Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 08:39:20 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Client pegs my CPU  (Read 763 times)
andrewbadr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162

MadPay.com — lowest rake of any dice game


View Profile WWW
September 14, 2011, 11:48:23 PM
 #1

The official Bitcoin client always pegs my CPU to 100% when it's running. This makes everything run slowly. Other people don't seem to have this problem. Any ideas?

Running OSX 10.6.8, client version 0.3.24-beta

madpay.com · btckink.com
1481143160
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143160

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143160
Reply with quote  #2

1481143160
Report to moderator
1481143160
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143160

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143160
Reply with quote  #2

1481143160
Report to moderator
The forum was founded in 2009 by Satoshi and Sirius. It replaced a SourceForge forum.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481143160
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143160

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143160
Reply with quote  #2

1481143160
Report to moderator
1481143160
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143160

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143160
Reply with quote  #2

1481143160
Report to moderator
1481143160
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143160

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143160
Reply with quote  #2

1481143160
Report to moderator
Raptorblaze
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
September 15, 2011, 01:09:09 AM
 #2

You could change the config file so it doesn't automatically start generating coins every time you start...CPU mining is virtually pointless now anyway

Donate: 12tBZRNcf4NaGVDzhyV1Hm1Zb2a6RdyZYH
andrewbadr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162

MadPay.com — lowest rake of any dice game


View Profile WWW
September 15, 2011, 02:12:14 AM
 #3

You could change the config file so it doesn't automatically start generating coins every time you start...CPU mining is virtually pointless now anyway


I'm pretty sure I have that option turned off. Wasn't it removed from the client anyway?

madpay.com · btckink.com
Revalin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728


165YUuQUWhBz3d27iXKxRiazQnjEtJNG9g


View Profile
September 15, 2011, 02:14:23 AM
 #4

It's removed from the settings dialog but you can still enable it in the config file or command line.

What block number does it report in the lower right?  It's normal for it to use a lot of CPU and IO until it's finished downloading and verifying the block chain.

      War is God's way of teaching Americans geography.  --Ambrose Bierce
Bitcoin is the Devil's way of teaching geeks economics.  --Revalin 165YUuQUWhBz3d27iXKxRiazQnjEtJNG9g
andrewbadr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162

MadPay.com — lowest rake of any dice game


View Profile WWW
September 15, 2011, 02:35:56 AM
 #5

What block number does it report in the lower right?  It's normal for it to use a lot of CPU and IO until it's finished downloading and verifying the block chain.

Yes, it's catching up on the block chain. If using 100% of the CPU is intentional, I guess it's just bad design.

madpay.com · btckink.com
Revalin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728


165YUuQUWhBz3d27iXKxRiazQnjEtJNG9g


View Profile
September 15, 2011, 02:38:46 AM
 #6

Verifying history just takes a lot of CPU.  The fix people are discussing is to download some pre-verified chunks to seed it to 98% and then just process the last 2%, but that's not ready yet.

      War is God's way of teaching Americans geography.  --Ambrose Bierce
Bitcoin is the Devil's way of teaching geeks economics.  --Revalin 165YUuQUWhBz3d27iXKxRiazQnjEtJNG9g
andrewbadr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162

MadPay.com — lowest rake of any dice game


View Profile WWW
September 15, 2011, 02:42:37 AM
 #7

Verifying history just takes a lot of CPU.  The fix people are discussing is to download some pre-verified chunks to seed it to 98% and then just process the last 2%, but that's not ready yet.

Another fix would be to use at most, say, 50% of CPU. I'm sure most users would prefer that to the current operation, and it's a simpler change than downloading pre-verified chunks.

madpay.com · btckink.com
ohforf
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


All your Bitcoin are belong to us


View Profile
September 15, 2011, 04:23:53 AM
 #8

Is it possible to reduce Task/Process/Thread Priority in OSX ?
Every half decent OS has Ways to do that, so there is hope.  Grin

By the way, whats your Hardware ? A faster CPU with more Cores might help a little...

The fool who knows his foolishness, is wise at least so far.
But a fool who thinks himself wise, he is called a fool indeed.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!