transfer 25 watt

The way I understand it, actually 75W will be pulled through the 1x slot! That's because of the16x graphics cards usually draw 75W from the 16x slots. Since the card doesn't "know" it's attached to an 1x slot, it does not bother drawing 75W. When you take a look at the pci express pinlayout for example at wikipedia, you will notice that it's only the pins prior to the key notch, that are dealing with power. The rest is for data.

That's also why powered risers provide extra power to the PINS, not the 6+2 pin power connectors.

They actually don't. That is a MAXIMUM for the spec. Most cards I've tested draw 30-50 watts.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!