Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2018, 06:43:40 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Antminer S9 FW with voltage/fan/frequency control  (Read 1756 times)
htautosjay
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 24, 2018, 09:44:57 PM
 #21

I personally think the 650M Firmware, leaving it at 650Mhz is what you are looking for that will give you 13,900 Th with no temp rises, the temp rise from what i see is that the Auto Adjust Fq firmware the fans run up to 6000 which keeps them cooler, where the fans on 600M and 650M run to about 4600.. the HW faults come from a poor pool from my experience, do you use Slush?..they seem to be the cleanest

Ok ran at 650M and 662M for  a week now, went up to 668M and running completely fine hashing 14,300Th temps are stable at 82.



[...]

Hay buddy, I have been running these S9's for almost a week at 14,300, 14,400 Th but i dont see much movement in the chip temps they seem static at 81, 82..maybe that is the temps,, do you have the same readings?..
In the Kernal log it says :

Code:
set FAN speed according to: temp_highest=82 temp_top1[PWM_T]=82 temp_top1[TEMP_POS_LOCAL]=72 temp_change=0 fix_fan_steps=-15
FAN PWM: 54
read_temp_func Done!
CRC error counter=0

Cheers
Jase



Is this Ok? It says Warning Chain has no temp will fix it..

Code:
max freq = 675
set baud=1
Chain[J6] PIC temp offset=62,0,0,0,0,0,35,28
Chain[J6] chip[244] use PIC middle temp offset=0 typeID=55
New offset Chain[5] chip[244] local:51 remote:51 offset:32
Chain[J6] chip[244] get middle temp offset=32 typeID=55
Chain[J6] chip[136] use PIC middle temp offset=28 typeID=00
Warning: Chain[J6] has no temp offset in PIC! will fix it[/b][/size][/size]
New offset Chain[5] chip[244] local:48 remote:49 offset:31
Chain[J6] chip[244] get middle temp offset=31 typeID=55
Chain[J7] PIC temp offset=62,0,0,0,0,0,35,28
Chain[J7] chip[244] use PIC middle temp offset=0 typeID=55
New offset Chain[6] chip[244] local:43 remote:45 offset:29
Chain[J7] chip[244] get middle temp offset=29 typeID=55
Chain[J7] chip[136] use PIC middle temp offset=28 typeID=00
Warning: Chain[J7] has no temp offset in PIC! will fix it
New offset Chain[6] chip[244] local:42 remote:43 offset:30
Chain[J7] chip[244] get middle temp offset=30 typeID=55
Chain[J8] PIC temp offset=62,0,0,0,0,0,35,28
Chain[J8] chip[244] use PIC middle temp offset=0 typeID=55
New offset Chain[7] chip[244] local:43 remote:46 offset:28
Chain[J8] chip[244] get middle temp offset=28 typeID=55
Chain[J8] chip[136] use PIC middle temp offset=28 typeID=00
Warning: Chain[J8] has no temp offset in PIC! will fix it
New offset Chain[7] chip[244] local:41 remote:44 offset:28
Chain[J8] chip[244] get middle temp offset=28 typeID=55
Chain[J6] set working voltage=870 [125]
Chain[J7] set working voltage=870 [125]
Chain[J8] set working voltage=870 [125]
setStartTimePoint total_tv_start_sys=33762 total_tv_end_sys=33763
restartNum = 2 , auto-reinit enabled...
do read_temp_func once...
do check_asic_reg 0x08
1544813020
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544813020

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544813020
Reply with quote  #2

1544813020
Report to moderator
1544813020
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544813020

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544813020
Reply with quote  #2

1544813020
Report to moderator
1544813020
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544813020

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544813020
Reply with quote  #2

1544813020
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1544813020
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544813020

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544813020
Reply with quote  #2

1544813020
Report to moderator
taserz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 472
Merit: 111


Mining since 2011


View Profile
June 25, 2018, 05:25:30 PM
 #22

Is this Ok? It says Warning Chain has no temp will fix it..

[...]

