Bitcoin Forum
May 24, 2024, 01:16:59 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin Survey: Participants Needed  (Read 583 times)
sehdal (OP)

Activity: 20
Merit: 0

View Profile
January 29, 2014, 04:02:30 PM

Hello all,

I am a researcher at the University of Manchester in the UK and I have a long standing interest in Bitcoin, as well as owning some of the currency. There remains lots of further research to be undertaken into Bitcoin from different angles and I have a particular interest in the political challenge to the existing money system that is posed by the emergence of alternative virtual currencies.

Just to give some background to my research, I have read a large number of sceptical pieces about Bitcoin from economists in a range of blogs and newspaper articles, but there has been very little work I have seen that examines those that own Bitcoin and their reasons and motivations. It strikes me that this is a major gap in the literature since we can only understand Bitcoin's future as a currency and an asset by understanding the motivations of the community around Bitcoin. For these reasons I would like to undertake a survey of members of the Bitcoin Forum with as broad a range of participants as possible, I am aiming for roughly between fifty and a hundred initially. So whether you are a small or large scale investor, whether you have been holding Bitcoin for a short or long period of time I would be really interested in your views on the currency.