Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 04:55:41 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [Solved]Bitcoin Client 0.4 & Win7 junction problem.  (Read 2024 times)
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
September 23, 2011, 10:07:59 PM
 #1

Edit:
Solution found here. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=45483.msg542485#msg542485
End of edit:

I've got a new problem.

I've uninstalled my 0.3.24 beta bitcoin client which had the C:\Users\Admin\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin junction pointing to D:\Bitcoin

I've installed the newest release Bitcoin Client 0.4. Ran it, got an error

Code:
************************
EXCEPTION: N5boost11filesystem316filesystem_errorE      
boost::filesystem::create_directory: Cannot create a file when that file already exists: "C:\Users\Admin\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin"      
D:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin\bitcoin.exe in AppInit()      



************************
EXCEPTION: N5boost11filesystem316filesystem_errorE      
boost::filesystem::create_directory: Cannot create a file when that file already exists: "C:\Users\Admin\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin"      
D:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin\bitcoin.exe in CMyApp::OnUnhandledException()      

So, I deleted that junction & the destination folder "D:\Bitcoin". Ran bitcoin client, bitcoin client created the "C:\Users\Admin\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin"  location, then closed bitcoin client.

Tried to create the junction

Code:
C:\Users\Admin>mklink /J C:\Users\Admin\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin D:\Bitcoin
Cannot create a file when that file already exists.

So bitcoin client and trying to create the junction are fighting each other resulting in, cannot use a junction.

Does anyone have any suggestions? Ran into this problem that found a solution?
1480740941
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480740941

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480740941
Reply with quote  #2

1480740941
Report to moderator
1480740941
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480740941

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480740941
Reply with quote  #2

1480740941
Report to moderator
1480740941
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480740941

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480740941
Reply with quote  #2

1480740941
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480740941
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480740941

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480740941
Reply with quote  #2

1480740941
Report to moderator
1480740941
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480740941

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480740941
Reply with quote  #2

1480740941
Report to moderator
1480740941
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480740941

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480740941
Reply with quote  #2

1480740941
Report to moderator
Bitsky
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 542


View Profile
September 23, 2011, 10:40:01 PM
 #2

Does anyone have any suggestions? Ran into this problem that found a solution?
Yes. Use the datadir switch.

Bounty: Earn up to 68.7 BTC
Like my post? Feel free to drop a tip to 1BitskyZbfR4irjyXDaGAM2wYKQknwX36Y
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
September 23, 2011, 10:57:52 PM
 #3

Does anyone have any suggestions? Ran into this problem that found a solution?
Yes. Use the datadir switch.


Care to explain please?

Thanks.
c_k
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 242



View Profile
September 24, 2011, 04:07:37 AM
 #4

It is an option, kindly RTFM  Wink

c_k
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 242



View Profile
September 24, 2011, 04:15:01 AM
 #5

If you do not have an answer, do not post in my thread.

You already have the answer bro!

c_k
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 242



View Profile
September 24, 2011, 04:18:57 AM
 #6

If you do not have an answer, do not post in my thread.

You already have the answer bro!

And how is that? This is exactly what I did for 0.3.24 beta and had no problem and just did it again for a test with 0.3.24 beta, no errors, no problems.

So if someone has a solution for 0.4 please post it.

The first reply in this thread _is_ the answer Smiley

pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
September 24, 2011, 04:20:22 AM
 #7

Hm, mklink /J datadir C:\Users\Admin\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin D:\Bitcoin does not work.
c_k
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 242



View Profile
September 24, 2011, 04:22:55 AM
 #8

Ok your problem is obvious now, -datadir= is for bitcoin.exe (from https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin#Command-line_argumentsSmiley

vv01f
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 314


View Profile
September 24, 2011, 08:15:15 AM
 #9

Tried to create the junction
Code:
C:\Users\Admin>mklink /J C:\Users\Admin\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin D:\Bitcoin
Cannot create a file when that [b]file already exists[/b].
So bitcoin client and trying to create the junction are fighting each other resulting in, cannot use a junction
Its all there to solve your "problem".
simply move all the files to the destination and delete the directory %appdata%\bitcoin
THEN you can create your junction (due to the same name) quite fine - i am doing this all the time when installing at friends

btw: for those not comfortable on commandline: http://schinagl.priv.at/nt/hardlinkshellext/hardlinkshellext.html

the thing with datadir is.. if you accidently run some client (other/newer version etc.) without the switch.. you still can rely on the junction.

*edit: finally it seems i should have read more carefully.. but i would say its not a solution but a workaround to rely on datadir-option.
i estimate this behavior being a bug in new client version  Undecided

donations to me please send via bitcoin 1vvo1FDwSAwNdLVA1mFkM7v76XPZAAUfb
a good European exchange: bitcoin.de (ref-link)
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
September 24, 2011, 08:26:01 AM
 #10

Tried to create the junction
Code:
C:\Users\Admin>mklink /J C:\Users\Admin\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin D:\Bitcoin
Cannot create a file when that [b]file already exists[/b].
So bitcoin client and trying to create the junction are fighting each other resulting in, cannot use a junction
Its all there to solve your "problem".
simply move all the files to the destination and delete the directory %appdata%\bitcoin
THEN you can create your junction (due to the same name) quite fine - i am doing this all the time when installing at friends

btw: for those not comfortable on commandline: http://schinagl.priv.at/nt/hardlinkshellext/hardlinkshellext.html

the thing with datadir is.. if you accidently run some client (other/newer version etc.) without the switch.. you still can rely on the junction.

Did you read my post? After "simply move all the files to the destination and delete the directory %appdata%\bitcoin, THEN you can create your junction" firing up bitcoin client throws this error.

Code:
************************
EXCEPTION: N5boost11filesystem316filesystem_errorE      
boost::filesystem::create_directory: Cannot create a file when that file already exists: "C:\Users\Admin\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin"      
D:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin\bitcoin.exe in AppInit()      



************************
EXCEPTION: N5boost11filesystem316filesystem_errorE      
boost::filesystem::create_directory: Cannot create a file when that file already exists: "C:\Users\Admin\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin"      
D:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin\bitcoin.exe in CMyApp::OnUnhandledException()  

But the datadir cmd is working quite well.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!