Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 11:45:52 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Very high internet usage with 2 block cubes 30ghs  (Read 663 times)
late_voyager
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 09:35:50 AM
 #1

Help,
I am using 2.5gb a day on internet.
I have 2 block cubes running at 30ghs
Connected to proxy on windows 7 to btc guild.

and 2 7950s total 500mhz. (stuff is on low as away from home)
running cgminer.

Seem to be using 10/16k a sec
nothing else running on pc

1513554352
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513554352

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513554352
Reply with quote  #2

1513554352
Report to moderator
1513554352
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513554352

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513554352
Reply with quote  #2

1513554352
Report to moderator
1513554352
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513554352

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513554352
Reply with quote  #2

1513554352
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513554352
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513554352

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513554352
Reply with quote  #2

1513554352
Report to moderator
iglasses
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 09:12:11 PM
 #2

Help,
I am using 2.5gb a day on internet.
I have 2 block cubes running at 30ghs
Connected to proxy on windows 7 to btc guild.

and 2 7950s total 500mhz. (stuff is on low as away from home)
running cgminer.

Seem to be using 10/16k a sec
nothing else running on pc



"nothing else running on pc"
Not possible.
Stop mining or move them to a different internet connection for a short period and see what happens to your usage...my guess is it will not change at all.
Mining uses a negligible amount of b/w so something else must be up with that PC or the pipe (another machine on the local network).

Internet connection:
How many internet connected devices (PCs, laptops, Printers, Smart Phones, Game Systems, toasters, etc.):

WiFi in house?  Password protected?

That's where I would start at least.

I only have a signature because I'm allowed.
jamesc760
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
January 28, 2014, 09:17:46 PM
 #3

From my experience, I would guessitimate the OP's setup using about 10 MB of data A DAY at most.
late_voyager
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
January 30, 2014, 01:28:39 PM
 #4

Hi,
thanks for the advice, seems it was the software i was using to measure usage was lying.....
used other software and about 16ks, so thanks again
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!