Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2018, 10:05:46 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: To newbies and juniors running full nodes.  (Read 279 times)
Jet Cash
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1345


Debt is slavery - fight the banksters.


View Profile WWW
June 26, 2018, 12:43:07 PM
Merited by OmegaStarScream (4), HeRetiK (1), AverageGlabella (1)
 #1

One of the first things I did when I joined Bitcoin Talk was to install core, and download the blockchain. Of course it was a bit smaller then, but it still took forever, especially as most of it was done over public WiFi. I'm not sure that I would try that again. Smiley

This thread is another chance for a select few of you to pick up a few merits. It's only open to Newbie and Junior members, and you must have installed, or be installing a full node for Bitcoin. This includes pruned nodes as well as those maintaining the full blockchain. Tell us about your setup and your storage ( external/internal and SSD/HDD ), and any problems you had starting. You will also have to let us know how long it took to download the blockchain, unless you managed to get a copy to save the download.

IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT THE FIT TO TALK PROJECT
I have changed the registration procedure to make it easier to join.
Sign up now, and help Bitcoin Talk by improving your English.
1544436346
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544436346

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544436346
Reply with quote  #2

1544436346
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1544436346
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1544436346

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1544436346
Reply with quote  #2

1544436346
Report to moderator
Jet Cash
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1345


Debt is slavery - fight the banksters.


View Profile WWW
June 27, 2018, 06:21:08 AM
 #2

So it seems that there aren't any new Bitcoiners that are running full nodes. This is unfortunate if it is a general problem, as we need a supply of fresh nodes to preserve the decentralisation of Bitcoin. Running a pruned node is not so much of a hardship, but downloading the blockchain is a bit of a barrier. I'll see if I can think of a way to avoid having to do this.

IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT THE FIT TO TALK PROJECT
I have changed the registration procedure to make it easier to join.
Sign up now, and help Bitcoin Talk by improving your English.
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1143


bc1qdj5v2q8p398rdy6sexc0fapk4hcq0p54xz56ez


View Profile
June 27, 2018, 11:48:51 AM
 #3

So it seems that there aren't any new Bitcoiners that are running full nodes. This is unfortunate if it is a general problem, as we need a supply of fresh nodes to preserve the decentralisation of Bitcoin. Running a pruned node is not so much of a hardship, but downloading the blockchain is a bit of a barrier. I'll see if I can think of a way to avoid having to do this.

I was hoping to find a solution to that also though I'm still waiting for my chain to download (I'm about 50 weeks behind). On my slow laptop, I have to say that I'm finding it an issue to keep it running - the full blockchain should be there in a few weeks. I'm using a 500GB HDD, my dbcache is 2gb with 4gb RAM and a dual core 2.5GHz processor.

@,jet cash, the download speed is A LOT faster now than it previously was when I  and probably you first installed it.



Bump!

boulderchain
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 5


View Profile
June 29, 2018, 06:39:51 PM
 #4

The first full node that I installed was from Ethereum. It took ages and this was the time I decided to invest in new hardware Cheesy

The bitcoin setup was compared to ethereum quite easy. Just downloaded the source and used this tutorial to build the wallet and the daemon.
https://bitzuma.com/posts/compile-bitcoin-core-from-source-on-ubuntu/

Currently the wallet is not running 24/7, but I have planned to move it into a VM on a server.

★ PRiVCY ➢ Own Your Privacy! ➢ Best privacy crypto-market! ★
✈✈✈[PoW/PoS]✅[Tor]✅[Airdrop]✈✈✈ (https://privcy.io/)
bedulook
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 29, 2018, 06:47:28 PM
 #5

I am now in the process, I have downloaded the bitcoincore but getting familiarize with it. I intent spending my time on alternative currency mining with masternodes and learn how things work. I am dedicating my second notebook, lenovo thinkpad as guinnea pig in this process.
boulderchain
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 5


View Profile
June 29, 2018, 07:21:28 PM
Merited by Jet Cash (1)
 #6

Ok, this thread was the motivation I needed to set it up again. Decided to check how long it will take to set up a new VPS and compile the wallet.

