Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 06:11:06 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Google Chrome Native Client - Full speed GPU Mining in a browser???  (Read 4958 times)
nibor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348


View Profile
September 17, 2011, 05:14:48 PM
 #1


Does this mean that someone could develop a full speed mining client that ran the moment you open chrome to a specific web site?Huh

http://nacl-gallery.appspot.com/
http://code.google.com/chrome/nativeclient/

(To get it to work read - http://code.google.com/chrome/nativeclient/docs/running.html)

Could open up mining to anyone even those sat in offices without admin access to their windows PC?


Could be a whole new pool where any idiot just goes to a website enters their login details and address and get mailed a cheque every month with what they earn?

Or you could develop a site that gave some free service in exchange for using their gpu?
1481436666
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481436666

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481436666
Reply with quote  #2

1481436666
Report to moderator
1481436666
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481436666

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481436666
Reply with quote  #2

1481436666
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
moocow1452
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 240

Don't mind me.


View Profile
January 23, 2012, 03:34:28 AM
 #2

Necro-Bump, because I have the same question, and I've been on a Chromium OS bender on a gaming laptop for the past couple days.
n0ne
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


Trusted Bitcoin Gambling website


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2012, 03:56:03 AM
 #3

Interesting bit,

Quote
Graphics, audio, and much more: Run native code modules that render 2D and 3D graphics, play audio, respond to mouse and keyboard events, run on multiple threads, and access memory directly—all without requiring the user to install a plugin.
https://developers.google.com/native-client/overview

Costia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
January 23, 2012, 05:18:05 AM
 #4

why would you need admin to mine?
moocow1452
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 240

Don't mind me.


View Profile
January 23, 2012, 02:11:36 PM
 #5

You don't really. But if you could point a browser to a website, and mine the live long day at full power, that simplifies things a whole lot for people who don't have program running permissions. Bastion works a little too well on my Chromium install, tripping the overheat limit, so for sure the power is there, it's all a matter of application.
nibor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348


View Profile
January 23, 2012, 09:55:16 PM
 #6

See https://bitminter.com/ for the answer...
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 23, 2012, 10:01:46 PM
 #7

See https://bitminter.com/ for the answer...

bitminter uses Java. For mining, thats fine, all the performance sensitive code is opencl anyway, so wether the code is compiled C or anything else doesnt really matter; but its not native client like asked above.  It is however a fine miner that runs from a browser.

moocow1452
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 240

Don't mind me.


View Profile
January 24, 2012, 02:16:54 AM
 #8

It downloads the .jnlp file when I try to go to Bitminter, and I can't seem to get Chrome to recognize that it can run that file because it does have Java. I can open a shell script on it though, but when I try to run it there, it throws a fit about basename or something. Any ideas?
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 24, 2012, 07:23:06 AM
 #9

It downloads the .jnlp file when I try to go to Bitminter, and I can't seem to get Chrome to recognize that it can run that file because it does have Java. I can open a shell script on it though, but when I try to run it there, it throws a fit about basename or something. Any ideas?

Its a chrome issue. Look here:
http://www.petenetlive.com/KB/Article/0000354.htm

Costia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
January 24, 2012, 07:37:37 AM
 #10

i wouldnt recommend using the solution described there
its like auto running all downloaded executables
moocow1452
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 240

Don't mind me.


View Profile
January 25, 2012, 02:16:36 AM
 #11

That fix works great when Chromium is the OS.  Roll Eyes

Guess I have to wait until that particular fix is mainlined then.
jago25_98
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 871


http://moneybutnofixedabode.blogspot.com


View Profile WWW
August 05, 2012, 01:43:18 AM
 #12

just found RLWeb Chrome extension:
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/piobcnfhopbhgpkglmfclghgjahjhalf/details

but how do you configure it?

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!