Bitcoin Forum
September 26, 2016, 07:03:21 PM *
News: Due to DDoS attacks, there may be periodic downtime.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin 0.3.2 released  (Read 5974 times)
satoshi
Founder
Sr. Member
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
July 17, 2010, 09:35:51 PM
 #1

Download links available now on bitcoin.org.  Everyone should upgrade to this version.

- Added a simple security safeguard that locks-in the block chain up to this point.
- Reduced addr messages to save bandwidth now that there are plenty of nodes to connect to.
- Spanish translation by milkiway.
- French translation by aidos.

The security safeguard makes it so even if someone does have more than 50% of the network's CPU power, they can't try to go back and redo the block chain before yesterday.  (if you have this update)

I'll probably put a checkpoint in each version from now on.  Once the software has settled what the widely accepted block chain is, there's no point in leaving open the unwanted non-zero possibility of revision months later.
1474916601
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474916601

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474916601
Reply with quote  #2

1474916601
Report to moderator
1474916601
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474916601

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474916601
Reply with quote  #2

1474916601
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1474916601
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474916601

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474916601
Reply with quote  #2

1474916601
Report to moderator
llama
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103


View Profile
July 17, 2010, 09:56:25 PM
 #2

Satoshi,

The "block lock" is an interesting idea, and I'll have to think more about it.  However, it's important that you don't lock all the way up the very latest block.  Otherwise, the attacker could generate a fake block (or a few) right before you happen to lock it, and then his attack would be far easier than it would have been without the block lock.

Instead, you should only lock in everything except the last thousand or so blocks (the exact number should be a subject of future inquiry).  Maybe this is actually what you did?

Also, I'm assuming that the block lock means that the blocks will also come prepackaged with the client.  Is this so?

satoshi
Founder
Sr. Member
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
July 17, 2010, 10:54:24 PM
 #3

However, it's important that you don't lock all the way up the very latest block.  Otherwise, the attacker could generate a fake block (or a few) right before you happen to lock it, and then his attack would be far easier than it would have been without the block lock.
I went about 200 blocks back.  The block chain was a clean straight line without branches, and there was only one known version of the locked block.

Also, I'm assuming that the block lock means that the blocks will also come prepackaged with the client.  Is this so?
Sorry, not yet, but I do want to make the initial block download faster.
kiav
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87



View Profile WWW
July 18, 2010, 11:40:45 AM
 #4

...Everyone should upgrade to this version...
I use 0.3.0 beta for Windows.

  • Do I need to deinstall it before 0.3.2 installation?
  • What about my bitcoins I already generated? Do I need to backup them and restore after installation?
SmokeTooMuch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 873


View Profile
July 18, 2010, 12:04:33 PM
 #5


Quote
Do I need to deinstall it before 0.3.2 installation?
No, you don't.
Quote
What about my bitcoins I already generated? Do I need to backup them and restore after installation?
No, you don't, but it's always good to make a backup.

Date Registered: 2009-12-10 | I'm using GPG, pm me for my public key. | Bitcoin on Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/btc
You like what I'm doing? Why don't you send me a coin: 17Pj8jpUgY6qTaKgiopL5U48zxU4rTrkuB
milkiway
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
July 18, 2010, 12:43:28 PM
 #6

- Spanish translation by milkiway.

It looks great Cheesy
Traktion
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
July 18, 2010, 12:43:47 PM
 #7

FYI, 0.3.2 on Linux (Ubunu 10.04) the task bar icon no longer appears. It seems to run fine though.
AndrewBuck
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
July 18, 2010, 02:14:04 PM
 #8

Traktion, you could try running the client with -minimizetotray that seemed to work for me (10.04 as well).  It will start minimized there so you need to click on it to get the main window but it seems to work after that.

-Buck

My Bitcoin address   1Nwx4WqdWqWSy2iQN7Tfo7ugzZv56JczZi
lachesis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
July 18, 2010, 02:28:14 PM
 #9

I went about 200 blocks back.  The block chain was a clean straight line without branches, and there was only one known version of the locked block.
Cool! How exactly are you analyzing the topography of the chain?

Bitcoin Calculator | Scallion | GPG Key | WoT Rating | 1QGacAtYA7E8V3BAiM7sgvLg7PZHk5WnYc
Traktion
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
July 18, 2010, 03:18:12 PM
 #10

Traktion, you could try running the client with -minimizetotray that seemed to work for me (10.04 as well).  It will start minimized there so you need to click on it to get the main window but it seems to work after that.

-Buck

Ah, that sorted it! Thanks! I guess the default has changed between the versions.
knightmb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Timekoin - Save Electricity, Don't Waste It!


View Profile WWW
July 18, 2010, 06:19:51 PM
 #11

Anyone know where the changelist is, I'm curious to what was fixed/changed/etc.

satoshi
Founder
Sr. Member
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
July 18, 2010, 06:58:21 PM
 #12

The change list is basically encompassed by what's listed in the first message.  Everyone should upgrade to get the important security improvements.

Minimizing to tray had at least 3 different glitches and bugs on Linux, including a crash one, so I disabled it again.  You can still re-enable the option with "-minimizetotray" if you want to use it anyway.  The bugs/glitches are somewhere in wxWidgets or GTK or Gnome and I don't know how to fix them.  Sorry, I just don't know what else to do, it's just too glitchy and buggy to have as a mainline feature.
mizerydearia
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
July 19, 2010, 10:33:59 AM
 #13

I haven't used 0.3.1 yet, but I can confirm in 0.3.0 trayicon worked in my KDE environment.  I could see an icon present.  However, I do not see an icon present with v0.3.2.  I do see a space for it, but it is blank, and I cannot left/right click on it.  Once I minimize bitcoin v0.3.2 I cannot see it anymore.  Can this be fixed?
tabshift
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
July 20, 2010, 01:03:54 AM
 #14

The 'About' dialog box on the Mac OS X version still shows 'Version 0.3.0 beta' instead of 0.3.2.
mizerydearia
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
August 02, 2010, 07:01:02 AM
 #15

The icon STILL doesn't appear in KDE environment anymore ever since 0.3.0 and not in 0.3.7.  What happened?  This is a nuisance because whenever I minimize Bitcoin I cannot rrecover it and must kill the process and restart it.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!