Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 05:25:07 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Hiring somebody to help me setup my bitcoin mining rig. I can pay in bitcoins.  (Read 1402 times)
bbitcoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
October 01, 2011, 04:35:16 AM
 #1

Hi,

I'm having some trouble setting up my rig and I was hoping some experts here can help. I am hoping someone can assist me on my setup through AOL instant messaging. I can pay in Bitcoins for whoever can help me get my rig running. I want to setup a rig with 3x ATI 6870's and 2x 6950's, the mobo I'm using has 4 pcie x16 slots and 1 pcie x8 slots. I'll be using a riser cable on 1 of the cards and a pciex1 to pciex16 riser cable on the other. If I can't get all 5 cards to run, I'm willing to settle for 4 cards running. OS is Windows XP. I've tried to do it myself but it is not recognizing all the cards. I've tried plugging a monitor in it and still nothing. Sometimes I can get the system to recognize maybe 2 cards but not every card I put in. I don't have dummy plugs but I have tried to plug another monitor in it still doesn't work. Please reply if anyone can help me. Also, how much Bitcoins do you charge (please give me a quote in USD, I know that bitcoin's price fluctuates and I would like to get a fixed amount in USD)? After setup I would like to let the rig run for 1 day before submitting payment, to make sure nothing goes wrong. (I have setup a rig before and the rig just shuts down and restarts itself). I really like to get by rig up and running because right now I just got a bunch of cards sitting around doing nothing  Cry. Here are some of my specs

Mobo: MSI 790FX-GD70 (it has 4 pciex 16 slots, 1 pcie x8 slots, and 1 pci slots)
Gpus: 3x 6870, 2x 6950
PSU: 1200w watts
Rams: 2 gigs
HD: IDE 18 gigabyte
CPu: don't exactly remember but its some slow AMD cpu that most rigs use.

Thank you all for your time. Grin Grin
1481304307
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481304307

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481304307
Reply with quote  #2

1481304307
Report to moderator
1481304307
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481304307

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481304307
Reply with quote  #2

1481304307
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
October 01, 2011, 04:50:10 AM
 #2

get on msn i missed you the other day

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
graingert
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227


View Profile WWW
October 02, 2011, 05:32:08 AM
 #3

Stick ubuntu on it or bitcoin linux

It means you don't have to use fake VGA terminators etc

 *Image Removed*
kirax
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77


View Profile WWW
October 02, 2011, 04:03:29 PM
 #4

Hi,

I'm having some trouble setting up my rig and I was hoping some experts here can help. I am hoping someone can assist me on my setup through AOL instant messaging. I can pay in Bitcoins for whoever can help me get my rig running. I want to setup a rig with 3x ATI 6870's and 2x 6950's, the mobo I'm using has 4 pcie x16 slots and 1 pcie x8 slots. I'll be using a riser cable on 1 of the cards and a pciex1 to pciex16 riser cable on the other. If I can't get all 5 cards to run, I'm willing to settle for 4 cards running. OS is Windows XP. I've tried to do it myself but it is not recognizing all the cards. I've tried plugging a monitor in it and still nothing. Sometimes I can get the system to recognize maybe 2 cards but not every card I put in. I don't have dummy plugs but I have tried to plug another monitor in it still doesn't work. Please reply if anyone can help me. Also, how much Bitcoins do you charge (please give me a quote in USD, I know that bitcoin's price fluctuates and I would like to get a fixed amount in USD)? After setup I would like to let the rig run for 1 day before submitting payment, to make sure nothing goes wrong. (I have setup a rig before and the rig just shuts down and restarts itself). I really like to get by rig up and running because right now I just got a bunch of cards sitting around doing nothing  Cry. Here are some of my specs

Mobo: MSI 790FX-GD70 (it has 4 pciex 16 slots, 1 pcie x8 slots, and 1 pci slots)
Gpus: 3x 6870, 2x 6950
PSU: 1200w watts
Rams: 2 gigs
HD: IDE 18 gigabyte
CPu: don't exactly remember but its some slow AMD cpu that most rigs use.

Thank you all for your time. Grin Grin

Give BAMT a try, it auto detects the video cards, no terminators or monitors needed, and you just need to edit two files to get it up and running: About 60 seconds of work. Instructions to install it to a USB stick are on the BAMT page: http://www.aaronwolfe.com/bamt/.

VPS, shared, dedicated hosting at: electronstorm.ca. No bitcoin payment for that yet, but bitcoins possible for general IT, and mining/GPGPU rigs. PM for details.
ThiagoCMC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190


฿itcoin: Currency of Resistance!


View Profile WWW
October 02, 2011, 04:11:28 PM
 #5

Hi!

 I can do this for you.

 First, you need to do only two things:

 1- Install Ubuntu Natty 11.04 64 bits using the Alternate CD image found here:

 http://releases.ubuntu.com/natty/ubuntu-11.04-alternate-amd64.iso

 After done the installation, configure your network and install the following packages:

 2- run:

Code:
sudo aptitude install ssh screen

 If you wish, we can setup most of things using TeamViewer.

 And, add me at MSN, GTalk (preferred) or Skype:

 MSN: thiagocmartinsc@hotmail.com
 GTalk: thiagocmartinsc@gmail.com
 Skype: thiagocmartinsc

Best,
Thiago

Mercado Forex acessível para todos os Brasileiros que tenham Bitcoins! Cadastre-se hoje mesmo! Bastar acessar aqui: https://1broker.com/m/r.php?i=8879
Deafboy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 484



View Profile WWW
October 02, 2011, 08:08:03 PM
 #6

+1 for BAMT. Ready to mine in few minutes, and fancy graphs as a bonus (See signature)
Big Time Coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332



View Profile
October 04, 2011, 03:00:50 AM
 #7

You don't have to pay me to tell you this:

You need to have POWERED pci-e extenders to get more than 4 gpu on any motherboard, some motherboards can only handle 3.  With high power cards - 5970 and 6990 - you can only run 2 cards (4 gpu limit) without using powered extenders.

I almost burned out a motherboard b.c. of this once.

Big time, I'm on my way I'm making it, big time, oh yes
- Peter Gabriel
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 946



View Profile
October 04, 2011, 03:21:41 AM
 #8

You don't have to pay me to tell you this:

You need to have POWERED pci-e extenders to get more than 4 gpu on any motherboard, some motherboards can only handle 3.  With high power cards - 5970 and 6990 - you can only run 2 cards (4 gpu limit) without using powered extenders.

I almost burned out a motherboard b.c. of this once.

This.

Although I am currently running 2 5970s and a 6950 on a mobo without powered risers.

Reikoku
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


firstbits: 1kwc1p


View Profile
October 08, 2011, 03:42:08 AM
 #9

Is your 1200W PSU running at 1200W peak or constant? If constant is only say 900W it won't be enough to run 5 cards.

Rei | 1Kwc1pqv54jCg8jvnm3Gu1dqFQYhS34Bow
Trades So Far: 7
Redlips
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
July 07, 2016, 02:28:08 PM
 #10

I can help you on this bitcoin mining rig. Please PM me details
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!