Bitcoin Forum
October 20, 2017, 06:27:22 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: First mining rig  (Read 1567 times)
Mr. Hanky
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 05:43:26 PM
 #1

I've put together a rig consisting of 4x 7950s in a milkcrate with powered risers running on BAMT r9 1.3 from USB drive. 1000w EVGA PS pulling 1100 at the wall.  This thing is currently keeping my garage above freezing but it is not as stable as i'd like. 

it seems to work great most of the time but occassionally i'll notice a card shuts down for no apparent reason, or my CPU usage pegs and the system is unresponsive. Last night I had 1 card that kept throttling back and reving its fan up as it was banging around 70c when the other cards were mid to low 60s. I can usually issue a coldreboot and it'll come back up and work fine for a while again. Sometimes after coldreboot it comes back up, i can ping it but no Remote Desktop availability. I have to Putty in and do another coldreboot or go physically reset the machine.

nothing is overclocked and BAMT seems to be adjusting voltage on the cards while running 2.2-2.3 Mh using the default config.  I'd like to get this thing stable then start tweaking the voltages down adjusting hashes/card... Is PS likely the problem? It seems to do alright so long as i just let it go but if i start trying to switch pools or am constantly monitoring the hashrates is when i notice issues.  BAMT r9 1.3



1508524042
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508524042

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508524042
Reply with quote  #2

1508524042
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Mr. Hanky
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
February 09, 2014, 11:43:34 PM
 #2

could a flakey SD drive be the issue?
leancuisine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


www.DonateMedia.org


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2014, 12:24:05 AM
 #3

could a flakey SD drive be the issue?
Are you using a USB or a SD drive?

crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
February 10, 2014, 06:14:24 AM
 #4

could a flakey SD drive be the issue?
Are you using a USB or a SD drive?

I've put together a rig consisting of 4x 7950s in a milkcrate with powered risers running on BAMT r9 1.3 from USB drive.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
leancuisine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


www.DonateMedia.org


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2014, 09:31:15 PM
 #5

could a flakey SD drive be the issue?
Are you using a USB or a SD drive?

I've put together a rig consisting of 4x 7950s in a milkcrate with powered risers running on BAMT r9 1.3 from USB drive.
I know, I was wondering why flakey was saying if a SD drive would be the issue if flakey was using a USB drive.

MoneyMorpheus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2014, 09:56:19 PM
 #6

I'm thinking you are asking too much power to the psu it becomes unstable at some point. I'm not really sure a 1000w psu can handle 4 gpus and the rest of the rig, but if it can it would be with some undervolting.

Psu's are not meant to be used at full capacity 24/7, you should either leave some room or modify its cooling. I would bet that your psu is running hot.

Best altcoin exchange: https://vircurex.com/welcome/index?referral_id=241-35101
https://bter.com/signup/121418 | You may run into issues some time, but support will take care of you threw qq in chinese hours
1EGoA5LMV391Psf8ZHShTkTd3tQ6URKQEp
Kenshin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
February 10, 2014, 10:00:27 PM
 #7

I've put together a rig consisting of 4x 7950s in a milkcrate with powered risers running on BAMT r9 1.3 from USB drive. 1000w EVGA PS pulling 1100 at the wall.  This thing is currently keeping my garage above freezing but it is not as stable as i'd like. 

it seems to work great most of the time but occassionally i'll notice a card shuts down for no apparent reason, or my CPU usage pegs and the system is unresponsive. Last night I had 1 card that kept throttling back and reving its fan up as it was banging around 70c when the other cards were mid to low 60s. I can usually issue a coldreboot and it'll come back up and work fine for a while again. Sometimes after coldreboot it comes back up, i can ping it but no Remote Desktop availability. I have to Putty in and do another coldreboot or go physically reset the machine.

nothing is overclocked and BAMT seems to be adjusting voltage on the cards while running 2.2-2.3 Mh using the default config.  I'd like to get this thing stable then start tweaking the voltages down adjusting hashes/card... Is PS likely the problem? It seems to do alright so long as i just let it go but if i start trying to switch pools or am constantly monitoring the hashrates is when i notice issues.  BAMT r9 1.3





Are you using Windows? If so, install cgwatcher
pontiacg5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
February 10, 2014, 10:02:02 PM
 #8

I'm thinking you are asking too much power to the psu it becomes unstable at some point. I'm not really sure a 1000w psu can handle 4 gpus and the rest of the rig, but if it can it would be with some undervolting.

