Bitcoin Forum
October 21, 2021, 06:06:20 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Is Bios Mod really necessary for AMD ? (Or Afterburner is enough)  (Read 159 times)
gameboy366
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 8


View Profile
June 27, 2018, 02:55:23 PM
Last edit: June 27, 2018, 05:53:48 PM by gameboy366
 #1

I have only Nvidia rigs so I haven't felt the need to bios mod. Just software OC is working good for me.
My electricity costs $.06
But now I have some RX 570, so is bios modding worth it or software OC is enough ?
1634839580
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1634839580

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1634839580
Reply with quote  #2

1634839580
Report to moderator
1634839580
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1634839580

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1634839580
Reply with quote  #2

1634839580
Report to moderator
1634839580
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1634839580

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1634839580
Reply with quote  #2

1634839580
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
tg88
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 697



View Profile
June 27, 2018, 03:01:45 PM
 #2

I have only Nvidia rigs so I haven't felt the need to bios mod. Just software OC is working good for me.
My electricity costs $.06
Buy now I have some RX 570, so is bios modding worth it or software OC is enough ?

AMD needs BIOSmod + Undervolt and overclocking.

                 ▄▄█████▄
               ▄████▀▀▀▀█▌
             ▄████▀    ▀▄▀
    ▄ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀█▀       █▌
 ▄█▀▄▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██▄▄     ▄█▀
██▌        ██▄▀▀█▀▀▄▄██▀
███▄▄▄     ███ ▄▄███▀▀
 ▀▀███████ ███▐██▀▀▄██
     ▀▀▀▀▀ ███     ███▌
           ▐██     ▐██▌
           ▐██▄    ▐██
            ▀██▄ ▄▄█▀
              ▀██▄▄
Catena



▀██     ▄██▀
██▄ ▄██▀
▀█████
██
▄█████
██▀ ▀██▄
▄██     ▀██▄
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
.
...E x p e r i e n c e   t h e   F u t u r e   o f   D e F i...
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████▀███████▀   ▀▀▀▄█████
█████▌  ▀▀███▌       ▄█████
█████▀               ██████
█████▄              ███████
██████▄            ████████
███████▄▄        ▄█████████
██████▄       ▄████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████

▀█████████████████████████
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████████████▀▀███████
█████████████▀▀▀    ███████
████████▀▀▀   ▄▀   ████████
█████▄     ▄█▀     ████████
████████▄ █▀      █████████
█████████▌▐       █████████
██████████ ▄██▄  ██████████
████████████████▄██████████
███████████████████████████

▀█████████████████████████▀
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████ ██ ████████████
███████▀▀▀▀ ▀▀ ▀▀██████████
████████▄   ▄▄▄▄  ▀████████
█████████   ████   ████████
█████████         ▀████████
█████████   ████    ███████
████████▀   ▀▀▀▀   ▄███████
███████▄▄▄▄ ▄▄ ▄▄▄█████████
███████████ ██ ████████████
███████████████████████████

▀█████████████████████████▀
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
██████▀▀███████████▀▀██████
██████    ▀     ▀    ██████
██████               ██████
█████▌               ▐█████
█████                 █████
█████▌               ▐█████
███████▄           ▄███████
████▄▀████▀     ▀██████████
█████▄ ▀▀▀       ██████████
███████▄▄▄       ██████████

▀█████████████████████████▀
Bug catcher
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 27, 2018, 06:50:57 PM
 #3

You probably have to google for rx480/rx580 custom timings or try to find Jascha Knack Polaris Bios editor with integrated custom timings.
This is his github link:
https://github.com/jaschaknack/PolarisBiosEditor
Temporary (or forever) down  Sad
swogerino
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226
Merit: 1083



View Profile
June 27, 2018, 07:02:22 PM
 #4

I have only Nvidia rigs so I haven't felt the need to bios mod. Just software OC is working good for me.
My electricity costs $.06
But now I have some RX 570, so is bios modding worth it or software OC is enough ?


It depends on the memory of the card and the size of Vram. If you have Samsung memory and the card is 8 Gb in Vram it can mine with little overclocking from the MSI Afterburner tool 30-31 mhs easily for the top brand like Sapphire of Rx 570.

If it is 4 Gb of Vram and not a Samsung memory then the bios mod is worth it because it makes it mine almost 30 mhs from 23-24 which is the stock setting for the 4 Gb Vram card.

MagicSmoker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 182



View Profile
June 27, 2018, 07:08:19 PM
 #5

I have 2GB RX 560 and 4GB RX570 and neither mine worth a crap unless in Compute mode and with custom BIOS and/or clocks/voltages.

Also note that MSI AB stops working correctly if more than 3 AMD cards are present (no such restriction on Nvidia). Or, at least, that has been my experience. So, you have to use the much less friendly (but more capable, really) OverDrivenTool to tweak clocks/voltages. Also don't forget the infamous Pixel Clock Patcher to get Windows to recognize your cards if you do load a modded BIOS. AMD is a real PITA to use, but worth it for Ethash and Cryptonight (forks).

swogerino
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226
Merit: 1083



View Profile
June 27, 2018, 07:53:20 PM
 #6

I have 2GB RX 560 and 4GB RX570 and neither mine worth a crap unless in Compute mode and with custom BIOS and/or clocks/voltages.

