Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 06:07:50 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 5830 PROBLEMS  (Read 2289 times)
mu50stang
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162


View Profile
September 17, 2011, 12:48:34 AM
 #1

For some reason my 5830 hashing power keeps fluctuating from 200 to 330.  Not sure why this is happenning.  Never happened before.  I have two cards a 5770 and 5830.00 Thanks for any help.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481047670
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481047670

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481047670
Reply with quote  #2

1481047670
Report to moderator
1481047670
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481047670

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481047670
Reply with quote  #2

1481047670
Report to moderator
MadHacker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
September 17, 2011, 01:00:08 AM
 #2

Need more information.

software
OS
ATI driver version
what miner are you using...
as well as extra paramaters

hardware
motherboard
powersupply

Overclocks?

temperatures of the cards...

thats a good start
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
September 17, 2011, 01:08:32 AM
 #3

330mh/s is pushing a 5830 pretty hard.  If your temps are hitting ~90C that could easily be thermal throttle.

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
September 17, 2011, 02:13:50 AM
 #4

330 is what i've come to expect from sapphire cards, but i run in a "forced open air" rack i built with the cards on risers and a boxfan cooling two rigs so they hit the 60s on a bad day, that does sound like a temperature problem though what is your fan running at have you tried setting it to 80% fixed?

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 892

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
September 17, 2011, 12:35:46 PM
 #5

yes, full specs as per MadHacker post pls.

330 Mh/s 24/7 here.  open air @ around 60% fan (cgminer controls fans/clocks). see sig. the sapphire 5830 xtremes go like stink.. does weeks on end with the only shutdowns being thunderstorms.
payb.tc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
September 17, 2011, 12:54:42 PM
 #6

5830 problems

wow, that's a lot of problems.

drgr33n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
September 17, 2011, 01:01:15 PM
 #7

Dude Cheesy 1040/354 on a sapphire 5830 !! Your a cruel cruel man lol
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 892

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
September 17, 2011, 01:14:00 PM
 #8

Dude Cheesy 1040/354 on a sapphire 5830 !! Your a cruel cruel man lol

its stock volts, so... DIG HARDER is my motto lol

it will run at 1050/354 for a couple days before crashing, but I want ROCK solid, so 1040 it is. that rig is in the basement and I check it with teamviewer every few days.
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
September 17, 2011, 02:36:08 PM
 #9

Dude Cheesy 1040/354 on a sapphire 5830 !! Your a cruel cruel man lol

I ran mine at 1045/300 for two weeks when i first got it!

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
superfastkyle
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 437


View Profile
September 17, 2011, 03:40:34 PM
 #10

I run mine at 1040/350 (338 mhash)... ran them at 1045 for a while but they would usually crash after about a day or two. But then again I always make sure they have sufficient cooling.
Valalvax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439


View Profile
September 17, 2011, 10:22:58 PM
 #11

I can't get mine beyond 960, at 960 it runs steadily for days, but any higher and it crashes, if I try 1000 it crashes within minutes, but the temp never gets very high
MadHacker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
September 17, 2011, 10:25:11 PM
 #12

I can't get mine beyond 960, at 960 it runs steadily for days, but any higher and it crashes, if I try 1000 it crashes within minutes, but the temp never gets very high
what voltage are you giving it?
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
September 18, 2011, 01:11:23 AM
 #13

YOu can definately get more mhashes our of your 5830. I'm getting 336.7 on mine running 1035/330. GUIMiner, phoenix, -k phatk2 VECTORS AGGRESSION=14

turquoise9955
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
September 18, 2011, 06:14:13 AM
 #14

5830 problems

wow, that's a lot of problems.


teehee, +rep
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
September 19, 2011, 01:41:00 AM
 #15

There are lots of factors in play that determine your max stable clocks.  On one of my boards, anything over 960 causes hard locks.  An identical board runs the same cards at 1010/320 with rock solid stability, and could probably go higher.  Yet another different board tops at 970.

OP needs to give more info if he wants any useful answers.   

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
September 20, 2011, 01:53:46 AM
 #16

There are lots of factors in play that determine your max stable clocks.  On one of my boards, anything over 960 causes hard locks.  An identical board runs the same cards at 1010/320 with rock solid stability, and could probably go higher.  Yet another different board tops at 970.

OP needs to give more info if he wants any useful answers.   


I cannot seam to consistently get any card above 950.  Even my vapor X rig will go down after a day at 960. but at 940 it runs like a deer.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
MadHacker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
September 20, 2011, 02:25:00 AM
 #17

myself i have 6 cards in 1 machine...
all running at 950 except 1.. it runs at 940.
in my other machine i have them 4 of them clocked to 910.
i could probably clock them higher but then i have to figure out which one doesn't like it
but the lost compute time while its down irks me
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
September 21, 2011, 09:44:48 AM
 #18

What temperatures are you guys getting on the VRMs? I have no problems keeping the GPU, a 5850, cool (below 50C, using accelero twin turbo cooler) and it will overclock almost arbitrarily even when undervolting atm, but not without VRM temps heading towards 90C and thats more than Im comfortable with.

vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 892

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
September 21, 2011, 11:05:41 AM
 #19

my sapphire xtreme 5830 does not have a VRM trmp sensor (that I know of anyway, and GPUZ does not report anything that looks like a VRM temp). its a non ref cooler; VRMs have their own HS.
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
September 21, 2011, 11:13:09 AM
 #20

For some reason my 5830 hashing power keeps fluctuating from 200 to 330.  Not sure why this is happenning.  Never happened before.  I have two cards a 5770 and 5830.00 Thanks for any help.

To actually read the question posed and attempt to discover a solution: is this a dedicated mining rig? The first thing I would do is look at the CPU usage to see if you are being bitten by the CPU bug on all non-11.6 ATI drivers. If the mining CPU usage is 100%, than any other CPU usage on the computer that takes priority will idle the processes of the miners.

Secondly, using flash to watch videos (Youtube, etc) will put the GPU into 2D clock mode and make it run at half the speed. You need to disable hardware acceleration on any video player software; in flash, you right-click on the window and uncheck the hardware acceleration box.

Beyond that, more information is needed - where are you even seeing the hashrate change in software? I've noted phoenix to report varying hashrates every refresh, and with the -a 100 option you can average the hashrate display to remove the ups and downs.

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!