Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 12:49:14 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: help needed in fpga (actually enlightment and instructions...)  (Read 906 times)
stergium
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
September 13, 2011, 09:32:55 AM
 #1

reading through the forum i stumpled upon a claim that someone could use a fpga card from a dvr for mining..
and i remembered a dvr that is presumably dead in my office. long story short i have a pci card with an altera cyclone chip ep1g20f400c8 .
Does anybody knows if this can be used for mining purposes?
can someone instruct me how to do that?
1481374154
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481374154

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481374154
Reply with quote  #2

1481374154
Report to moderator
1481374154
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481374154

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481374154
Reply with quote  #2

1481374154
Report to moderator
1481374154
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481374154

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481374154
Reply with quote  #2

1481374154
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
makomk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


View Profile
September 13, 2011, 06:40:13 PM
 #2

It's probably an EP1C20 at a guess. The short answer is maybe, but it's probably not worth the hassle...

Quad XC6SLX150 Board: 860 MHash/s or so.
SIGS ABOUT BUTTERFLY LABS ARE PAID ADS
ElectricMucus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


Drama Junkie


View Profile
September 13, 2011, 08:12:53 PM
 #3

If you set the Logic Blocks in direct relation (which is only a very rough estimate) you could hope for 10-15mh from it. But with fpgas it isn't all that easy since you have a certain amount of minimal space for a function to actually run.

First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they keep laughing, then they start choking on their laughter, and then they go and catch their breath. Then they start laughing even more.
stergium
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
September 13, 2011, 10:31:27 PM
 #4

ty for replying.
when my total hash rate is no more than 130 mh/s , 10-15mhs is good....
ok. so i have that card in pci. what can i do with it ? how? do i need a special driver? software to send to the card what to run?
ElectricMucus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


Drama Junkie


View Profile
September 13, 2011, 10:42:59 PM
 #5

If you are asking these question there would be a long road ahead of you. In short you have to access the jtag interface if that is a development board you would most likely have some pin headers for it if it is not you would need to solder a wire to those pins in some way.
idk how the interface is implement in the open source fpga miner but you would have at least adapt it specifically for you board.

just look up the relevant thread goto fpgamining.com and ask the people involved in this project for help, I am just an interested bystander at this point Wink

First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they keep laughing, then they start choking on their laughter, and then they go and catch their breath. Then they start laughing even more.
stergium
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
September 14, 2011, 07:25:34 AM
 #6

i'm also a bystander on this...
so , with as much as i've gathered there is no way to "send" instructions to a pci card without a soldering iron , and a cable with direct access to the board. fpga mining is not applicable to fpga cards in general.(and probably will never be)
It was a question that i had to be clarified. Smiley
thanks for the info.
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
September 16, 2011, 08:14:48 PM
 #7

This is back-seat-driver, off the cuff stuff, with-no-experience-in-these-things, but:

The vendor that produced this card likely a) has their FPGA instructions stored in a memory chip, and usually these are re-programmable (aka 'firmware update').  If not, it means they're b) loading the instruction set on the fly, usually as bytecode contained in their driver software.

If the card happens to have an open-source driver, and you're really lucky, it may be possible to figure out either a) how to update the firmware with your own instruction set, or b) figure out how they load it on the fly, and load your instructions instead.

If you're unlucky, they don't have any open-source driver or equivalent, or the bytecode they use is signed in a particular way to avoid people doing exactly what you're trying to do.  This is more common in, say, a smartphone than an off-the-shelf video recorder card.  In either of those cases, your only choice is to interface with the FPGA directly as EM suggests.

Regardless, it's going to take some work and a lot of trial-and-error to get anywhere with it.  By the time you do, the 10-15mh/s may no longer be worth the power it consumes.

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!