Bitcoin Forum
October 20, 2017, 08:34:56 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Does the H81/H61 Pro BTC Need Powered Risers?  (Read 19667 times)
Ratman2050
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81



View Profile
January 21, 2014, 05:46:25 AM
 #1

I keep seeing mixed answers to this question. One blog says using unpowered risers still won't work even though the mobo has 2 4 pin molex connectors, however, others have said you shouldnt use any powered at all?

Is it safe to say if I want to run 6 7950 GPUs maybe I should use 3 powered and 3 unpowered?

Thanks

Feeling Lucky?

1AV6Qjiwhd5X9XAQ14jjiWHnGGLYFYZv5v
1508531696
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508531696

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508531696
Reply with quote  #2

1508531696
Report to moderator
1508531696
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508531696

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508531696
Reply with quote  #2

1508531696
Report to moderator
1508531696
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508531696

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508531696
Reply with quote  #2

1508531696
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
January 21, 2014, 05:56:30 AM
 #2

Powered risers are so that you don't pull too much power through your MB. If each GPU pulls 25W, a 6 GPU rig means you'll pulling 150W through a board that's not designed to have that much power running through it. Things get hot, and they fry.

The Pro BTC MB has 2 separate molex connectors for supplying extra 12V power to the MB, specifically to the PCIe lanes. It's designed so you won't have to use powered risers.

I mean, you still could if you wanted to, but it'd be kinda pointless.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
ohya?
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
January 21, 2014, 01:08:39 PM
 #3

Yes always use powered risers so shit don't melt
wpgdeez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 04:12:08 AM
 #4

I wouldn't bother. I have a G3 sniper quad 7970 setup with extra power for the mobo and have been running that rig 24/7 for 9 months without a single problem. Im using x16 unpowered risers on all of them.
Ratman2050
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81



View Profile
February 03, 2014, 04:59:54 AM
 #5

Okay so I am running 6 7950's right now and I have a 1000w and 700w psu running. I plugged in all 6 cards and and I have the 4 pin molex going into the 2 slots in the board, it turns out only 4 or 5 card will run out of the 6 for some reason.

I ended up having to use 4 powered risers and leave 2 unpowered for all 6 to work, I might be able to get away with 3 powered and 3 unpowered but w/e. It looks like you still need powered for this board...

Feeling Lucky?

1AV6Qjiwhd5X9XAQ14jjiWHnGGLYFYZv5v
twistedtrick
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
February 03, 2014, 07:17:38 PM
 #6

Wait, so you're saying the motherboard with the word "BTC" in it turned out to be a gimmick of sorts? No way!

Jokes aside, I was really hoping unpowered risers would work fine with this board as I am going to order parts this week and would love a motherboard that works great out of the box with more than 4 GPU but I am having a lot of trouble finding something like that.

Ratman2050
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81



View Profile
February 03, 2014, 07:22:52 PM
 #7

It works great out of the box with the right driver it recognizes 6 GPUs, and I think if you plug the 2 molex into the board you can run 4 GPUs unpowered, but after that you might need powered..

Feeling Lucky?

1AV6Qjiwhd5X9XAQ14jjiWHnGGLYFYZv5v
lorbas
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 05:54:06 PM
 #8

@Ratman2050: wich Driver Version are you using to run 6 Cards?
Ratman2050
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81



View Profile
February 08, 2014, 08:09:12 PM
 #9

@Ratman2050: wich Driver Version are you using to run 6 Cards?

13.1 driver. The driver is from this thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=193695.msg2526454#msg2526454

Here is the link: https://www.dropbox.com/s/1hoxkz0y8fe933g/13-1_vista_win7_win8_64_dd_ccc_whql%20Working.exe

Feeling Lucky?

1AV6Qjiwhd5X9XAQ14jjiWHnGGLYFYZv5v
lorbas
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 09:49:38 PM
 #10

Thanks! Have you encountered any issues when using powered risers with your h61 pro btc? Cause I have. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=454205.0

I did not attach the molex plugs onto the mobo, only onto the powered risers.
Ratman2050
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81



View Profile
February 10, 2014, 04:20:36 AM
 #11

Thanks! Have you encountered any issues when using powered risers with your h61 pro btc? Cause I have. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=454205.0

I did not attach the molex plugs onto the mobo, only onto the powered risers.


