Bitcoin Forum
April 26, 2024, 04:52:29 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Older client to newer client: `Invalid bitcoin address`  (Read 2699 times)
jago25_98 (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 900
Merit: 1000


Crypto Geek


View Profile WWW
September 30, 2011, 10:20:12 PM
 #1

I've noticed that if an older Bitcoin client tries to send to some address we get

`invalid bitcoin address`. Thus we are dependent on being able to access the later release in order to send coins? Or just to send coins to newer addresses?


Bitcoiner since the early days. Crypto YouTube Channel: Trading Nomads | Analyst | News Reporter | Bitcoin Hodler | Support Freedom of Speech!
1714107149
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714107149

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714107149
Reply with quote  #2

1714107149
Report to moderator
1714107149
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714107149

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714107149
Reply with quote  #2

1714107149
Report to moderator
If you see garbage posts (off-topic, trolling, spam, no point, etc.), use the "report to moderator" links. All reports are investigated, though you will rarely be contacted about your reports.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714107149
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714107149

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714107149
Reply with quote  #2

1714107149
Report to moderator
1714107149
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714107149

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714107149
Reply with quote  #2

1714107149
Report to moderator
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1010


View Profile
September 30, 2011, 10:25:57 PM
 #2

I've noticed that if an older Bitcoin client tries to send to some address we get

`invalid bitcoin address`.

There is some validity checking in the client but there've not been any reports of that check in the older clients have any problem like that.  Would you provide an address with which you experience this specific problem?

Unichange.me

            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █


jago25_98 (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 900
Merit: 1000


Crypto Geek


View Profile WWW
October 01, 2011, 06:30:17 PM
 #3

from version 3.2.xxxish to any address from bitaddress.org. It sends fine from newer clients.

Bitcoiner since the early days. Crypto YouTube Channel: Trading Nomads | Analyst | News Reporter | Bitcoin Hodler | Support Freedom of Speech!
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1010


View Profile
October 01, 2011, 06:53:55 PM
 #4

from version 3.2.xxxish to any address from bitaddress.org. It sends fine from newer clients.

Just to make sure -- are you referring to an address generated by the current version of that script (v0.5 or greater)?  There was a problem with older versions.
 - http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=43496.0

Additionally, perhaps the problem has to do with the copy and paste you are attempting.
Try typing the code manually, or using a tool in the middle (e.g., paste to Notepad or a text editor and then select the text just pasted and copy it back to the clipboard) to troubleshoot this possibility.

Unichange.me

            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █


pointbiz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 437
Merit: 415

1ninja


View Profile
October 01, 2011, 08:03:42 PM
 #5

from version 3.2.xxxish to any address from bitaddress.org. It sends fine from newer clients.

If you could post the bitcoin address we could verify if it's valid. Other people have successfully transferred to bitcoin addresses generated by bitaddress.org from 0.3.2x clients.

Coder of: https://www.bitaddress.org      Thread
Open Source JavaScript Client-Side Bitcoin Wallet Generator
Donations: 1NiNja1bUmhSoTXozBRBEtR8LeF9TGbZBN   PGP
jago25_98 (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 900
Merit: 1000


Crypto Geek


View Profile WWW
October 01, 2011, 11:55:19 PM
 #6

With an address made just now:

Code:
j:~/bin$ ./bitcoind sendtoaddress 0.0001 1PyrrD1EnHminnFPipPGyve4HiVyJPKmGy
error: {"code":-4,"message":"Invalid bitcoin address"}

j:~/bin$ ./bitcoind getinfo
{
    "version" : 31900,

Bitcoiner since the early days. Crypto YouTube Channel: Trading Nomads | Analyst | News Reporter | Bitcoin Hodler | Support Freedom of Speech!
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1010


View Profile
October 02, 2011, 03:33:01 AM
 #7

With an address made just now:

Code:
j:~/bin$ ./bitcoind sendtoaddress 0.0001 1PyrrD1EnHminnFPipPGyve4HiVyJPKmGy
error: {"code":-4,"message":"Invalid bitcoin address"}

j:~/bin$ ./bitcoind getinfo
{
    "version" : 31900,


Is that v0.3.19 then, and not v0.3.2x?

Maybe that is an erroneous error message?  The minimum that could be sent at one point in time was 0.01 BTC, so maybe instead of saying invalid amount it is reporting invalid address?  Not saying the problem isn't with BitAddress, just trying to eliminate other possible reasons.