I tested this firmware with a few S9's and none of them report the temp with this firmware. Not sure what he put in it that is causing it but on some machines you cant read s9 temp

Want to throw me a tip: 1E5bZiPAh7Yt1VqNUyk7y9r48zpbGNTEUA
Mining bitcoin since 2011.
Best nerd decision of my life.
htautosjay
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 25, 2018, 06:16:17 PM
 #23

I tested this firmware with a few S9's and none of them report the temp with this firmware. Not sure what he put in it that is causing it but on some machines you cant read s9 temp

In all honesty I like the idea that i can hash 14,250 TH to 15,500 Th BUT at what cost?.. last night i reloaded the Auto Adjust Fq back onto my S9's, I fear that i am reducing the life of my miners by alot!
for the few extra pounds i prefer to have peace of the mind that the temps are good. its not the ASIC temp to only worry about its the boards that will overheat and burn out. So until its better known ground i am going back to standard.
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1141


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
June 25, 2018, 06:28:07 PM
 #24

^^ Not a bad idea to keep speeds down. One concern would be the higher current the chips will be drawing and connections to the buck inductor. Some of the miners have rather poor solder connections. The connections on BOTH SIDES of the boards should look like this and be completely filled with solder:



Many times soldering on the backside will be very marginal. If you think you can reflow the connections be aware that because of the very thick copper leads you will need a very high wattage iron - at least 100w.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
htautosjay
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 25, 2018, 08:21:55 PM
 #25

^^ Not a bad idea to keep speeds down. One concern would be the higher current the chips will be drawing and connections to the buck inductor. Some of the miners have rather poor solder connections. The connections on BOTH SIDES of the boards should look like this and be completely filled with solder:

[...]

Many times soldering on the backside will be very marginal. If you think you can reflow the connections be aware that because of the very thick copper leads you will need a very high wattage iron - at least 100w.

Agreed 100%! short term gain long term loss!
tim-bc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 66


View Profile
June 25, 2018, 08:50:32 PM
 #26

Thanks for this detailed guide, I now have a miner running stable at 16.6 TH/s with no HW errors.

Ignore scammers on Skype, Telegram, etc. I will only ever contact you via forum PMs. See profile for fingerprint.
htautosjay
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 25, 2018, 08:59:06 PM
 #27

Thanks for this detailed guide, I now have a miner running stable at 16.6 TH/s with no HW errors.

Ah brother be careful.. it might be hashing like crazy but be careful of the temps. its not the HW errors that are the issue its the temps....read above^^
tim-bc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 66


View Profile
June 26, 2018, 03:03:49 AM
 #28

Ah brother be careful.. it might be hashing like crazy but be careful of the temps. its not the HW errors that are the issue its the temps....read above^^

Right, heat kills. I have upgraded the fans and have them set at 100%, and I also have lowered the temp protection cutoff just in case.

Ignore scammers on Skype, Telegram, etc. I will only ever contact you via forum PMs. See profile for fingerprint.
digital$
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 185
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 03, 2018, 12:37:16 AM
 #29

68/64/66  solid @14TH
minefarmbuy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 74

We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
July 03, 2018, 05:52:07 AM
 #30

Kind of with NotFuzzyWarm on this. Overclocking a space heater? Seems like a good idea. ..

Really though, it would be nice to have voltage adjustment and use it. I get modding but unless you got a cheap unit or decent sized mine I wouldn't play around too much for extra hash during an off quarter. Rather not spend time troubleshooting and dissembling. Still, aren't the "standard" UI options selectable when you inspect the page and display them? And why run someone else's firmware?

Glad it's working though, enjoy.

truecry
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 06, 2018, 05:47:09 AM
 #31

I have tested on an S9i, and perhaps some things are different, because I noticed:

1) Fans run slower, even when forced 100%, they do not hit the same speeds as with stock bmminer
2) Temps are much hotter, so it seems this is not being set correctly for S9i
tim-bc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 66


View Profile
July 12, 2018, 11:31:46 AM
 #32

Still, aren't the "standard" UI options selectable when you inspect the page and display them?

Yes but unless you have recompiled bmminer for fixed frequency, it will ignore your frequency setting. Also, you need to change the voltage hierarchy to provide a higher voltage like 9.4V for frequencies like 850 MHz.

