Bitcoin Forum
August 19, 2022, 07:30:38 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 23.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: New powered risers  (Read 590 times)
MisO69
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946
Merit: 1005


My mule don't like people laughing


View Profile
January 30, 2014, 09:24:44 PM
 #1

CRAP! and I just finished buying all of my risers, had some go bad due to mishandling. I guess I'll fix those myself.

Look what just came out! no more broken cables!!

https://www.hashratestore.com/shop/cables/usb-pci-e-riser-powered-molex-60-cm/

1660894238
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1660894238

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1660894238
Reply with quote  #2

1660894238
Report to moderator
1660894238
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1660894238

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1660894238
Reply with quote  #2

1660894238
Report to moderator
1660894238
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1660894238

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1660894238
Reply with quote  #2

1660894238
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1660894238
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1660894238

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1660894238
Reply with quote  #2

1660894238
Report to moderator
AtlantisPlatform
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 30, 2014, 09:51:50 PM
 #2

CRAP! and I just finished buying all of my risers, had some go bad due to mishandling. I guess I'll fix those myself.

Look what just came out! no more broken cables!!

https://www.hashratestore.com/shop/cables/usb-pci-e-riser-powered-molex-60-cm/



That is nice! great price also. So it looks like a person could put any length of a usb cable on it, right?
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
January 30, 2014, 10:14:29 PM
 #3

On these new usb powered risers, if you just need a non-powered riser can u use one of these and not plug power in it?
alphacenturion
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 30, 2014, 11:32:05 PM
 #4

Anyone selling these in the UK?
Test User
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85
Merit: 10

Miner and technician


View Profile
January 30, 2014, 11:39:38 PM
 #5

No. You must have power, there is no power connection through the USB cable. if you look at the PCB, the power pins are not connected at the motherboard end.

You must use a USB 3.0 cable, a USB 2.0 cable will NOT work as it does not have enough pins. You also need a non-standard type of cable with double A-male ends. Good luck trying to buy one of these cables separately.

The small socket contains a built in presence shorting link, which means that you do not need a jumper wire to activate the slot.

Issues:
The SMBus pins in the PCI-e slot are not connected. Some monitoring or diagnostic software may have difficulty working without these connections.

Also remember, that when powering the riser, you must power it from the same PSU as is powering the motherboard. You WILL fry the motherboard if you have 1 PSU powering the mobo, and a different PSU powering the riser.

This type of riser doesn't work very well at PCI-E v3 mode. If you have a mobo which uses PCI-E v3, you should select a lower speed in the BIOS, or you may get system instability (or card not detected).

The slot end of the connector and the USB plugs themselves are very loose. You need to use some hot-melt glue to keep the riser in the slot, and the USB cables attached.

There are a number of HK sellers on ebay whicih will post to the UK. I got mine in about 10 days, and paid £12 each inc postage.

Donations welcome - BTC: 1f52PwRLHkN4w5uBY6EccKiDYqpLkh13y     DOGE: DCg65AKPG76X5LEtWCqfyRj4a6apYRHR8j
Trust: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=432215.0
tootapple
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 30, 2014, 11:47:32 PM
 #6


Also remember, that when powering the riser, you must power it from the same PSU as is powering the motherboard. You WILL fry the motherboard if you have 1 PSU powering the mobo, and a different PSU powering the riser.


According to this https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=437599.msg4824265#msg4824265, that is false.

Test User
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85
Merit: 10

Miner and technician


View Profile
January 31, 2014, 12:04:26 AM
 #7

Since I've moved all the risers onto the main PSU, I've not burned out any more mobos.

Donations welcome - BTC: 1f52PwRLHkN4w5uBY6EccKiDYqpLkh13y     DOGE: DCg65AKPG76X5LEtWCqfyRj4a6apYRHR8j
Trust: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=432215.0
tootapple
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 31, 2014, 12:17:57 AM
 #8

Since I've moved all the risers onto the main PSU, I've not burned out any more mobos.

that's really good info. So you all the powered risers are connected to PSU 1 (which also powers the MB), and you just choose 2 or 3 cards to power off PSU 2? Is that all you have PSU 2 connected too? Sorry, just want clarification for my own purposes.
QNX
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 31, 2014, 12:59:21 AM
 #9

wow, looks like same riser cards are selling in china more than 2-3 month already, and as always a little cheaper  Grin
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!