Bitcoin Forum
May 09, 2024, 12:41:06 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can Segregated Witness cause problems under contractual laws?  (Read 116 times)
ash_waz (OP)

Activity: 57
Merit: 8

Passionate learner and writer

View Profile
June 28, 2018, 06:50:44 PM
Last edit: June 28, 2018, 07:02:07 PM by ash_waz

Hello,

First I need to say, I am few months into the world of crypto and a absolute newbie in terms of the technical aspectof things, so please bear with me in my effort to learn and understand.

In my understanding segregated witness was introduced as a solution to solve the problem of transaction malleability, this is where anyone could do small modifications which changed the transaction ID and subsequent transaction hash but not the content. This necessarily dint cause any problem to the function of the Bitcoin network but prevented more complex features being added such as lightning network and smart contracts. While addressing the transaction malleability problem of Bitcoin it also addressed the much contentious scaling issue surrounding Bitcoin.

A Bitcoin transaction could be considered as having two parts, that is the transaction data  & signature/witness data. Signature data verifies the persons involved and authenticates they sent/received the transaction. In SegWit this signature data is considered important only when transaction is being validated and of no value thereafter.