Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 01:50:03 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can't retrieve funds onto my bitcoin program  (Read 1319 times)
Phil1980
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
March 20, 2011, 06:48:40 AM
 #1

Hello,

I bought some bitcoins from a quite reliable dealer, unfortunately my computer developed some problems before I could retrieve the money, the bitcoin program wouldn't start anymore. So I installed the bitcoin software on another computer, copied the wallet.dat file from the old computer into the directory of the new computer, so now when I open the bitcoin program I have the same address as before. Unfortunately when I run the bitcoin program it says I still have 0.00 bitcoins, even though I purchased over 100 bitcoins. I e-mailed the guy telling him I couldn't retrieve the funds, he showed me on the website blockexplorer.com that the transaction had actually taken place. How can I retrieve the funds, using the bitcoin software or some other software, so I actually have them and can use them for purchasing things?
1480773003
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773003

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773003
Reply with quote  #2

1480773003
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480773003
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773003

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773003
Reply with quote  #2

1480773003
Report to moderator
1480773003
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773003

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773003
Reply with quote  #2

1480773003
Report to moderator
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492


View Profile
March 20, 2011, 06:53:35 AM
 #2

In the location where wallet.dat is located, delete all of the files except wallet.dat.

If you're using the latest version of Bitcoin, you can also run Bitcoin with the -rescan switch instead.

The problem is that Bitcoin already processed the blocks containing your transaction, and it doesn't look at them again for new transactions when you replace wallet.dat unless you do one of the things I mentioned.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
Phil1980
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
March 20, 2011, 06:58:49 AM
 #3

OK, thanks for the quick reply, I'll try that, how do you rescan by the way? Do you have to type in some commands? I'm not such a computer expert and I use windows 7.
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492


View Profile
March 20, 2011, 07:07:53 AM
 #4

OK, thanks for the quick reply, I'll try that, how do you rescan by the way? Do you have to type in some commands? I'm not such a computer expert and I use windows 7.

Close Bitcoin. Go to start -> run (or press WinKey+R). Type this:
Code:
%PROGRAMFILES%\Bitcoin\bitcoin.exe -rescan
If it works, Bitcoin will take a long time to open, and the transactions should appear when it does open. This feature was introduced in the very recent 0.3.20 release, so you might not have it.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
CCCMikey
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76



View Profile
March 20, 2011, 07:56:58 AM
 #5

The BitCoin client could really do with some prettying up and UI enhancements. One-click Backup / Restore of Wallet to USB for a start...
Phil1980
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
March 20, 2011, 08:13:40 AM
 #6

BTW, your advice worked, after deleting all files except for the wallet file and reloading I have received the bitcoins now, thank you very much.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!