Psu's are not meant to be used at full capacity 24/7, you should either leave some room or modify its cooling. I would bet that your psu is running hot.

7950's are 200W cards, and 1.1kW from the wall = 880W from a 80+ power supply, like that evga. Seems about perfect to me, even within 80% max load like I'd recommend. What is it you were saying again?

Fans revving and randomly going dead while mining sounds like a riser issue to me. When the cards die, is it usually the same card in cgminer? You've shuffled them (the cards) around a bit already, right?





Please DO NOT send me private messages asking for help setting up GPU miners. I will not respond!!!
pontiacg5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
February 10, 2014, 10:02:37 PM
 #9

I've put together a rig consisting of 4x 7950s in a milkcrate with powered risers running on BAMT r9 1.3 from USB drive. 1000w EVGA PS pulling 1100 at the wall.  This thing is currently keeping my garage above freezing but it is not as stable as i'd like. 

it seems to work great most of the time but occassionally i'll notice a card shuts down for no apparent reason, or my CPU usage pegs and the system is unresponsive. Last night I had 1 card that kept throttling back and reving its fan up as it was banging around 70c when the other cards were mid to low 60s. I can usually issue a coldreboot and it'll come back up and work fine for a while again. Sometimes after coldreboot it comes back up, i can ping it but no Remote Desktop availability. I have to Putty in and do another coldreboot or go physically reset the machine.

nothing is overclocked and BAMT seems to be adjusting voltage on the cards while running 2.2-2.3 Mh using the default config.  I'd like to get this thing stable then start tweaking the voltages down adjusting hashes/card... Is PS likely the problem? It seems to do alright so long as i just let it go but if i start trying to switch pools or am constantly monitoring the hashrates is when i notice issues.  BAMT r9 1.3





Are you using Windows? If so, install cgwatcher

Serious?

If you people can't read, don't freaking post. You aren't doing anyone any good.

Please DO NOT send me private messages asking for help setting up GPU miners. I will not respond!!!
MoneyMorpheus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile WWW
February 10, 2014, 11:51:53 PM
 #10

I'm thinking you are asking too much power to the psu it becomes unstable at some point. I'm not really sure a 1000w psu can handle 4 gpus and the rest of the rig, but if it can it would be with some undervolting.

Psu's are not meant to be used at full capacity 24/7, you should either leave some room or modify its cooling. I would bet that your psu is running hot.

7950's are 200W cards, and 1.1kW from the wall = 880W from a 80+ power supply, like that evga. Seems about perfect to me, even within 80% max load like I'd recommend. What is it you were saying again?

Fans revving and randomly going dead while mining sounds like a riser issue to me. When the cards die, is it usually the same card in cgminer? You've shuffled them (the cards) around a bit already, right?






You are assuming the OP uses 120v and not 220v. If he is using 220 he is using almost 1kW from the psu. Also I've read each 7950 draws 225w on stock volts, x4=900w. If he has a cheap 60w cpu and only 2 slots of ram filled he is at 990w. If he is using some good cpu then he is already over the psu maximum capacity. A good psu will shut off if you demand more than it can handle.

Best altcoin exchange: https://vircurex.com/welcome/index?referral_id=241-35101
https://bter.com/signup/121418 | You may run into issues some time, but support will take care of you threw qq in chinese hours
1EGoA5LMV391Psf8ZHShTkTd3tQ6URKQEp
steelmythos
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
February 11, 2014, 12:12:23 AM
 #11

Hi all, I have a digitalOCean droplet running. does any one know how many workers to put on it for the optimal performance.

Thanks
leancuisine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


www.DonateMedia.org


View Profile WWW
February 11, 2014, 12:18:44 AM
 #12

Hi all, I have a digitalOCean droplet running. does any one know how many workers to put on it for the optimal performance.

Thanks
You should create another thread for this...

Just use one worker. Having multiple workers mining on the same machine doesn't make much sense.

pontiacg5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
February 11, 2014, 03:39:01 AM
 #13

I'm thinking you are asking too much power to the psu it becomes unstable at some point. I'm not really sure a 1000w psu can handle 4 gpus and the rest of the rig, but if it can it would be with some undervolting.

Psu's are not meant to be used at full capacity 24/7, you should either leave some room or modify its cooling. I would bet that your psu is running hot.