Ignore scammers on Skype, Telegram, etc. I will only ever contact you via forum PMs. See profile for fingerprint.
DZelmer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 17, 2018, 07:44:59 PM
 #33

Great write up binary works great. How do i control the fan speed i have tried changing it in the config and its been removed from the hidden cgi-bin/minerAdvanced.cgi only frequency is on there do i need to use a external pwm controller with a remote temp sensor? I installed the fixed frequency for the 600mhz miner on my 12.5th auto frequency miner and its working great with the exception it runs hotter than i like and can't change the fan. Any suggestions?

If i set frequency to 650 or over voltage gets set to 9.4 no matter what binary i use am i doing something wrong?
Andartis
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 247
Merit: 5


View Profile
September 18, 2018, 09:48:04 PM
 #34

Can somebody please tell me if I get this right:
The difference between the fixed frequenc firmwares is the voltage, right? So If I load the 650M firmware on a S9 with stock 14TH, it will assume it has good chips and give them LOWER voltage than the 600M firmware, right?

So could i just load the 650M firmware on my S9 and check what frequency it accepts?
Problem is that as soon as I load the fixed frequency firmware, the temps show above 100°C. But i think the readings are not right...

Any advice?
htautosjay
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 18, 2018, 10:32:44 PM
 #35

Can somebody please tell me if I get this right:
The difference between the fixed frequenc firmwares is the voltage, right? So If I load the 650M firmware on a S9 with stock 14TH, it will assume it has good chips and give them LOWER voltage than the 600M firmware, right?

So could i just load the 650M firmware on my S9 and check what frequency it accepts?
Problem is that as soon as I load the fixed frequency firmware, the temps show above 100°C. But i think the readings are not right...

Any advice?

The readings are right, i have a lot of S9's and i loaded 650 FF FW and the temps went crazy.. some showed 82 temp but in the firmware it said display upto 82 only so god only knows what the temps were.. for that extra 1.5TH it aint worth burning your boards..
Just my opinion.. tried and tested.. i have auto freq on all of mine.. loading the 650 FF FW is for very cold climates
m3hm3t
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 138
Merit: 14

~ Fortuna Favet Fortibus ~


View Profile
September 19, 2018, 01:48:57 PM
 #36

The readings are right, i have a lot of S9's and i loaded 650 FF FW and the temps went crazy.. some showed 82 temp but in the firmware it said display upto 82 only so god only knows what the temps were.. for that extra 1.5TH it aint worth burning your boards..
Just my opinion.. tried and tested.. i have auto freq on all of mine.. loading the 650 FF FW is for very cold climates

82°C-95°C I think just fine for Antminer devices.. Don't be afraid like that,this devices can handling with max. 125 °C.so I wrote to Bitmain and they said me this.
BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1049

Bitmain miners is getting worst.


View Profile WWW
September 19, 2018, 11:14:53 PM
 #37

82°C-95°C I think just fine for Antminer devices.. Don't be afraid like that,this devices can handling with max. 125 °C.so I wrote to Bitmain and they said me this.

80c above is fine, but not so good and if you can decrease the temps below 80°C your miner can live longer than the higher temps.

I think the miner s9 will automatically shut down when overheating or the temps reach 115°C if you force the miner to the higher setup your hashboards will die fast. So, keep the temps lower than 80°C if you want the miner to live long.

Andartis
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 247
Merit: 5


View Profile
September 20, 2018, 08:03:50 AM
 #38

If the readings are right, can someone explain this:
On autotune FW @14TH I get 90°C. Same miner with 650FW and stock settings @14TH shows 110°C. Power consumption is the same. So why get the chips hotter?
htautosjay
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 20, 2018, 08:04:45 AM
 #39

If the readings are right, can someone explain this:
On autotune FW @14TH I get 90°C. Same miner with 650FW and stock settings @14TH shows 110°C. Power consumption is the same. So why get the chips hotter?

The fans run slower RPM's check it out.
Andartis
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 247
Merit: 5


View Profile
September 20, 2018, 09:12:37 AM
 #40

The fans run slower RPM's check it out.

Just checked. In fact, the autotune miners run the fans at slower speeds.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!