Bitcoin Forum
May 05, 2024, 06:25:21 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: No Miners Scenario - what will happen if average miners stop mining?  (Read 1389 times)
capcook (OP)

Activity: 9
Merit: 0

View Profile
February 03, 2014, 12:20:38 PM

Hello everyone,

I have to premise that I am a total noob so forgive me if I talk dumb.  Grin
Anyway, I was thinking about this:

• New altcoins every day... how long this will last? Ppl will get tired or this mess, no?
  • On the other hand, ppl who has average gpu rigs wants altcoins, for better opportunities
  • so no altcoins, no more average and small miners

the above led me to the following thoughts:

• What will happen if medium and small miners disappear?
  • Then, will big expensive ASIC miners assume a role similar to that of central banks?
  • If this happens, will bitcoin be abandoned in the long run for failing to maintain democracy in its ecosystem?

What do you think?

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
guybrushthreepwood
Legendary

Activity: 1232
Merit: 1195

View Profile
February 03, 2014, 12:28:35 PM

I think there will always be a market for alts, but the altcoin market will eventually become saturated and a lot of coins will fail on launch. And I can't see why miners will abandon Bitcoin. The more miners that do will mean more money for the rest. There will always be supply and demand for mining.
BitThink
Legendary

Activity: 882
Merit: 1000

View Profile
February 03, 2014, 12:30:03 PM

Small miners join a pool so actually there's no much difference. Now mining is already in the hands of big pool operators.
capcook (OP)

View Profile
February 03, 2014, 12:35:45 PM