Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 10:03:02 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: MINING RIG QUESTION  (Read 3253 times)
mu50stang
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162


View Profile
September 18, 2011, 11:49:17 AM
 #1

I have a stupid question.  I have seen mining rigs without cases,  how do you get the computer to power up without the power switch thats on the case.  Thanks.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481450582
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450582

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450582
Reply with quote  #2

1481450582
Report to moderator
1481450582
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450582

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450582
Reply with quote  #2

1481450582
Report to moderator
1481450582
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450582

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450582
Reply with quote  #2

1481450582
Report to moderator
Chucksta
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
September 18, 2011, 12:08:45 PM
 #2

I've got power switches on my motherboards. I think they are Gigabyte. Can't remember, and not at home at the moment.

stryker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 232


View Profile
September 18, 2011, 12:10:06 PM
 #3

find the pins on the motherboard that the power switch attaches to and just touch them with something metal to short them for a second..... the pc will power up, its all the button does on the case
NetTecture
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
September 18, 2011, 01:17:45 PM
 #4

Two ways, Either connec the pins the power switch goes to (it is not magic, you know)


Or - get a motherboard with an on board swith. The MSI I use has some on board sensors, amkong them one that works as power sensor. Stripe finger over it, board shuts down.
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
September 18, 2011, 03:07:56 PM
 #5

The third way is to pull some swithes out of old cases i think i have a dozen from old machines people stick out at the end of the road when they don't sell at garage sales
EDIT: i belive you can also buy them online and it would be simple enough to make your own

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
Dargo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554



View Profile
September 18, 2011, 03:41:00 PM
 #6

I just use a coated paperclip where I used a wire stripper to strip off a bit of the coating on one end. Works fine, but I'm planning on buying a power switch at some point. Newegg sells them for around $5 I think. 
RobertRibbeck
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 221


View Profile
September 18, 2011, 07:25:51 PM
 #7

I just use a coated paperclip where I used a wire stripper to strip off a bit of the coating on one end. Works fine, but I'm planning on buying a power switch at some point. Newegg sells them for around $5 I think. 

Yes but $5 for a push button on a jumper

A good scrap box (saved junk) should do it for free

Please "Clear your browser cookies" then use http://bitcoinpyramid.com/r/3360 to Join BitCoin Pyramid
  use my referral & I'll refund a % of your first deposit back to your account
  Deposit .5 BTC or more and I'll give back 50% of what I receive

First Deposit of 1 BTC will get 75% of what I get back
saadtariq30
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107


View Profile
September 20, 2011, 09:38:51 AM
 #8

i just short the power pins once with a jumper and then change the power settings in the bios for the system to power up after AC power loss...that way whenever i plug in the powersupply the system turns on on its own Smiley
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
September 20, 2011, 01:40:47 PM
 #9

I picked up a bunch of momentary NO (normally open) push button switches, a couple of mini breadboards, and some jumper wires from sparkfun.com

They sell male-female jumper wires that fit the motherboard header perfectly, and plug right into the breadboard.  10 seconds later and I've got a 'real' power switch Smiley

It's not the cheapest solution, and these parts can probably be found cheaper elsewhere, but I had picked up all this stuff for another project.  The jumper wire is perfect for quick prototyping.

Wires: http://www.sparkfun.com/products/9385
Switch: http://www.sparkfun.com/products/97
Breadboard: http://www.sparkfun.com/products/7916

These guys are more or less in my backyard so I didn't have to pay shipping either, which saved a bit.

If I remember I'll grab a pic of the switch when I get home.

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
September 20, 2011, 07:33:30 PM
 #10


https://picasaweb.google.com/112408294399222065988/September102011#5654525862350701362

apparently, I dont know how to imbed an image that is up on goog.
>>


1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
September 20, 2011, 08:47:37 PM
 #11

lol,  I still dont know Smiley

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!