Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:04:39 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining  (Read 969 times)
lukasoft
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
September 14, 2011, 02:00:02 PM
 #1

hello, I'm fairly new to mining, but I have done it before. this time I plan to optimize mining for my GPU. I have a ATI HD4530, which is a laptop GPU, but is comparable to the Desktop 4350. I understand it is a low end card, however it still should calculate hashes much faster than the CPU. My current problem is that when running poclbm-gui I only get around 1Mhash/s, and under device it only shows Intel Core 2 Duo. I'm assuming this means that hashes are being calculated with the CPU and not GPU. I do not have any other choices in the device options, and I do have openCL installed, but it does not have the GPU as a device. https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison says that the 4350 should be able to get around 6 Mhash/s, however I can't get my GPU to do the calculations. Anyone have any advice or help?
1481184279
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481184279

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481184279
Reply with quote  #2

1481184279
Report to moderator
1481184279
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481184279

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481184279
Reply with quote  #2

1481184279
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481184279
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481184279

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481184279
Reply with quote  #2

1481184279
Report to moderator
1481184279
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481184279

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481184279
Reply with quote  #2

1481184279
Report to moderator
1481184279
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481184279

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481184279
Reply with quote  #2

1481184279
Report to moderator
Nicolai Larsen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 331


Earthling


View Profile WWW
September 14, 2011, 02:03:31 PM
 #2

It is a waste to mine with that setup.

BTC: 1GUH16sneWgKuE1ArXrnYKN3njuherJQi1
J.harris
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21



View Profile
September 14, 2011, 02:28:19 PM
 #3

With the power of 7Mhash/s you will have made $8.35 in a year. 

http://bitcoin.web-share.nl/?q=7&unit=m&currency=usd&fee=0

Use that if you want a quick idea of how much Mhash/s you will need to make it seem profitable to you!

Good luck!

successful transactions: superfastkyle
scammer: JimzoLorenzo (bitmit)
madnod
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
September 14, 2011, 06:29:38 PM
 #4

not worth it, laptops are not heat friendly anyway. most likely u'll kill your laptop.
Roodemol
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
September 14, 2011, 07:03:43 PM
 #5

not worth it, laptops are not heat friendly anyway. most likely u'll kill your laptop.

Nowadays laptops have temperature sensors to monitor the different hardware units and the necessary steps (fans, cpu speed,...) are take to protect the hardware. Nevertheless, it is senseless to mine with that hardware.

Regards,
Gilles

You like my work? Feel free to send me a coin:
1JXGvtLFwTafEanEA4hwBYfRbMbgHae9Jt
RodeoX
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2114


The revolution will be monetized!


View Profile
September 14, 2011, 07:09:58 PM
 #6

I hate to be discouraging but I must agree that it will not be profitable. Still, you may want to do it just for the fun. nothing wrong with fun.

The gospel according to Satoshi - https://bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf

Free bitcoin=https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1610684
lukasoft
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
September 14, 2011, 08:31:37 PM
 #7

Everyone is talking about profitability, but there are conditions where having a high end video card is still not profitable. I'm not paying for electricity, so profit would be 100%. However I don't believe (or can't find anything leading me to believe otherwise) that this video card supports OpenCL. Also, I have numerous computers and was just starting with one. My final goal would be to run multiple computers in parallel (meaning virtually parallel, like a computer cluster) and see how much improvement is seen, as well as having them all mine individually to see how that compares to the computer cluster. So profit is not really a big goal here as much as having fun with it.
hmongotaku
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile WWW
September 14, 2011, 08:46:20 PM
 #8

i got my ati 4650 to do it.. but you need to install one beforehand, say a 4850,4870,5850 that can do opencl.. then take if off then put on your 4350. Same attempt if using 4250 integreated. Your hashing too low so ur might get alot of stales.

ThePiachu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 442



View Profile WWW
September 15, 2011, 12:12:47 AM
 #9

My laptop was mining 4,5MHash/s, didn't get me anywhere.

If you want to check how much money you will be earning/loosing, here is my bitcoin calculator:
http://tpbitcalc.appspot.com/
Just put in your speed, power consumption and cost of power, and it'll brake it all down to you.

1HWbVLhxj7bhewhyapMZpyhqWAeAhJd51E
My Bitcoin Calculator:
http://tpbitcalc.appspot.com/
b1m2x3
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
September 15, 2011, 12:27:24 AM
 #10

with btc prices how they are, You might be losing money if you get this to work.  Undecided
ThePiachu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 442



View Profile WWW
September 15, 2011, 03:10:59 PM
 #11

You can always mine while you do things you normally do, thusly minimizing your costs. Still, not really worth it at this time.

1HWbVLhxj7bhewhyapMZpyhqWAeAhJd51E
My Bitcoin Calculator:
http://tpbitcalc.appspot.com/
acolombo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
September 16, 2011, 06:13:38 PM
 #12

What do you need to begin mining? Just the client or any other program. If the latter then: what mining programs are good and/or trusted?
ThePiachu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 442



View Profile WWW
September 16, 2011, 06:20:18 PM
 #13

If you are running Windows, I`d personally recomment GUIMiner for starters:
https://bitcointalk.org/?topic=3878.0
Pretty easy to start mining with it. You probably should join a pool though, it will let you see some return quicker. I personally use http://mining.bitcoin.cz/ , but any pools listed in the GUIMiner are okay.

I think you can mine with the basic program, but it won't ever be as efficient as GUIMiner.

1HWbVLhxj7bhewhyapMZpyhqWAeAhJd51E
My Bitcoin Calculator:
http://tpbitcalc.appspot.com/
Alex Fenner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 124


View Profile
September 17, 2011, 10:11:55 PM
 #14

Aww that sucks
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!