Bitcoin Forum
September 21, 2018, 05:07:35 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Antminer S9 Volt Rocket Ship firmware mod! ~ALL S9 MODELS INCLUDING S9i S9j~  (Read 3839 times)
Pirozhkov
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 15, 2018, 06:30:08 PM
 #21

I don't understand why the author doesn't want to answer a couple of questions about his firmware.
Is the temperature displayed on CHIPS incorrectly?
"local Temp" - correct temperature?
1537506455
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537506455

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537506455
Reply with quote  #2

1537506455
Report to moderator
1537506455
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537506455

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537506455
Reply with quote  #2

1537506455
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537506455
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537506455

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537506455
Reply with quote  #2

1537506455
Report to moderator
1537506455
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537506455

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537506455
Reply with quote  #2

1537506455
Report to moderator
DolleTeam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 15, 2018, 10:35:24 PM
 #22

Feel free to use Dollemizer, Runs 16,4 TH on one APW3++ 1600 watt PSU.   Cool
Questions about the firmware can be stated @ our Slack or Twitter account. #Dollemizer
taserz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 421
Merit: 108


Mining since 2011


View Profile
July 16, 2018, 02:18:28 AM
 #23

Feel free to use Dollemizer, Runs 16,4 TH on one APW3++ 1600 watt PSU.   Cool
Questions about the firmware can be stated @ our Slack or Twitter account. #Dollemizer

Why would anyone want to use your firmware when you steal their hashpower. It does the exact same thing as this except I didn't bother making a firmware file nor change the settings pages to easily change the fan speed.

Also I find it funny you advertise AsicBoost even though it is not possible with the s9's due to hardware limitations.

Want to throw me a tip: 1E5bZiPAh7Yt1VqNUyk7y9r48zpbGNTEUA
Mining bitcoin since 2011.
Best nerd decision of my life.
taserz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 421
Merit: 108


Mining since 2011


View Profile
July 16, 2018, 02:19:15 AM
 #24

I don't understand why the author doesn't want to answer a couple of questions about his firmware.
Is the temperature displayed on CHIPS incorrectly?
"local Temp" - correct temperature?

Where did I say it reports incorrectly. I said sometimes it doesn't report and I think that's mainly those using non 13th/s or faster units based off the reports.

Want to throw me a tip: 1E5bZiPAh7Yt1VqNUyk7y9r48zpbGNTEUA
Mining bitcoin since 2011.
Best nerd decision of my life.
taserz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 421
Merit: 108


Mining since 2011


View Profile
July 18, 2018, 04:14:25 AM
 #25

Just updated the thread for an 8.8v version that can run 800mhz stable at 17gh/s

Want to throw me a tip: 1E5bZiPAh7Yt1VqNUyk7y9r48zpbGNTEUA
Mining bitcoin since 2011.
Best nerd decision of my life.
zaqwsx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 18, 2018, 09:52:32 AM
 #26

Great job taserz.

My brand new s9i just jumped from 13.5 to 17TH/s.

I'm facing the issue with no temp reporting as you mentioned as possible problem. Any idea from where it comes? Will you try to fix it?
Pirozhkov
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 18, 2018, 10:06:10 PM
 #27

The following is good to run at 800mhz and gets 17th/s and is STABLE and will almost max out the bitmain 1600w psu.

After 2-3min miner restarted
1800w psu
s9 13.5th -> firmware 650 fix -> your firmware
taserz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 421
Merit: 108


Mining since 2011


View Profile
July 18, 2018, 10:49:31 PM
 #28

Great job taserz.

My brand new s9i just jumped from 13.5 to 17TH/s.

I'm facing the issue with no temp reporting as you mentioned as possible problem. Any idea from where it comes? Will you try to fix it?

So what I did to make it work for the s9i is. I flashed the s9i Factory firmware (well I held down ip report while powering it on so it reset itself) Then copied the version of bmminer over that I made and it kept the temps reporting. With the ambient temp at 80F the three hashboard are running at 99-101C with very little HW errors over a 24hour time span I got 17/13/26 hw errors for chain 6/7/8.

