Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2017, 11:50:24 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: bitcoin.conf  (Read 1405 times)
NBWilley
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 12:39:06 AM
 #1

Can someone tell me what this is and how to set up?
I created one .conf file when I tried to join p2pool, but have switched back to mining with the BTC Guild.

This is what is looks like now

server=1
rpcuser=xxxxxxxxx
rpcpassword=I71pMDMcB6hfHwNyvn1KJKaWeLMDvJn7ibvBuXMRPcS8IVee9SwwIuHF1N37ZTCuRZQTICp6McncJoiW2TxNrsz9A7oAGlcbs5vr

fyi...x's replaced username & password is not real

Can/should I still use this or do I have or edit or even delete?
1512993024
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512993024

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512993024
Reply with quote  #2

1512993024
Report to moderator
"There should not be any signed int. If you've found a signed int somewhere, please tell me (within the next 25 years please) and I'll change it to unsigned int." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1512993024
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512993024

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512993024
Reply with quote  #2

1512993024
Report to moderator
1512993024
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512993024

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512993024
Reply with quote  #2

1512993024
Report to moderator
NBWilley
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 06:57:43 PM
 #2

PLEASE somebody help me understand....

I find pages a lot that tell you about the .conf, but I just don't get it. I know my way around the computer, but not the programming side.

In the example.conf file in bfgminer 3.10.0 win64 this is what shown

{"pools" : [   {      "url" : "http://url1:8332",      "user" : "user1",      "pass" : "pass1"   },   {      "url" : "http://url2:8344",      "pool-proxy" : "socks5://127.0.0.1:1080",      "user" : "user2",   "pass" : "pass2"   },   {      "url" : "http://url3:8332",      "user" : "user3",      "pass" : "pass3"   }],"intensity" : "d,9,9,9","gpu-engine" : "0-985,0-950,0-960,0-1000","gpu-fan" : "0-85,0-85,0-85,0-85","gpu-memclock" : "860,825,835,875","gpu-powertune" : "20,20,20,20","temp-cutoff" : "95,95,95,95","temp-overheat" : "85,85,85,85","temp-target" : "75,75,75,75","auto-fan" : true,"auto-gpu" : true,"expiry" : 120,"failover-only" : true,"gpu-threads" : 2,"log" : 5,"queue" : 1,"scan-time" : 60,"temp-hysteresis" : 3,"scan-serial" : [   "/dev/ttyUSB0",   "/dev/ttyUSB1",   "/dev/ttyUSB2","/dev/ttyUSB3"],"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"}

I have no idea what this means. Do I need this file? What goes in it? 
BookLover
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 535


^Bitcoin Library of Congress.


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 11:59:37 PM
 #3

What miner are you using?  What hardware are you mining with?

NBWilley
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
January 30, 2014, 01:26:22 PM
 #4

right now im using bfgniner on an ASUS computer with NVIDIA GTX 660
gpu mining to start, but considering a BFL 50GH/s miner
hurricandave
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 932



View Profile
February 03, 2014, 06:48:17 AM
 #5

bfgminer will start if you open the bfgminer.exe file. It will walk you thru entering the pool url, your user name, your password. you can then use the letters it displays to manage your gpu. look thru the different options you will find one that has write config file. Hit that and rename if you want. Its not necessary but can make starting the miner quicker and you won't have to re-enter everything each time you start. You will need to tell your machine what to open the config file with if you want to view or change what's in it, Notepad is the easiest and is most likely already in your OS.
NBWilley
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
February 06, 2014, 03:17:42 AM
 #6

well that sorta makes sense, but I already now how to start mining in the pool i'm in.

is this the same .conf file located at AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin?

what does the .conf file need to include?

looks like this now

server=1
rpcuser=the user name for my BTC Guild miner_1
rpcpassword=the password I have for BTC Guild

Quote
Hit that and rename if you want

say what?

Quote
can make starting the miner quicker and you won't have to re-enter everything each time you start


how? do I do that once the .conf is made?
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2184


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
February 06, 2014, 04:06:24 PM
 #7

No just leave it alone. Don't even start bitcoind. Use qt only when needed.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!