I used this guide to build the wallet.
https://gist.githubusercontent.com/itoonx/95aec9a3b4da01fd1fd724dffc056963/raw/72d1b8e1a5ae836b73192b50eaee35ccd75411d9/Compile%2520Bitcoin%2520Core%2520on%2520Ubuntu%252016.04%2520LTS

I got one error and I had to install libdb to fix it.
Code:
sudo apt-get install -y libdb4.8-dev libdb4.8++-dev

Next error
Quote
virtual memory exhausted: Cannot allocate memory

Moved to a local virtual machine with enough hardware resources, instead of the cloud server I used before.

While I was compiling the wallet on the other machine, I realized that the cloud server doesn't have enough storage.

Ok, enough troubleshooting for today. No bitcoin node for the moment.

Effort so far: about 30 minutes.

★ PRiVCY ➢ Own Your Privacy! ➢ Best privacy crypto-market! ★
✈✈✈[PoW/PoS]✅[Tor]✅[Airdrop]✈✈✈ (https://privcy.io/)
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1143


bc1qdj5v2q8p398rdy6sexc0fapk4hcq0p54xz56ez


View Profile
June 29, 2018, 07:33:24 PM
 #7

Ok, this thread was the motivation I needed to set it up again. Decided to check how long it will take to set up a new VPS and compile the wallet.

I used this guide to build the wallet.
https://gist.githubusercontent.com/itoonx/95aec9a3b4da01fd1fd724dffc056963/raw/72d1b8e1a5ae836b73192b50eaee35ccd75411d9/Compile%2520Bitcoin%2520Core%2520on%2520Ubuntu%252016.04%2520LTS

I got one error and I had to install libdb to fix it.
Code:
sudo apt-get install -y libdb4.8-dev libdb4.8++-dev

Next error
Quote
virtual memory exhausted: Cannot allocate memory

Moved to a local virtual machine with enough hardware resources, instead of the cloud server I used before.

While I was compiling the wallet on the other machine, I realized that the cloud server doesn't have enough storage.

Ok, enough troubleshooting for today. No bitcoin node for the moment.

Effort so far: about 30 minutes.

Yes, running it on a VPS is not a good idea I found out also (they're generally against it as well so they might limit your usage to make it harder for you to run one).

Bitnodes have a small script you can run if you're on unix curl https://bitnodes.earn.com/install-full-node.sh | sh.
If you're on windows, I'd say it's very easy to run as all the dependencies are already there - though I had a real issue with running it on linux when I started).

boulderchain
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 5


View Profile
June 29, 2018, 08:30:29 PM
 #8

Yes, running it on a VPS is not a good idea I found out also (they're generally against it as well so they might limit your usage to make it harder for you to run one).

Bitnodes have a small script you can run if you're on unix curl https://bitnodes.earn.com/install-full-node.sh | sh.
If you're on windows, I'd say it's very easy to run as all the dependencies are already there - though I had a real issue with running it on linux when I started).

Thank you. Had another error caused due too low ram.
Quote
g++: internal compiler error: Killed (program cc1plus)

After I increased the resources the script finished successfully. I used the above script from my previous post.

★ PRiVCY ➢ Own Your Privacy! ➢ Best privacy crypto-market! ★
✈✈✈[PoW/PoS]✅[Tor]✅[Airdrop]✈✈✈ (https://privcy.io/)
darkangel11
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1056


★OneHash.com - Leading Mutual Betting & Casi


View Profile
June 29, 2018, 09:01:15 PM
 #9

I was running a full node from 2014 to 2016 and quit somewhere at that time due to certain issues that made me hate the core client. The first one was a corrupt database. I think I ended up having a power shortage during an update and whole thing got fucked, so I had to download it all from scratch. I was running low on disk space, so I connected an external USB drive to my laptop and again, after a few days of downloading I must've moved the plug by accident and it lost connection with the drive when it was in write mode which screwed up the database again. On top of that BTC was below 500 USD back then, which made me feel like it was all a waste of time, not worth of my time.
Running a full node is becoming more and more troublesome.