Want to throw me a tip: 1E5bZiPAh7Yt1VqNUyk7y9r48zpbGNTEUA
Mining bitcoin since 2011.
Best nerd decision of my life.
taserz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 421
Merit: 108


Mining since 2011


View Profile
July 18, 2018, 10:55:24 PM
 #29

After 2-3min miner restarted
1800w psu
s9 13.5th -> firmware 650 fix -> your firmware

Did you set it to 800mhz. Did the psu get tripped and that's why it shut down or the s9 crash. I am waiting on my new clamp meter to measure actual power draw since I can't seem to find mine but I have not tripped the 1600w psu at 800mhz. You might have a slightly less efficient one since my 800mhz benchmark was done with a 14th unit. Try to 787.50mhz or 793.75mhz since if it is tripping at the 2-3 minute mark it is tripping after 2-3 minutes of mining and it might have been a slight fluctuation in power draw since I removed a lot of the crap that makes the boot up time take so long on the s9. Try the second download link it runs it at less than 9volts and runs at 8.8v https://drive.google.com/open?id=1TkW-BB0SKl5daIeEA5XziU_UvNQpzyAd It should work better on 1800w psu at the 9v one sits right along the max power draw.

Want to throw me a tip: 1E5bZiPAh7Yt1VqNUyk7y9r48zpbGNTEUA
Mining bitcoin since 2011.
Best nerd decision of my life.
Pirozhkov
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 18, 2018, 11:18:33 PM
 #30

Did you set it to 800mhz. Did the psu get tripped and that's why it shut down or the s9 crash. I am waiting on my new clamp meter to measure actual power draw since I can't seem to find mine but I have not tripped the 1600w psu at 800mhz. You might have a slightly less efficient one since my 800mhz benchmark was done with a 14th unit. Try to 787.50mhz or 793.75mhz since if it is tripping at the 2-3 minute mark it is tripping after 2-3 minutes of mining and it might have been a slight fluctuation in power draw since I removed a lot of the crap that makes the boot up time take so long on the s9. Try the second download link it runs it at less than 9volts and runs at 8.8v https://drive.google.com/open?id=1TkW-BB0SKl5daIeEA5XziU_UvNQpzyAd It should work better on 1800w psu at the 9v one sits right along the max power draw.

I also meant this firmware - The following is good to run at 800mhz and gets 17th/s and is STABLE and will almost max out the bitmain 1600w psu. https://drive.google.com/open?id=1TkW-BB0SKl5daIeEA5XziU_UvNQpzyAd
taserz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 421
Merit: 108


Mining since 2011


View Profile
July 19, 2018, 12:42:17 AM
 #31

I also meant this firmware - The following is good to run at 800mhz and gets 17th/s and is STABLE and will almost max out the bitmain 1600w psu. https://drive.google.com/open?id=1TkW-BB0SKl5daIeEA5XziU_UvNQpzyAd

Did lowering the MHz by 1 or 2 levels stop it from shutting itself down. Do you by any chance have a meter to see what the 13.5 is drawing?

Want to throw me a tip: 1E5bZiPAh7Yt1VqNUyk7y9r48zpbGNTEUA
Mining bitcoin since 2011.
Best nerd decision of my life.
Pirozhkov
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 19, 2018, 01:25:16 AM
 #32

Did lowering the MHz by 1 or 2 levels stop it from shutting itself down. Do you by any chance have a meter to see what the 13.5 is drawing?

https://i.imgur.com/YApHuDL.png - this is the best on s9 13.5 1800psu -> firmware 650m -> your first firmware https://drive.google.com/drive/u/2/folders/17QS03nNERfrYxXemJa0Ll9Skp6c_p13J
If I put 750 then the miner will reboot in 5 minutes
I don't have meter Sad

I noticed if I put a 750m board can not raise 750.00m GH/s 5,386.50. Only one board can. I mean this, example - https://i.imgur.com/bY1bBmN.png

UPD:
Tell me what to try and I'll try, big boss
taserz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 421
Merit: 108


Mining since 2011


View Profile
July 19, 2018, 06:19:46 AM
 #33

With the second firmware does 750m work without it rebooting? Or does it reboot with both firmware regardless at 750m?

Do you have a bitmain 1600w psu because if it is drawing to much power and the psu is causing it to reboot that could be the cause of it shutting down. If you used the bitmain psu and you go over the voltage the psu will shut down and go into protect mode for a few minutes unless you reset it. The other cause is the miner needs more voltage to run at that mhz. If that is the case I can make a bminer at 8.9v or even try at 8.7volts. (I don't think 8.7volts is going workout to well though and cause lots of HW errors but I can build it)

I am assuming we are not drawing to much power since I am not tripping a 1600w psu with the same firmware granted I am testing with an s9i and it is only 5% more efficient.

That was very garbled... My question is does 750m not work with both firmware and do you have bitmain psu so we can see if it is just drawing to much power and that is why it is resetting since you have no meter to tell power draw and if we overload it and it goes in protect mode we will know. (my meter comes tomorrow so I can make a decent guess as well)

I don't see any reason why the 13.5 will not run at 750m as I have successfully gotten it to run at 18.5th with two psus. We might just need to tweak some setting in bminner. I did notice however one of your hashboard is throwing errors and not your others. If one hashboard is weaker than the rest and has issues it will cause the whole miner to act up if one board is not as fast as the rest.

