Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 10:14:00 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PCI to PCIE Bridge Adapter  (Read 8080 times)
Bitcoin_Silver_Supply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259



View Profile
September 22, 2011, 08:24:11 AM
 #1

I have an extra card and am out of PCIE slots at the moment and have been considering using an adapter with a regular PCI slot. I know a lot of people use risers but I'm wondering if this PCI -> PCI-E bridge adapter would do the job: http://www.ebay.com/itm/PCI-PCI-Express-PCI-e-Bridge-Adapter-/390347855513?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item5ae28b9699

I am cautious because the $20 price point seems a lot cheaper than what I'm used to. Also, do these have any trouble powering a 58xx series card on AMD s939 MBs?
1481062440
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481062440

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481062440
Reply with quote  #2

1481062440
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
September 22, 2011, 09:55:40 AM
 #2

These have been reported to work by a few users on the forum. I don't know anything about the seller/brand you linked to but it looks about the same as others. They probably all use the same chip anyway. If you want more details you might try searching here as this question pops every week or two.

BTW it's likely fine for mining but performance wise it would be poor for gaming.

Bitcoin_Silver_Supply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259



View Profile
September 22, 2011, 04:00:02 PM
 #3

Thanks for the response. I did do a search but didn't see any results for bridges and was wondering if that makes any sort of difference. I definitely wouldn't be using this for gaming I just want to make sure it won't blow up my system when overclocked for mining.
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
September 22, 2011, 04:25:31 PM
 #4

Here's the most recent one and it has a link half way down to another one where someone says they had success with one.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=41132.0

worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
September 23, 2011, 01:30:48 PM
 #5

I purchased 4 of those, but the problem is I purchased the wrong one PCI to PCIE x1 .  How do I feed PCIE x16 cards into them? Sad  Anyone can advise?
critical
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162


View Profile
September 23, 2011, 02:04:44 PM
 #6

easy buy the 1x to 16x ribbon cable
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
September 23, 2011, 02:28:20 PM
 #7

I purchased 4 of those, but the problem is I purchased the wrong one PCI to PCIE x1 .  How do I feed PCIE x16 cards into them? Sad  Anyone can advise?
Was the x1 kind cheaper than the x16? I haven't seen them before but I'd actually prefer x1 kind if they were available.

Many (most?) miners hang their cards - so you end up with x1-x16 cables anyway. It's gotta be a bit precarious to directly mount x16 cards on top of PCI-PCIe converters.

worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
September 23, 2011, 02:32:21 PM
 #8

I think it is cheaper but not by much.  I bought the 1x out of mistake and not out of saving money.
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
September 23, 2011, 06:07:17 PM
 #9

You *absolutely must* use powered PCIe extender cables on these PCI -> PCI-e adapters!

The maximum power output on normal PCI slots is 35W (I believe, couldn't find a reference offhand), where PCI-e must supply 75W.

Its a gamble whether or not your card requires that much from the slot, but worst case scenario is the card won't power up.

Get extenders with molex power and save yourself some headache.

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
September 23, 2011, 11:31:43 PM
 #10

I read that there are those who remove the bracket on one side of the 1x so that they can plug in the 16x card and it still works.  Is it true?   Anyone else tried?
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
September 23, 2011, 11:36:30 PM
 #11

I read that there are those who remove the bracket on one side of the 1x so that they can plug in the 16x card and it still works.  Is it true?   Anyone else tried?

Yes, that works fine.  Cablesaurus' original 1x -> 16x extenders were exactly that; 1x -> 1x extenders with the end of the connector cut off to allow the card to seat properly.   I'm currently usisng 4 of those.

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
Dargo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554



View Profile
September 25, 2011, 03:45:53 PM
 #12

I have an extra card and am out of PCIE slots at the moment and have been considering using an adapter with a regular PCI slot. I know a lot of people use risers but I'm wondering if this PCI -> PCI-E bridge adapter would do the job: http://www.ebay.com/itm/PCI-PCI-Express-PCI-e-Bridge-Adapter-/390347855513?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item5ae28b9699

I am cautious because the $20 price point seems a lot cheaper than what I'm used to. Also, do these have any trouble powering a 58xx series card on AMD s939 MBs?

That looks like the same adapter sold by cablesaurus that others have had success with. Combine this with a x1-->x16 ribbon cable riser with molex, and it's definitely worth a shot. I may try this too, since I have an extra 5850 lying around.
Bitcoin_Silver_Supply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259



View Profile
September 26, 2011, 07:08:28 AM
 #13

Dargo and Cicada, do either of you have any experience with running off a PCI slot yet?

