Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2017, 08:41:01 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: problems with msi  (Read 546 times)
Uniphase21
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 04:08:37 PM
 #1

I am mining LTC.

I have the following motherboard and it does not work with 1x risers ( I have tried 10 different risers that work on my other machines)

I can get the machine mining with the cards direct connected to the motherboard.

FYI I have a gigabyte motherboard and I can get everything working there, same card, same power supply, same risers but on this MSI board it will not turn on or boot, but again it will turn on the with card direct connected to the motherboard.

Anyone having any problems, is there something I should be changing? PCI settings

MB MSI|Z87-GD65 GAMING Z87 1150 RT

I appreciate the help.
1513370461
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513370461

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513370461
Reply with quote  #2

1513370461
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513370461
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513370461

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513370461
Reply with quote  #2

1513370461
Report to moderator
1513370461
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513370461

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513370461
Reply with quote  #2

1513370461
Report to moderator
AvalonMiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84

Im a Cloud Miner!


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2014, 11:42:46 PM
 #2

Is it maybe because they need to be powered risers with that motherboard?

F9F0F
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 11:53:38 PM
 #3

Since it seems like you have experience with usage of riser, this might sound like a silly suggestion, but are you sure you have the 1-x riser plugged inn the correct way?
Try plugging it into one of the 1-x slots on the motherboard as it shouldn't be possible to plug it wrongly into that slot.


Btw, your post should probably have been posted under tech support.
msdigital
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 12:35:33 AM
 #4

change your motherboard bios settings under pci from auto to gen 2.0, and they should work
Uniphase21
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 01:56:43 PM
 #5

Thanks for the suggestion of changing the PCI to gen2. Can I ask how or why that would work? I want to understand rather than just do something and fix it.

Thanks in advance.
erono
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 02:32:28 PM
 #6

I'm running both in my slots and they're 100% fine.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!