EDIT: This is what mine is looking like right now granted this is a machine that is 5% more efficient than yours.


Want to throw me a tip: 1E5bZiPAh7Yt1VqNUyk7y9r48zpbGNTEUA
Mining bitcoin since 2011.
Best nerd decision of my life.
tim-bc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 20


View Profile
July 19, 2018, 01:32:32 PM
 #34

The other cause is the miner needs more voltage to run at that mhz. If that is the case I can make a bminer at 8.9v or even try at 8.7volts. (I don't think 8.7volts is going workout to well though and cause lots of HW errors but I can build it)

I have found that at 750MHz the miner works best with 9.4 Volts. 8.8 is probably too low.

Ignore scammers on Skype, Telegram, etc. I will only ever contact you via forum PMs. See profile for fingerprint.
Pirozhkov
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 19, 2018, 03:14:44 PM
 #35

With the second firmware does 750m work without it rebooting? Or does it reboot with both firmware regardless at 750m?

First firmware. The second I tried only 800m.

Do you have a bitmain 1600w psu because if it is drawing to much power and the psu is causing it to reboot that could be the cause of it shutting down. If you used the bitmain psu and you go over the voltage the psu will shut down and go into protect mode for a few minutes unless you reset it. The other cause is the miner needs more voltage to run at that mhz. If that is the case I can make a bminer at 8.9v or even try at 8.7volts. (I don't think 8.7volts is going workout to well though and cause lots of HW errors but I can build it)

I don't have bitmain psu. 1600w(Don't know the firm), 1800w(51asic psu) and 1800w(like this link)

That was very garbled... My question is does 750m not work with both firmware and do you have bitmain psu so we can see if it is just drawing to much power and that is why it is resetting since you have no meter to tell power draw and if we overload it and it goes in protect mode we will know. (my meter comes tomorrow so I can make a decent guess as well)

Ok, wait your meter

I don't see any reason why the 13.5 will not run at 750m as I have successfully gotten it to run at 18.5th with two psus. We might just need to tweak some setting in bminner. I did notice however one of your hashboard is throwing errors and not your others. If one hashboard is weaker than the rest and has issues it will cause the whole miner to act up if one board is not as fast as the rest.

That's what I meant in the last message. Not all boards can keep the acceleration:

https://i.imgur.com/J0D9z6S.png
taserz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 421
Merit: 108


Mining since 2011


View Profile
July 19, 2018, 05:17:23 PM
 #36

I have found that at 750MHz the miner works best with 9.4 Volts. 8.8 is probably too low.

9.4v is a lot of power draw. Doing 9.4 volts you're drawing a lot more power than I really want to. The point is to keep the voltage low and the hashrate high because if you draw a lot more power the point of mining at a faster speed diminishes because your paying for a lot more electricity. At 9.4v the miners can draw up to 2100 watts of power...

Want to throw me a tip: 1E5bZiPAh7Yt1VqNUyk7y9r48zpbGNTEUA
Mining bitcoin since 2011.
Best nerd decision of my life.
admidiral
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 21, 2018, 05:00:12 PM
 #37

this is my result. an 13.5T Autotune Firmware flashed with 650M Fixed Firmware, Power Supply are Dell 2100W (first and second) and HP 2450W (third one)

no problem so far, tried to push to 800M with 9V but too much HW Error, some board disappear and reappear again, then disappear again

Cooling are SanAce 12V 4A Fan in Intake and a Antminer S9 Standard 2.7A Fan at Exhaust, using a Flex Duct to separate intake and exhaust

https://scontent.fbkk13-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/37541992_10211424473625620_3799229350218301440_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&_nc_eui2=AeHBGKHH5Kte04ryLQZgw74Sbg5t7fF9fOY2eGCFUtFjv5iMdLr8QXRrSN4nxl7HazsYBVJN8eEfLlAl4E9PWAj23nYOGbQcWfvE0bTzhs1dWg&oh=f158c9727e326d373413707e703f4dd8&oe=5BD54C6C

https://scontent.fbkk13-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/37568796_10211424474065631_1392267447758749696_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&_nc_eui2=AeGQSNJ9WoGXwNx2920bvRtotViiJPxLRUhpciUuL7UmEbP51-42-whbuBtx63MVrWmUHkpiZWC02ITMlkPlgGHhbppBOCtIujOlx-bMshb1Gw&oh=116b52a17083c01f7c4b4067cda1ce43&oe=5BDAA4E5

https://scontent.fbkk13-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/37634040_10211424474305637_6158869680967647232_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&_nc_eui2=AeGIKoVMD5FA31ZJjonnKSLMwcZsQv1BT7BB6hVPzeZ8vt_FK2tJaII6Tp3szozZn6Q9CZz0-MP-amo1QvNnHNYJQ_gNNkO72JN-bzKQNpUKjA&oh=2d0a6b70690823393e6baac07108588e&oe=5BCF0D88