Not a newbie, but just wanted to share Wink

kofibee12
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 134
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 29, 2018, 11:36:16 PM
 #10

I am going to run a node and get back to this post to prove it and obtain the merit from you. I will request for assistance if I fail to do it myself.
Jet Cash
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1345


Debt is slavery - fight the banksters.


View Profile WWW
June 30, 2018, 07:12:00 AM
 #11

I am going to run a node and get back to this post to prove it and obtain the merit from you. I will request for assistance if I fail to do it myself.

Let us know about your computer setup, and how long it takes to download the blockchain.

IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT THE FIT TO TALK PROJECT
I have changed the registration procedure to make it easier to join.
Sign up now, and help Bitcoin Talk by improving your English.
arde13
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 5


View Profile
July 29, 2018, 05:49:31 PM
 #12

I started installing the node according to this guide: https://bitcoin.org/en/full-node

And while the synchronization is in progress, I found that the node will not work without the static IP address. As I understand it, my ISP does not allow me to open an incoming port. Please, correct me if I'm wrong.

I ordered a static IP service and will continue installation in a couple of days, just at this point the synchronization of the network will end.
boulderchain
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 5


View Profile
July 30, 2018, 04:07:57 PM
 #13

I started installing the node according to this guide: https://bitcoin.org/en/full-node

And while the synchronization is in progress, I found that the node will not work without the static IP address. As I understand it, my ISP does not allow me to open an incoming port. Please, correct me if I'm wrong.

I ordered a static IP service and will continue installation in a couple of days, just at this point the synchronization of the network will end.

You don't need a static ip to run a full node.

Your ISP can't disallow incoming traffic. You just need to open the ports in your firewall and router. An alternative would be to publish your service via tor, then you don't need an incoming port.

★ PRiVCY ➢ Own Your Privacy! ➢ Best privacy crypto-market! ★
✈✈✈[PoW/PoS]✅[Tor]✅[Airdrop]✈✈✈ (https://privcy.io/)
Jet Cash
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1345


Debt is slavery - fight the banksters.


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2018, 04:42:44 PM
 #14

You don't need a static IP as has been stated. I run a couple of nodes over public WiFi, but the problem that I have is that not all WiFi services allow you to access port 8333.

IMPORTANT NOTE ABOUT THE FIT TO TALK PROJECT
I have changed the registration procedure to make it easier to join.
Sign up now, and help Bitcoin Talk by improving your English.
arde13
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 5


View Profile
August 17, 2018, 03:40:53 PM
 #15

Ok, I have installed the node and synchronized the blockchain

The core works, but without incoming connections:




Then I started opening ports according to this guide https://bitcoin.org/en/full-node#network-configuration

I assigned a static IP to the local network




And opened the port 8333 in the router for the computer running the node




The port remained closed.
I found out that my router is connected to the Internet through another router in series.
I set up a static IP in the second router




And opened port 8333



The port is still closed.
I checked the Windows firewall, everything is open for Bitcoin Core. I added a special rule for 8333, there is no result.
I called to support of my ISP, port 8333 is open.
I do not know what to do. Perhaps you have some advice?
TryNinja
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854
Merit: 833


ChipMixer's Badge of Honor


View Profile
August 17, 2018, 11:28:44 PM
 #16

~
You can confirm if the port is open and can be reached with this website[1]. Make sure Core is running.

[1] http://canyouseeme.org/

arde13
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 5


View Profile
August 18, 2018, 11:28:55 AM
 #17

~
You can confirm if the port is open and can be reached with this website[1]. Make sure Core is running.

[1] http://canyouseeme.org/

Thank you, I used this service: https://bitnodes.earn.com/#join-the-network
But they all tell me the same: port is closed
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1143


bc1qdj5v2q8p398rdy6sexc0fapk4hcq0p54xz56ez


View Profile
August 23, 2018, 12:12:39 PM
 #18

~snip~

Go here and type in your IP address and see if it shows up (scroll down to "Join the Network").

If it doesn't, use a differnet port like 22 for core to connect through.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!