Bitcoin Forum
September 22, 2017, 02:54:47 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Hiring somebody to help me setup my bitcoin mining rig. I can pay in bitcoins.  (Read 1476 times)
bbitcoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
October 01, 2011, 04:35:16 AM
 #1

Hi,

I'm having some trouble setting up my rig and I was hoping some experts here can help. I am hoping someone can assist me on my setup through AOL instant messaging. I can pay in Bitcoins for whoever can help me get my rig running. I want to setup a rig with 3x ATI 6870's and 2x 6950's, the mobo I'm using has 4 pcie x16 slots and 1 pcie x8 slots. I'll be using a riser cable on 1 of the cards and a pciex1 to pciex16 riser cable on the other. If I can't get all 5 cards to run, I'm willing to settle for 4 cards running. OS is Windows XP. I've tried to do it myself but it is not recognizing all the cards. I've tried plugging a monitor in it and still nothing. Sometimes I can get the system to recognize maybe 2 cards but not every card I put in. I don't have dummy plugs but I have tried to plug another monitor in it still doesn't work. Please reply if anyone can help me. Also, how much Bitcoins do you charge (please give me a quote in USD, I know that bitcoin's price fluctuates and I would like to get a fixed amount in USD)? After setup I would like to let the rig run for 1 day before submitting payment, to make sure nothing goes wrong. (I have setup a rig before and the rig just shuts down and restarts itself). I really like to get by rig up and running because right now I just got a bunch of cards sitting around doing nothing  Cry. Here are some of my specs

Mobo: MSI 790FX-GD70 (it has 4 pciex 16 slots, 1 pcie x8 slots, and 1 pci slots)
Gpus: 3x 6870, 2x 6950
PSU: 1200w watts
Rams: 2 gigs
HD: IDE 18 gigabyte
CPu: don't exactly remember but its some slow AMD cpu that most rigs use.

Thank you all for your time. Grin Grin
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1506048887
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506048887

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506048887
Reply with quote  #2

1506048887
Report to moderator
1506048887
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506048887

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506048887
Reply with quote  #2

1506048887
Report to moderator
1506048887
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506048887

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506048887
Reply with quote  #2

1506048887
Report to moderator
deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
October 01, 2011, 04:50:10 AM
 #2

get on msn i missed you the other day

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
graingert
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227


View Profile WWW
October 02, 2011, 05:32:08 AM
 #3

Stick ubuntu on it or bitcoin linux

It means you don't have to use fake VGA terminators etc

 *Image Removed*
kirax
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77


View Profile WWW
October 02, 2011, 04:03:29 PM
 #4

Hi,

I'm having some trouble setting up my rig and I was hoping some experts here can help. I am hoping someone can assist me on my setup through AOL instant messaging. I can pay in Bitcoins for whoever can help me get my rig running. I want to setup a rig with 3x ATI 6870's and 2x 6950's, the mobo I'm using has 4 pcie x16 slots and 1 pcie x8 slots. I'll be using a riser cable on 1 of the cards and a pciex1 to pciex16 riser cable on the other. If I can't get all 5 cards to run, I'm willing to settle for 4 cards running. OS is Windows XP. I've tried to do it myself but it is not recognizing all the cards. I've tried plugging a monitor in it and still nothing. Sometimes I can get the system to recognize maybe 2 cards but not every card I put in. I don't have dummy plugs but I have tried to plug another monitor in it still doesn't work. Please reply if anyone can help me. Also, how much Bitcoins do you charge (please give me a quote in USD, I know that bitcoin's price fluctuates and I would like to get a fixed amount in USD)? After setup I would like to let the rig run for 1 day before submitting payment, to make sure nothing goes wrong. (I have setup a rig before and the rig just shuts down and restarts itself). I really like to get by rig up and running because right now I just got a bunch of cards sitting around doing nothing  Cry. Here are some of my specs

Mobo: MSI 790FX-GD70 (it has 4 pciex 16 slots, 1 pcie x8 slots, and 1 pci slots)
Gpus: 3x 6870, 2x 6950
PSU: 1200w watts
Rams: 2 gigs
HD: IDE 18 gigabyte
CPu: don't exactly remember but its some slow AMD cpu that most rigs use.

Thank you all for your time. Grin Grin

Give BAMT a try, it auto detects the video cards, no terminators or monitors needed, and you just need to edit two files to get it up and running: About 60 seconds of work. Instructions to install it to a USB stick are on the BAMT page: http://www.aaronwolfe.com/bamt/.

VPS, shared, dedicated hosting at: electronstorm.ca. No bitcoin payment for that yet, but bitcoins possible for general IT, and mining/GPGPU rigs. PM for details.
ThiagoCMC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190

฿itcoin: Currency of Resistance!


View Profile
October 02, 2011, 04:11:28 PM
 #5

Hi!

 I can do this for you.

 First, you need to do only two things:

 1- Install Ubuntu Natty 11.04 64 bits using the Alternate CD image found here:

 http://releases.ubuntu.com/natty/ubuntu-11.04-alternate-amd64.iso

 After done the installation, configure your network and install the following packages:

 2- run:

Code:
sudo aptitude install ssh screen

 If you wish, we can setup most of things using TeamViewer.

 And, add me at MSN, GTalk (preferred) or Skype:

 MSN: thiagocmartinsc@hotmail.com
 GTalk: thiagocmartinsc@gmail.com
 Skype: thiagocmartinsc

Best,
Thiago
Deafboy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 484



View Profile WWW
October 02, 2011, 08:08:03 PM
 #6

+1 for BAMT. Ready to mine in few minutes, and fancy graphs as a bonus (See signature)
Big Time Coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332



View Profile
October 04, 2011, 03:00:50 AM
 #7

You don't have to pay me to tell you this:

You need to have POWERED pci-e extenders to get more than 4 gpu on any motherboard, some motherboards can only handle 3.  With high power cards - 5970 and 6990 - you can only run 2 cards (4 gpu limit) without using powered extenders.

I almost burned out a motherboard b.c. of this once.

Big time, I'm on my way I'm making it, big time, oh yes
- Peter Gabriel
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 946



View Profile
October 04, 2011, 03:21:41 AM
 #8

You don't have to pay me to tell you this:

You need to have POWERED pci-e extenders to get more than 4 gpu on any motherboard, some motherboards can only handle 3.  With high power cards - 5970 and 6990 - you can only run 2 cards (4 gpu limit) without using powered extenders.

I almost burned out a motherboard b.c. of this once.

This.

Although I am currently running 2 5970s and a 6950 on a mobo without powered risers.

Reikoku
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


firstbits: 1kwc1p


View Profile
October 08, 2011, 03:42:08 AM
 #9

Is your 1200W PSU running at 1200W peak or constant? If constant is only say 900W it won't be enough to run 5 cards.

Rei | 1Kwc1pqv54jCg8jvnm3Gu1dqFQYhS34Bow
Trades So Far: 7
Redlips
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
July 07, 2016, 02:28:08 PM
 #10

I can help you on this bitcoin mining rig. Please PM me details
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!