Unichange.me

            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █
            █


pointbiz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 437
Merit: 415

1ninja


View Profile
October 02, 2011, 03:48:10 AM
 #8

With an address made just now:

Code:
j:~/bin$ ./bitcoind sendtoaddress 0.0001 1PyrrD1EnHminnFPipPGyve4HiVyJPKmGy
error: {"code":-4,"message":"Invalid bitcoin address"}

j:~/bin$ ./bitcoind getinfo
{
    "version" : 31900,


BlockExplorer reports that it's a valid bitcoin address:
http://blockexplorer.com/q/checkaddress/1PyrrD1EnHminnFPipPGyve4HiVyJPKmGy

I don't have an explanation for the error you are receiving. Can you try sending it 0.02 BTC ?


Coder of: https://www.bitaddress.org      Thread
Open Source JavaScript Client-Side Bitcoin Wallet Generator
Donations: 1NiNja1bUmhSoTXozBRBEtR8LeF9TGbZBN   PGP
pointbiz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 437
Merit: 415

1ninja


View Profile
October 02, 2011, 04:15:59 AM
 #9

I just tried running v0.3.19 on Windows but I couldn't get that version of Bitcoin to open.

Coder of: https://www.bitaddress.org      Thread
Open Source JavaScript Client-Side Bitcoin Wallet Generator
Donations: 1NiNja1bUmhSoTXozBRBEtR8LeF9TGbZBN   PGP
Cusipzzz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 334
Merit: 250



View Profile
October 02, 2011, 04:25:57 AM
 #10

I just successfully sent .02 to that address from v3.19 with no issues.

I think it's a bad error message about precision, or just a scam to get a lot of people to send coins to that address. Congrats, you got me  Tongue

pointbiz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 437
Merit: 415

1ninja


View Profile
October 02, 2011, 05:33:46 AM
 #11

I just successfully sent .02 to that address from v3.19 with no issues.

I think it's a bad error message about precision, or just a scam to get a lot of people to send coins to that address. Congrats, you got me  Tongue

Many thanks, I consider the case closed.

Coder of: https://www.bitaddress.org      Thread
Open Source JavaScript Client-Side Bitcoin Wallet Generator
Donations: 1NiNja1bUmhSoTXozBRBEtR8LeF9TGbZBN   PGP
jago25_98 (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 900
Merit: 1000


Crypto Geek


View Profile WWW
October 02, 2011, 11:35:37 AM
 #12

I just successfully sent .02 to that address from v3.19 with no issues.

I think it's a bad error message about precision, or just a scam to get a lot of people to send coins to that address. Congrats, you got me  Tongue



Hey!

Still the same here. I only get the problem on one specific machine:

Code:
user@(removed):~/bin$ ./bitcoind sendtoaddress 0.1 1PyrrD1EnHminnFPipPGyve4HiVyJPKmGy test2
error: {"code":-4,"message":"Invalid bitcoin address"}
user@:~/bin$

Thanks for the coins - can't we send much smaller coins than 0.01 for testing though?

There must be something wrong with this particular client even though I can see the balance and everything else looks fine. I will try exporting the wallet into a new wallet and try again...

Bitcoiner since the early days. Crypto YouTube Channel: Trading Nomads | Analyst | News Reporter | Bitcoin Hodler | Support Freedom of Speech!
jago25_98 (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 900
Merit: 1000


Crypto Geek


View Profile WWW
October 02, 2011, 11:54:00 PM
 #13

I migrated the wallet and now have access.

I'll have to import that key somewhere and when I do I will send back the coins. I've just found the same problem again but on v3.24b; it effects $bitcoind but not the $bitcoin GUI and this is on a different box. Bit worrying to be honest in a way

Bitcoiner since the early days. Crypto YouTube Channel: Trading Nomads | Analyst | News Reporter | Bitcoin Hodler | Support Freedom of Speech!
pointbiz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 437
Merit: 415

1ninja


View Profile
October 03, 2011, 12:43:33 AM
 #14

I migrated the wallet and now have access.

I'll have to import that key somewhere and when I do I will send back the coins. I've just found the same problem again but on v3.24b; it effects $bitcoind but not the $bitcoin GUI and this is on a different box. Bit worrying to be honest in a way

Thanks for digging into this. I think you'll have to escalate this to one of the official client devs. I'm out of ideas for what your issue could be.

Coder of: https://www.bitaddress.org      Thread
Open Source JavaScript Client-Side Bitcoin Wallet Generator
Donations: 1NiNja1bUmhSoTXozBRBEtR8LeF9TGbZBN   PGP
twobitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 03, 2011, 01:42:26 AM
 #15

"sendtoaddress" expects the address first, then the amount.  "0.0001" is indeed an invalid bitcoin address.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!