Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:23:22 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: What should Bitcoin-Qt do when encountering non-BTC amounts in bitcoin: URIs?
Leave "amount to send" blank (as if the URI did not have an amount) - 4 (44.4%)
Try to interpret it as BTC, and rely on the user to notice and correct it if wrong - 1 (11.1%)
Parse the amount, and convert it to BTC in the send dialog - 1 (11.1%)
Parse the amount (as above), and also promote/generate URIs using non-BTC units - 3 (33.3%)
Total Voters: 9

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin-Qt handling of non-BTC bitcoin: URIs  (Read 706 times)
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
October 05, 2011, 04:03:18 PM
 #1

Per the old bitcoin: URI scheme, amounts should specify a unit. The current implementation of bitcoin-qt, however, only correctly handles amounts as BTC without a unit. What would be the ideal behaviour, in the community consensus, when encountering a URI that does specify a unit? (recall that the user opening these URIs is not the same person who created them)

Example URIs with units:

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481149402
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149402

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149402
Reply with quote  #2

1481149402
Report to moderator
1481149402
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149402

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149402
Reply with quote  #2

1481149402
Report to moderator
Stephen Gornick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
October 05, 2011, 05:50:19 PM
 #2

Per the old bitcoin: URI scheme, amounts should specify a unit. The current implementation of bitcoin-qt, however, only correctly handles amounts as BTC without a unit. What would be the ideal behaviour, in the community consensus, when encountering a URI that does specify a unit?

Previously I had suggested a units=  (e.g., units=mbtc), but there were reasonable arguments as to why that was not a good solution:
 - http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6206.msg91910#msg91910

Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086



View Profile
October 05, 2011, 06:02:02 PM
 #3

Per the old bitcoin: URI scheme, amounts should specify a unit. The current implementation of bitcoin-qt, however, only correctly handles amounts as BTC without a unit. What would be the ideal behaviour, in the community consensus, when encountering a URI that does specify a unit?

Previously I had suggested a units=  (e.g., units=mbtc), but there were reasonable arguments as to why that was not a good solution:
 - http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6206.msg91910#msg91910
Yes, that's why the URIs specify the units in a descriptive form rather than symbolic. Wink

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!