Yeah one of my mobos failed because I had a voltage issue. Idk what the real problem is maybe something to do with the rails and powered risers but I thnk from now on I am only gonna power 3 cards out of 6, and the 3 cards I power will be the ones I connect to the mobo.

Feeling Lucky?

1AV6Qjiwhd5X9XAQ14jjiWHnGGLYFYZv5v
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
February 10, 2014, 05:22:42 AM
 #12

I really like the H81, i just wish i was able to get all non/powered.  After multiple testing I was able to get 5 cards running good with non-powered risers.  One card no matter what with non-powered one seems to run around 80khs (all cards are 280x's) so that is horrible.   As soon as parts get here Monday splitting between two motherboards.  Using two corsair RM 1000's as PSU's.  

Windows 8.1, all latest drivers.
InCoinsITrust
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
February 10, 2014, 03:03:45 PM
 #13

I really like the H81, i just wish i was able to get all non/powered.  After multiple testing I was able to get 5 cards running good with non-powered risers.  One card no matter what with non-powered one seems to run around 80khs (all cards are 280x's) so that is horrible.   As soon as parts get here Monday splitting between two motherboards.  Using two corsair RM 1000's as PSU's.  

Windows 8.1, all latest drivers.

Is it better with powered riser?
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
February 10, 2014, 03:43:55 PM
 #14

I really like the H81, i just wish i was able to get all non/powered.  After multiple testing I was able to get 5 cards running good with non-powered risers.  One card no matter what with non-powered one seems to run around 80khs (all cards are 280x's) so that is horrible.   As soon as parts get here Monday splitting between two motherboards.  Using two corsair RM 1000's as PSU's.  

Windows 8.1, all latest drivers.

Is it better with powered riser?

Hoping to find that out soon when some hardware hopefully arrives (hopefully today).  All  my powered risers were in use and didn't want to take apart working rigs.  My review so far is good motherboard, but a little over hyped from them.  Looking back I should have just used all usb riser's and gotten the extra distance on risers.
TWO HOOTS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
February 13, 2014, 02:12:57 AM
 #15

Stupid question...

Can I powered risers without plugging them into power? Will they operate just as unpowered risers would?
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile
February 13, 2014, 05:35:15 AM
 #16

Stupid question...

Can I powered risers without plugging them into power? Will they operate just as unpowered risers would?

No make sure to plug them in.  I wish we could as i would just use USB risers for everything. 

A update was able to get ALL working.  One card still runs slower then others 600ish isntead of 700ish.  But much better then the 80 i was getting.  Turned out i disabled and then enabled devices one by one it worked.  So far 5+ hours up and running.

Will be splitting between two rigs tomorrow adding another card. 

So motherboard can do 6 unpowered with a lot of messing around.  Looking back 5 with powered usb risers might have been way to go.  But I cant complain with them mining away dodge.
skuser
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 291


View Profile
February 13, 2014, 06:21:25 AM
 #17

Stupid question...

Can I powered risers without plugging them into power? Will they operate just as unpowered risers would?

I am running 2 rigs with powered risers without plugging them into power without any problems. I have only 3 cards per rig though...

TWO HOOTS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
February 13, 2014, 06:38:14 AM
 #18

Another question. I'm running a AX1200i and some of the power supply's PCIe cables have two PCIe adapters coming off one cable. My 270's have two PCIe plugs. Can I power that card with the one cable or do they need separate cables for each plug?
joeventura
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
February 18, 2014, 12:58:55 AM
 #19

H81 running 3 R9 7970s with NON Powered Risers.

These boards SPECIFICALLY have a power plug on the motherboard that you plug into that allows you to run unpowered risers.

Did you ask ASROCK? They made these board for mining.

BitCoinRateWatcher.com One stop for latest rates from MtGox, Bitstamp, CampBx, Coinbase and Bitpay all on one mobile friendly screen.
Equate
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
February 18, 2014, 04:08:01 AM
 #20

Always use powered risers if you are using more than 3 gpus ,if not than non powered is also fine.
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!