Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 08:08:10 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: My box hangs down: a defective PSU or a CPU overheat?  (Read 1328 times)
Shevek
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
September 16, 2011, 02:44:55 PM
 #1

I've been mining without problems with my home box for some weeks. The main elements were a 5570 ATI card, and a 350W PSU.

Recently, I've upgraded the system to a 5850 card (Gigabyte), and a 600W PSU. Well, I can't mine for long time because the box suddenly gets out of power. I've also tried mining undercloked but I only extend for some minutes the crash.

I can imagine two causes: either the PSU is defective, and really can't afford the work (some more clues about this: sometimes, starting the box, the power vanishes in 2~3 seconds after sudden start up of all fans and disks; I pluged off the DVD R+W device in order to guarantee start up).

And other possibility: the warm exhausted form the 5850-card does not allow CPU get properly cooled and the BIOS switches off the power.

Somebody who experienced any of both can give me a tip?

TIA

Proposals for improving bitcoin are like asses: everybody has one
1SheveKuPHpzpLqSvPSavik9wnC51voBa
1481270890
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481270890

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481270890
Reply with quote  #2

1481270890
Report to moderator
1481270890
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481270890

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481270890
Reply with quote  #2

1481270890
Report to moderator
1481270890
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481270890

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481270890
Reply with quote  #2

1481270890
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481270890
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481270890

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481270890
Reply with quote  #2

1481270890
Report to moderator
n4l3hp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 173


View Profile
September 16, 2011, 03:33:38 PM
 #2

Try running your rig without cover. If still shuts down on its own, its probably the power supply. What kind of power supply are you using? Some generic power supply cannot supply more than half of its capacity. A 5850 at standard clocks consumes about 150w at full load, if your cpu is rated above 100w and is also running full load, your power supply might not be able to handle the load.

I have a friend who did BOINC on his 4850 (110w) and his Athlon II x4 (95w) with a generic 500w PSU. He heard a popping sound before the unit powered down. He tried to turn the unit on again but the unit wont start anymore. After inspection, his motherboard also died along with the hard disk.

I have a 6870 (also 150w at standard clocks) and a 5670 powered by a 10 yr old 380w coolermaster. Mem of both cards are underclocked to 300 and been mining 24/7 since March (BOINC projects before that) without any problems. Planning to replace the PSU soon so I can overclock the cores of the cards.
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
September 16, 2011, 03:41:44 PM
 #3

If you have the psu model or a link to it it's quick to check if it's a potential problem, that and your CPU model.

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
Shevek
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
September 16, 2011, 04:04:15 PM
 #4

Try running your rig without cover. If still shuts down on its own, its probably the power supply.

Well, I actually keep the cover out. So, PSU is a clearer candidate. But I'd want to fully discard the possibility of CPU overheating: the 5850 is a closed card, and I don't really know where the exhausted heat goes.

If you have the psu model or a link to it it's quick to check if it's a potential problem, that and your CPU model.

PSU is Technimax 600W. The retailer offered to me this other one, Tooq, 700W.

CPU is (not at my box now) AMD Sempron, I think; 2 cores, AM2 socket. A 3~4 years old one.

Thanks for your help!

Proposals for improving bitcoin are like asses: everybody has one
1SheveKuPHpzpLqSvPSavik9wnC51voBa
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
September 16, 2011, 04:21:20 PM
 #5

Well it doesn't look good no information on rail capacities that I can find and I'd guess it's using older atx specs providing most of that power as 3.3 and 5 volt. Don't buy a psu that doesn't list the rail capacities it's a setup for an unpleasant surprise

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
Shevek
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
September 16, 2011, 05:10:39 PM
 #6

Well it doesn't look good no information on rail capacities that I can find and I'd guess it's using older atx specs providing most of that power as 3.3 and 5 volt. Don't buy a psu that doesn't list the rail capacities it's a setup for an unpleasant surprise

Well... the Tooq PSU is 12V-v2.3 compliant. So, It should provide more than 20A per 12V rail. This is other Tooq-700W model, v2.2, guarantees 28A per 12V rail (2x), so up to 600W.

I dind't see at all specifications of my actual Technimax.

Proposals for improving bitcoin are like asses: everybody has one
1SheveKuPHpzpLqSvPSavik9wnC51voBa
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
September 16, 2011, 05:22:28 PM
 #7

Well it doesn't look good no information on rail capacities that I can find and I'd guess it's using older atx specs providing most of that power as 3.3 and 5 volt. Don't buy a psu that doesn't list the rail capacities it's a setup for an unpleasant surprise

Well... the Tooq PSU is 12V-v2.3 compliant. So, It should provide more than 20A per 12V rail. This is other Tooq-700W model, v2.2, guarantees 28A per 12V rail (2x), so up to 600W.

I dind't see at all specifications of my actual Technimax.

You should try and find a single rail unit from a known brand you want about 25a on it with what you have 40 if you want to add a second card or upgrade the 5850 later on

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
Shevek
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
September 19, 2011, 01:51:37 PM
 #8

Well it doesn't look good no information on rail capacities that I can find and I'd guess it's using older atx specs providing most of that power as 3.3 and 5 volt. Don't buy a psu that doesn't list the rail capacities it's a setup for an unpleasant surprise

Definitively, that's the point. It yields more than 400W (out of 600) as 3.3 and 5 volt. No more worry about CPU overheating.

Now I have a new PSU, 700W (480W in 12V rails). I'll mount it quickly!

Thanks to all for the tips!

Proposals for improving bitcoin are like asses: everybody has one
1SheveKuPHpzpLqSvPSavik9wnC51voBa
Shevek
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
September 21, 2011, 04:10:14 PM
 #9


Now I have a new PSU, 700W (480W in 12V rails). I'll mount it quickly!


It works like a charm!  Grin

Thanks again  Kiss

Proposals for improving bitcoin are like asses: everybody has one
1SheveKuPHpzpLqSvPSavik9wnC51voBa
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
September 21, 2011, 04:19:13 PM
 #10


Now I have a new PSU, 700W (480W in 12V rails). I'll mount it quickly!


It works like a charm!  Grin

Thanks again  Kiss

Good to know, i avoid multi rail personally for distribution simplicity(last one i got i couldnt use half the rails) but for just one or two cards it's ok. people really need to pay attention to how a psu's wattage is distributed 300watts of 5v power does no good these days

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!