Also note that MSI AB stops working correctly if more than 3 AMD cards are present (no such restriction on Nvidia). Or, at least, that has been my experience. So, you have to use the much less friendly (but more capable, really) OverDrivenTool to tweak clocks/voltages. Also don't forget the infamous Pixel Clock Patcher to get Windows to recognize your cards if you do load a modded BIOS. AMD is a real PITA to use, but worth it for Ethash and Cryptonight (forks).



If MSI can't recognize more than 3 cards it is your error of some kind. Probably you are using an outdated version which doesn't work well with Compute mode and latest AMD driver. To fix this MSI has released lately their latest version 4.5.0 which offers great support for both drivers, the blockchain and the Adrenaline latest driver from AMD.

MagicSmoker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 182



View Profile
June 27, 2018, 07:57:39 PM
 #7

I have 2GB RX 560 and 4GB RX570 and neither mine worth a crap unless in Compute mode and with custom BIOS and/or clocks/voltages.

Also note that MSI AB stops working correctly if more than 3 AMD cards are present (no such restriction on Nvidia). Or, at least, that has been my experience. So, you have to use the much less friendly (but more capable, really) OverDrivenTool to tweak clocks/voltages. Also don't forget the infamous Pixel Clock Patcher to get Windows to recognize your cards if you do load a modded BIOS. AMD is a real PITA to use, but worth it for Ethash and Cryptonight (forks).



If MSI can't recognize more than 3 cards it is your error of some kind. Probably you are using an outdated version which doesn't work well with Compute mode and latest AMD driver. To fix this MSI has released lately their latest version 4.5.0 which offers great support for both drivers, the blockchain and the Adrenaline latest driver from AMD.

Ah, that's it, then - I'm still on 4.3.0.
Bug catcher
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 28, 2018, 06:06:02 AM
 #8

I have 2GB RX 560 and 4GB RX570 and neither mine worth a crap unless in Compute mode and with custom BIOS and/or clocks/voltages.

Also note that MSI AB stops working correctly if more than 3 AMD cards are present (no such restriction on Nvidia). Or, at least, that has been my experience. So, you have to use the much less friendly (but more capable, really) OverDrivenTool to tweak clocks/voltages. Also don't forget the infamous Pixel Clock Patcher to get Windows to recognize your cards if you do load a modded BIOS. AMD is a real PITA to use, but worth it for Ethash and Cryptonight (forks).



If MSI can't recognize more than 3 cards it is your error of some kind. Probably you are using an outdated version which doesn't work well with Compute mode and latest AMD driver. To fix this MSI has released lately their latest version 4.5.0 which offers great support for both drivers, the blockchain and the Adrenaline latest driver from AMD.

Ah, that's it, then - I'm still on 4.3.0.
If you are using claymore or phoenix miner, you can set your clocks and your undervolting directly in your batch file.
This are the parameters for both miners:
-mclock (memory clock)
-cclock (gpu clock)
-cvddc (gpu voltage)
-mvddc (memory voltage)
Nestade
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008
Merit: 535



View Profile
June 28, 2018, 06:34:32 AM
 #9

Well, I couldn't get a decent hashrate without VGABIOS-Modding on my RX480 - however it has a BIOS-Switch so it's not that easy accidentally bricking your card.

██████
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██████
             ▄██▄
   ▄██▄      ▀█▀▀     ▄██▄
   ▀██▀▄  ▄▄█████▄▄  ▐███▀
       ███████████████
      ████████▀▄▄▄▀████
 ▄▄  ▐███▀▄▀██▄▀▀▀▄█████  ▄▄
████▀█████▄███▀▀█████ ██▀████
 ▀▀  ▐███▄███ ██ ████ █▌  ▀▀
      ▀████▄██▄▄███▀▄█▀
    ▄▄ █▀██████▀▄▄▄█▀█ ▄▄
   ████▀   ▀▀▀█▀▀▀   ▐████
    ▀▀       ▄██▄      ▀▀
             ▀██▀
██████
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██████
⟩ ⟩             ▄▄▄
  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█   █▄
 █           ▀▀▀  █
 ▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀
▄▀▀ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▀▀▄
█ ▄▀ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄    ▀█ █
█ █ █       █    █ ▄
█ █ ▄▀▀▀▀▀▀▄▄    █ █
█ █ ▀▄▄▄▄▀▀▄▄▀▀▄ █ █
█ █ █   █  ██  █ █ █
█ █ ▄▀▀▀▀▄▄▀▀▄▄▀ █ █
█ ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ █
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
⟩ ⟩       ▄████▄  ▄████▄
      ████████████████
      ████████████████
       ██████████████
        ▀██████████▀
██        ▀██████▀        ██
██▌   ▄            ▄   ▐██
███  ███▄          ▄███  ███
▀███▄ ▀███▄      ▄███▀ ▄███▀
  ▀████████      ████████▀
     ▀████▀      ▀████▀
     ▄   ▄▄      ▄▄   ▄
     ▀█████      █████▀
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!