AwesomeMiner

https://scontent.fbkk13-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/37568260_10211424434264636_9133086404044128256_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&_nc_eui2=AeEPOTQ7N0-cRE_b7g0i9s5i2SWnXxUQ2s50_2nNxBDDq6Tgv5HU1Cz69aR-KbXIRQJYi2dJHTRe58xLEZpzK2h0VJWODC1uYO-xfxgvUsiXXA&oh=a471e2f4a50426bf350afa510e68171c&oe=5BD71F1F
taserz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 421
Merit: 108


Mining since 2011


View Profile
July 21, 2018, 05:44:39 PM
 #38

this is my result. an 13.5T Autotune Firmware flashed with 650M Fixed Firmware, Power Supply are Dell 2100W (first and second) and HP 2450W (third one)

no problem so far, tried to push to 800M with 9V but too much HW Error, some board disappear and reappear again, then disappear again

Cooling are SanAce 12V 4A Fan in Intake and a Antminer S9 Standard 2.7A Fan at Exhaust, using a Flex Duct to separate intake and exhaust

[...]

So it looks like the temp bug affected your third board but it was still mining which is meh okay since it will still clearly mine fine. I have gotten a few reports now on the 13.5 and I am thinking the 13.5 s9 is a bit of a lottery on if it can run at 800Mhz stable or not. If not your best bet is to run it at 725-750 as you did as the hw errors are far less as you saw. You CAN get the 13.5th to run at 800Mhz or more but it would require more than 9volts and honestly anything beyond 9v of power makes the efficiency go to shit why mind 18th at 2.1kw when you can just mine 16.5 at 1600w you know in most cases unless your electricity is very cheap it would just cost more.

Luckily Darval contacted me and is going to assist me with making this have an autotune per each board. So you would set voltage and then it would tune to the best speed for the voltage so if you got a 1600w or 1800w psu you can get the maximum bang for your buck. But I am not C programmer and they are so they are going to be a godsend for me as I am more familiar with python java (meh) matlab r studio afni/

I would suggest trying to run it at 750Mhz.

Also if you would like to try this: https://github.com/taserz/S9-Volt-Rocket-Ship/raw/master/bmminer890

Is 8.9v and it might be worth trying at 750 if 8.8v is throwing to many errors or even beyong 750 since your psu can handle it.

Want to throw me a tip: 1E5bZiPAh7Yt1VqNUyk7y9r48zpbGNTEUA
Mining bitcoin since 2011.
Best nerd decision of my life.
zaqwsx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 21, 2018, 07:59:32 PM
 #39

taserz, what is the default voltage of s9i? I forgot to mention that one of my 13.5 TH s9i is stable mining at 17 TH with your 8.8v mod. I've changed the original apw7 psu with 2.4 kw HP server psu and ASIC is pulling 2050 w from the wall.
taserz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 421
Merit: 108


Mining since 2011


View Profile
July 22, 2018, 08:33:40 AM
 #40

taserz, what is the default voltage of s9i? I forgot to mention that one of my 13.5 TH s9i is stable mining at 17 TH with your 8.8v mod. I've changed the original apw7 psu with 2.4 kw HP server psu and ASIC is pulling 2050 w from the wall.

I have to check! I got my first s9i out of a warranty fix and the first thing I did was hack it but I can roll it back tomorrow and check what it defaults at.

I wish I had some of the apw7 since they are 1800w.

It appears the 13.5th/s are probably best to run at 725mhz because anything beyond that they start to draw a LOT of power and the efficiency goes right out the window. For example at 18th your probably doing like .110-.12j/GH which is a 10-20% reduction in efficiency. So yes it is mining faster and drawing more power but it's power draw is no longer .098j/gh.

So far from testing between a few users it looks like the s9i like 17th/s quite well. I need more testing with an s9 14th/s unit but I assume it would be similar to the s9i. The 13.5th unit seems to draw a lot of power once you go beyond 725mh and will start tripping 1600w psu and really anything beyond the 725mhz range it starts to lose a lot on efficiency.

Want to throw me a tip: 1E5bZiPAh7Yt1VqNUyk7y9r48zpbGNTEUA
Mining bitcoin since 2011.
Best nerd decision of my life.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!