Bitcoin Forum
April 30, 2017, 10:48:42 PM *
News: If the forum does not load normally for you, please send me a traceroute.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 4 months running miner, zero BTC generated  (Read 3227 times)
ramix
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
March 09, 2011, 01:58:28 AM
 #1

I have be doing something wrong. I setup my Ubuntu 10.10 server VM on my i7 box running ESX 4.1, firewall properly configured, block count accurate and double checked, software updated whenever I get to find a new version, and here are my stats:

    "version" : 32002,
    "balance" : 0.03000000,
    "blocks" : 112804,
    "connections" : 42,
    "proxy" : "",
    "generate" : true,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "difficulty" : 55590.23763914,
    "hashespersec" : 2124078,
    "testnet" : false,
    "keypoololdest" : 1293816129,
    "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
    "errors" : ""

The VM has a single core allocated, as it's mostly for testing. I got 0.05 BTC from the fountain before it went dry but I really see no movement. Of course I understand a lot of people out there is mining, but I think after 4 months I should see at least a BTC penny...

Any thoughts?
1493592522
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493592522

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493592522
Reply with quote  #2

1493592522
Report to moderator
1493592522
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493592522

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493592522
Reply with quote  #2

1493592522
Report to moderator
1493592522
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493592522

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493592522
Reply with quote  #2

1493592522
Report to moderator
Goat says: "Bitcoin is NOT Illegal in Thailand. There is no law against Bitcoin in Thailand!"
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1493592522
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493592522

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493592522
Reply with quote  #2

1493592522
Report to moderator
1493592522
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493592522

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493592522
Reply with quote  #2

1493592522
Report to moderator
1493592522
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493592522

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493592522
Reply with quote  #2

1493592522
Report to moderator
BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile
March 09, 2011, 02:30:09 AM
 #2

you'll never see a BTC penny when mining on your own,
you'll either see 50BTC, or none.
if it takes you longer then the next ~100k blocks to create 1 block,
you'll either see 25BTC, or none.

you'll actually only ever see BTC pennies (or anything at your hashrate), if you join a mining-pool.

Kiv
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162



View Profile
March 09, 2011, 02:31:48 AM
 #3

From the generation calculator here, you may as well not bother with just an i7. At 2 MHash:

Average   1301 days, 1 hour, 23 minutes

GUIMiner - get started easily mining Bitcoins on your GPU or CPU
Donate to support work on GUIMiner: 1MDDh2h4cAZDafgc94mr9q95dhRYcJbNQo
or YouTipIt
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
March 09, 2011, 03:03:38 AM
 #4

From the generation calculator here, you may as well not bother with just an i7. At 2 MHash:

Average   1301 days, 1 hour, 23 minutes

He's only running on one thread on the i7!

Generally CPU mining is worthless; if you REALLY want to do it, join a pool.

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
M4v3R
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 607



View Profile
March 09, 2011, 07:37:35 AM
 #5

You, sir, just wasted a whole lot of electricity for nothing...
caveden
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106



View Profile
March 09, 2011, 08:41:07 AM
 #6

The CPU mining option should be removed from the default client...

18rZYyWcafwD86xvLrfuxWG5xEMMWUtVkL
srb123
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
March 09, 2011, 08:52:21 AM
 #7

I left my cpu miner (E8500) going in january by accident, after not generating anything since October. I got 2 blocks in 6 days!

You couldn't even calculate the luck involved in doing that, so I quit while i was 'ahead'.

My advice, cut your loss.
ramix
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
March 09, 2011, 07:56:41 PM
 #8

Thanks everybody. This really helps me understand better the reality and current state of the process. As I said, I really did this mostly as a test. My electricity is free any way as I have a fairly large solar installation in my house (more than I need).

I'll start next exploring what I can do using a dedicated computer an a few Tesla cards just for the fun of it. Thanks again!
riX
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 327



View Profile
March 09, 2011, 08:18:09 PM
 #9

Thanks everybody. This really helps me understand better the reality and current state of the process. As I said, I really did this mostly as a test. My electricity is free any way as I have a fairly large solar installation in my house (more than I need).

I'll start next exploring what I can do using a dedicated computer an a few Tesla cards just for the fun of it. Thanks again!

If you have free electricity, you could sell it to people who want to put a mining computer at your place.. Easier than to sell your surplus electricity on the energy market, if that's even possible..

FatherMcGruder
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile WWW
March 09, 2011, 09:10:58 PM
 #10

The CPU mining option should be removed from the default client...
I disagree. Why not make it easy to play the lottery?

Use my Trade Hill referral code: TH-R11519

Check out bitcoinity.org and Ripple.

Shameless display of my bitcoin address:
1Hio4bqPUZnhr2SWi4WgsnVU1ph3EkusvH
snedie
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
March 16, 2011, 12:02:58 AM
 #11

The CPU mining option should be removed from the default client...
I disagree. Why not make it easy to play the lottery?