I have been looking for the 1x-->16x risers with molex and have yet to find any. I'm assuming they are pricier than the $3 risers from Hong Kong on Ebay.
c_k
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 242



View Profile
September 26, 2011, 09:05:01 AM
 #14

mining with a PCI > PCIe card works fine for me with a riser cable that has a Molex connector

I got it all from cablesaurus.com :-)

catfish
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 270


teh giant catfesh


View Profile
September 26, 2011, 12:08:44 PM
 #15

I remember reading some analysis (a Russian website, IIRC) which showed that the high-powered GPUs took virtually all their power from the PCIe power connectors and as little as possible from the actual logic board.

This makes sense, since the ribbon cable isn't particularly heavy gauge conductor... and slinging 75W through a few of the conductors surely would overheat and melt the cable (it's 6.25A FFS!).

There must be a reason that the PCIe 6-pin connector has three 12V and three ground - electrically, why not just two wires? Presumably because sending 200W to a heavy duty GPU with a single 12V positive and single ground cable would require a conductor capable of carrying over 16A without significant voltage drop. This would be fat, awkward cabling (at least until room temperature superconducting wires are invented Wink ).

The PCI slot itself must be geared up to supply a sensible amount of power since peripherals of old would have consumed decent power as well (on top of the old PCI graphics cards) - so far, cicada says 35W but isn't 100% sure. If I could find that link to the Russian analysis website, it'd show that even the fast GPUs don't often take more than 35W from the PCIe slot. So an unpowered riser should be fine. I've never used powered risers, even though I have one on hand in case!

Personally, if I was going to use a PCI->PCIe adaptor board (which will eat some of the PCI power internally in the conversion circuitry) then I'd plug my lowest powered GPU into it. I wouldn't stick a 6970 or 5990 on the end of it.

...so I give in to the rhythm, the click click clack
I'm too wasted to fight back...


BTC: 1A7HvdGGDie3P5nDpiskG8JxXT33Yu6Gct
Dargo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554



View Profile
September 27, 2011, 12:53:51 AM
 #16

Dargo and Cicada, do either of you have any experience with running off a PCI slot yet?

I have been looking for the 1x-->16x risers with molex and have yet to find any. I'm assuming they are pricier than the $3 risers from Hong Kong on Ebay.

Not yet, it's just an option I'm considering. Cablesaurus sells the x1 --> x16 risers with molex, but they are $28.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/PCIe-x1-x16-Adapter-Extender-Cable-w-Molex-/150640355380?_trksid=p3286.m7&_trkparms=algo%3DLVI%26itu%3DUCI%26otn%3D3%26po%3DLVI%26ps%3D63%26clkid%3D3064067139169592012#ht_1302wt_1348

Along with the adapter referenced by the OP, that's $50 just to get the card connected. If you already have soldering equipment, it would be easy to add the molex yourself. I'm not sure which pin(s) you solder the Molex to, but if anyone wants to try, I'm sure they can find out from someone on this board.
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
September 27, 2011, 01:47:45 AM
 #17

To adapt one you have already see here,

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=32548.0

I would personally not cut up my gpu power cable but use a generic Y cable or WHY laying around.

Actually I find his photo a bit confusing as it's not clear if the A and B are determined by color code or position. I believe it is by position and color doesn't matter.

But the basic idea is easy enough - you get some thin wires and solder them to the already existing soldered pins on the extender where the ribbon cable attaches. No doubt it's a bit fiddly but if careful it should be ok. The adjacent pins are same voltage so a solder bridge won't be an issue except on the #3 ones. I've actually soldered much smaller SMD pins in the past.

(I'm sure I saw another thread here where the wires are shown soldered to the board too).

(Actually you could likely just lay 2 pre-tinned thicker wires in between B.1-2 and A.2-3 and a quick touch with the iron would nail them down).

(If someone does this be sure to check the link to the PCI Express pinout as you don't just connect all 6 pins. Pin A1 is not 12V and pin B3 is 12V on the 2.0 spec but not earlier... but I think all GPUs are pretty much 2.0 anyway and it wouldn't hurt).

[Edited to be more clear]

Dargo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554



View Profile
September 27, 2011, 01:58:07 AM
 #18

^^^ Thanks BkkCoins. Lol, not surprised this has already been covered.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!