7950's are 200W cards, and 1.1kW from the wall = 880W from a 80+ power supply, like that evga. Seems about perfect to me, even within 80% max load like I'd recommend. What is it you were saying again?

Fans revving and randomly going dead while mining sounds like a riser issue to me. When the cards die, is it usually the same card in cgminer? You've shuffled them (the cards) around a bit already, right?


You are assuming the OP uses 120v and not 220v. If he is using 220 he is using almost 1kW from the psu. Also I've read each 7950 draws 225w on stock volts, x4=900w. If he has a cheap 60w cpu and only 2 slots of ram filled he is at 990w. If he is using some good cpu then he is already over the psu maximum capacity. A good psu will shut off if you demand more than it can handle.

1100W from the wall is 1100W, period. All else is irrelevant, no matter what you've "read." Do you even know what we are discussing here?

If he is using 240V, and that's a long shot, the PSU should be more like 85-90% efficient. That would still be 990W at the very most, which I know that power supply is more than capable of doing. If you are so sure he is overloading the power supply, he would see a hell of a lot more than 1100W at the wall. Of course you know power supply efficiency drops a lot when very near the rated capacity, right  Roll Eyes










Please DO NOT send me private messages asking for help setting up GPU miners. I will not respond!!!
MoneyMorpheus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile WWW
February 11, 2014, 04:42:02 AM
 #14

I'm thinking you are asking too much power to the psu it becomes unstable at some point. I'm not really sure a 1000w psu can handle 4 gpus and the rest of the rig, but if it can it would be with some undervolting.

Psu's are not meant to be used at full capacity 24/7, you should either leave some room or modify its cooling. I would bet that your psu is running hot.

7950's are 200W cards, and 1.1kW from the wall = 880W from a 80+ power supply, like that evga. Seems about perfect to me, even within 80% max load like I'd recommend. What is it you were saying again?

Fans revving and randomly going dead while mining sounds like a riser issue to me. When the cards die, is it usually the same card in cgminer? You've shuffled them (the cards) around a bit already, right?


You are assuming the OP uses 120v and not 220v. If he is using 220 he is using almost 1kW from the psu. Also I've read each 7950 draws 225w on stock volts, x4=900w. If he has a cheap 60w cpu and only 2 slots of ram filled he is at 990w. If he is using some good cpu then he is already over the psu maximum capacity. A good psu will shut off if you demand more than it can handle.

1100W from the wall is 1100W, period. All else is irrelevant, no matter what you've "read." Do you even know what we are discussing here?

If he is using 240V, and that's a long shot, the PSU should be more like 85-90% efficient. That would still be 990W at the very most, which I know that power supply is more than capable of doing. If you are so sure he is overloading the power supply, he would see a hell of a lot more than 1100W at the wall. Of course you know power supply efficiency drops a lot when very near the rated capacity, right  Roll Eyes


I think we are discussing possible reasons of an unstable system. You might be right on the wattage of the cards, but I could still be right about the psu being pushed to its limits.

OP has not stated how much ram and what cpu it has. Their wattage could vary from 75w to 200w easily.

He hasn't as well told us how he measured the the current at the wall. Clamp meters can be innacurate if used incorrectly. He might have used a kill-a-watt though.

220v is not that far-fetched, most of the world has 220v.

And if he managed to position his psu in a way it absorbs some heat from the gpus, the psu might overheat and produce some voltage drops. Since psu its working in between its limits the protection doesn't trigger and the rig remains on.

Other than that the only things that is coming to mind for the rig to become unresponsive would be the ram. A bad ram or insufficient ram making some of the cards produce hardware errors that could make it unresponsive or make cgminer call a gpu sick.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not here to argue with you, but in my experience, when troubleshooting some issue, it is always better to keep an open mind about it  Wink

We still need more information to be certain on what the problem is. But I don't think my answer was that crazy though...

Best altcoin exchange: https://vircurex.com/welcome/index?referral_id=241-35101
https://bter.com/signup/121418 | You may run into issues some time, but support will take care of you threw qq in chinese hours
1EGoA5LMV391Psf8ZHShTkTd3tQ6URKQEp
Mr. Hanky
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
February 24, 2014, 01:06:14 AM
 #15

sorry i haven't come back to this for a while... Power was measured at the wall with a kill-a-watt, 120v. System is running rock solid since moving to Litecoin-BAMT 1.4. I think there must have been some driver issues causing the instabilities on the original BAMT install
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!