Because the lottery is $1 each week to play. An entire PC would be considerably more XD
FatherMcGruder
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile WWW
March 16, 2011, 01:48:56 AM
 #12

Because the lottery is $1 each week to play. An entire PC would be considerably more XD
I already own a computer, and it stays on to seeding torrents. With Bitcoin, you play the lottery every ten minutes, and someone will win every ten minutes. In that way, it's more like a raffle than a lottery. I can't imagine that it costs very much to play for anyone who already has a PC that stays on most of the time.

Use my Trade Hill referral code: TH-R11519

Check out bitcoinity.org and Ripple.

Shameless display of my bitcoin address:
1Hio4bqPUZnhr2SWi4WgsnVU1ph3EkusvH
snedie
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
March 17, 2011, 05:22:45 PM
 #13

Because the lottery is $1 each week to play. An entire PC would be considerably more XD
I already own a computer, and it stays on to seeding torrents. With Bitcoin, you play the lottery every ten minutes, and someone will win every ten minutes. In that way, it's more like a raffle than a lottery. I can't imagine that it costs very much to play for anyone who already has a PC that stays on most of the time.

Well the fact an i7 CPU can draw 200Watts suggests otherwsie  Grin. But yes if it's just a small CPU drawing 50Watts I suppose it's a good way to make a little money...probably less than the additional electricity costs though.

Are you aware that all torrents are been tracked btw?

Don't believe me, see the "proof of concept" video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZFXKz2NCPc
Mahkul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


Be silent, or be silenced.


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2011, 05:46:40 PM
 #14

Just imagine a 80286 or even an XT machine mining bitcoins and finding a block. Smiley

Bitalo.com coming soon!

1MAHKULzqZb4evFFg9157LvnJhJQQbeYo7
TenthReality
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76


View Profile
March 17, 2011, 08:48:24 PM
 #15

Just imagine a 80286 or even an XT machine mining bitcoins and finding a block. Smiley

I f'd up and had a virtual machine running on a mid-range P3 that was generating and it found a block, I was beyond impressed. 0.4Kh/s.
FatherMcGruder
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile WWW
March 18, 2011, 12:56:17 AM
 #16

Are you aware that all torrents are been tracked btw?

Don't believe me, see the "proof of concept" video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZFXKz2NCPc
Meh. It's partly a matter of civil disobedience for me. I see no reason why I must use my senses and my labor according to some "intellectual property" holder's terms instead of my own. If you don't want me to experience your creation, keep it a God damn secret.

Use my Trade Hill referral code: TH-R11519

Check out bitcoinity.org and Ripple.

Shameless display of my bitcoin address:
1Hio4bqPUZnhr2SWi4WgsnVU1ph3EkusvH
snedie
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
March 18, 2011, 10:56:35 AM
 #17

Are you aware that all torrents are been tracked btw?

Don't believe me, see the "proof of concept" video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZFXKz2NCPc
Meh. It's partly a matter of civil disobedience for me. I see no reason why I must use my senses and my labor according to some "intellectual property" holder's terms instead of my own. If you don't want me to experience your creation, keep it a God damn secret.

Haha yer, same opinion man. These TB hard drives don't fill themselves  Cool
Anonymous
Guest

March 18, 2011, 11:33:59 AM
 #18

Are you aware that all torrents are been tracked btw?

Don't believe me, see the "proof of concept" video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZFXKz2NCPc
Meh. It's partly a matter of civil disobedience for me. I see no reason why I must use my senses and my labor according to some "intellectual property" holder's terms instead of my own. If you don't want me to experience your creation, keep it a God damn secret.

Haha yer, same opinion man. These TB hard drives don't fill themselves  Cool


I wonder when lawyers will start making movies and other content so they can sue the people who download them.....

Entrapment ftw.
snedie
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
March 19, 2011, 12:15:42 PM
 #19

Are you aware that all torrents are been tracked btw?

Don't believe me, see the "proof of concept" video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZFXKz2NCPc
Meh. It's partly a matter of civil disobedience for me. I see no reason why I must use my senses and my labor according to some "intellectual property" holder's terms instead of my own. If you don't want me to experience your creation, keep it a God damn secret.

Haha yer, same opinion man. These TB hard drives don't fill themselves  Cool


I wonder when lawyers will start making movies and other content so they can sue the people who download them.....

Entrapment ftw.

I think I would just pirate that shit for the lulz of pissing them off. If I was ever to go "Down" for it, I'd do it in style "UK man found to have £2m of law firm cinematic materials on computer - sentenced for 500 life times inprisonment)
Pander
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
March 26, 2011, 09:07:43 PM
 #20

Can the calculater be included in the default client? In that way people that start mining know what to expect.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!