Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2017, 06:35:31 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Low hash rate?  (Read 838 times)
tmwyatt99
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 01:08:44 AM
 #1

I just started BitMinter client and I hooked everything up. Right now my has rate is 0.01 and the approx minting speed is 0.0000 per day. Does this mean nothing will every happen and I'll have 0 forever? Will this ever change? Is there a way to change this? Thanks!
1513233331
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513233331

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513233331
Reply with quote  #2

1513233331
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513233331
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513233331

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513233331
Reply with quote  #2

1513233331
Report to moderator
1513233331
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513233331

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513233331
Reply with quote  #2

1513233331
Report to moderator
Cards4Coin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2014, 01:25:08 AM
 #2

What are you using to mine?  If it is just your CPU than that sounds about right, CPU mining is completely worthless at this point.  Even a single GPU will not generate much if any BTC.  If you want to get into mining you will need to spend some time with profitability calculators and decide if its worth it to you to try and invest in dedicated mining hardware.  Otherwise it is a much better use of your money to just buy BTC.  Even if the price never goes up at least you are not burning money on your power bill mining fruitlessly.

Cards4Coin.com - low fees, great selection.
nxtar
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2014, 05:05:46 AM
 #3

I've jumped into playing with mining ... there are a couple of approaches that I have tried but nothing is super successful.

I dropped a few bucks on a 333MH/s miner and it doesnt make a whole lot of BTC.

Buying some GHs from CEX.IO hasnt yielded much BTC either, I have however implemented the re-investor to purchase GHS every time I receive BTC and NMC.

My CPU (3rd gen i5) is currently mining an Scrypt currency an is capable of a whopping 20MH/s

I guess it's as true with bitcoin as with everything else. You have to spend money to make money.

Free cryptocoins http://www.getcoin2.com
cz_miner
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 08:17:23 AM
 #4

I've jumped into playing with mining ... there are a couple of approaches that I have tried but nothing is super successful.

I dropped a few bucks on a 333MH/s miner and it doesnt make a whole lot of BTC.

Buying some GHs from CEX.IO hasnt yielded much BTC either, I have however implemented the re-investor to purchase GHS every time I receive BTC and NMC.

My CPU (3rd gen i5) is currently mining an Scrypt currency an is capable of a whopping 20MH/s

I guess it's as true with bitcoin as with everything else. You have to spend money to make money.

20 Mh/S on Scrypt is a giant speed, especially for CPU. You need like 25 GPU cards to gain such speed.
Sonny
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 05:09:49 PM
 #5

I've jumped into playing with mining ... there are a couple of approaches that I have tried but nothing is super successful.

I dropped a few bucks on a 333MH/s miner and it doesnt make a whole lot of BTC.

Buying some GHs from CEX.IO hasnt yielded much BTC either, I have however implemented the re-investor to purchase GHS every time I receive BTC and NMC.

My CPU (3rd gen i5) is currently mining an Scrypt currency an is capable of a whopping 20MH/s

I guess it's as true with bitcoin as with everything else. You have to spend money to make money.

20 Mh/S on Scrypt is a giant speed, especially for CPU. You need like 25 GPU cards to gain such speed.

Sounds like a typo to me.
somenormalguy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 06:36:26 PM
 #6

You could always mine alt-coins with the 333mh miner (I'm guessing it's a block eruptor). Or you can try selling it on ebay  Grin

Free bitcoins every hour! Win up to 100x! http://freebitco.in/?r=219839
Ritual
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 06:51:11 PM
 #7

Yeah, he clearly means KHash.

But wrt to original question....need more detail.

Newbie oriented mining site - http://cryptoexperiment.wordpress.com/ --- Free BTC - http://freebitco.in/?r=231531
nxtar
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile WWW
February 14, 2014, 07:30:09 AM
 #8

Thanks for correcting me..
I find that I often mix up KH/s and MH/s ...
yes my i5 is right around 20KH/s
 Grin

Free cryptocoins http://www.getcoin2.com
Sonny
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868


View Profile
February 15, 2014, 06:43:40 AM
 #9

Thanks for correcting me..
I find that I often mix up KH/s and MH/s ...
yes my i5 is right around 20KH/s
 Grin

I see.

BTW, comparing with cpu-mining scrypt coins, I guess you could get better results with cpu-only coins.
FYR: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=379601.0
AndrewGucci
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
February 15, 2014, 08:45:57 AM
 #10

Cpu only coins is for you, if you want to earn something.
activebiz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


View Profile
February 15, 2014, 08:51:24 AM
 #11

U should Try mining on a pool.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!