Bitcoin Forum
May 26, 2017, 11:03:35 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Blocks stays on 0 in my client  (Read 711 times)
Victoria
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
October 06, 2011, 11:55:28 AM
 #1

What if the blocks stays on 0, like at my client, I've 8 connexxions but I'm already waiting 2 days now to receive the bitcoins? What am I doing wrong?  I've transferred from mt gox and I can see that its waiting in blockexplorer. Huh
1495839815
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495839815

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495839815
Reply with quote  #2

1495839815
Report to moderator
"In a nutshell, the network works like a distributed timestamp server, stamping the first transaction to spend a coin. It takes advantage of the nature of information being easy to spread but hard to stifle." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1495839815
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495839815

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495839815
Reply with quote  #2

1495839815
Report to moderator
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
October 06, 2011, 12:19:29 PM
 #2

You don't receive bitcoins, i mean, they are already in your wallet.

But, to be able to see and use them you need to download all the blocks, why it isn't downloading? Well it's related to the fact you have only 2 connections, there is a problem with it, probably a closed port that stop your client from downloading the blockchain.
saltg3n
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18



View Profile
October 06, 2011, 12:29:25 PM
 #3

What does the block count in the status bar at the bottom say? If this stays at 0 or below the block number your transaction is included in you won't see them.

Normally it should increase (although quite slowly) even if you don't have port 8333 forwarded (or opened in your firewall) to the computer your bc client runs on. And even if the bc client can't establish a connection to the irc network to find new nodes it comes with some build in nodes, that's were you get the 8 connections from, iirc.

If your block count stays at 0 it could be that you have no internet connection at all.
Victoria
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
October 06, 2011, 02:54:47 PM
 #4

Thank you for the answers, but I still dont now what to do. I have an internet connection,  the bar at the bottom says 8 connections, 0 blocks, 0 transactions.
It's my laptop and I kept it all night online. Nothing has changed. Sometimes the 8 connections change in 7. My firewall is off.
saltg3n
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18



View Profile
October 06, 2011, 03:26:09 PM
 #5

That's odd... Is this a fresh Bitcoin install and what version are you using? And on what OS?

There are a few command-line options you could try, mainly -rescan or -checkblocks, although I never had to use them myself (yet) so maybe backup your wallet.dat beforehand. You can also check on all the options for the client here.
Victoria
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
October 06, 2011, 03:32:35 PM
 #6

OS is windows XP; bitcoin version 0.4.0-beta; I'll make a back up now, before I try these commends.
Thanx
Victoria
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
October 06, 2011, 05:46:41 PM
 #7

 i don't know it anymore, but i'm not giving up Roll Eyes
saltg3n
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18



View Profile
October 06, 2011, 07:50:31 PM
 #8

Hmm, since it displays 8 connections I'm guessing it's not your firewall/router blocking (at least) outgoing connections of the btc client.

You could try a completely fresh install. Again, make sure you got your wallet.dat backed up and rename/delete your bitcoin data directory, start (maybe even redownload it first) the btc client and check if you get some blocks.
Victoria
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
October 07, 2011, 05:29:09 AM
 #9

I will retry it tommorow...thank you.
I quess a few bitcoins in the air, won't mind Undecided
Victoria
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
October 07, 2011, 11:32:31 AM
 #10

I've made a back-up from wallet.dat, removed everything from bitcoin on my computer, made a fresh download and installed it again, put the old wallet.dat in and http://YES : it's working now
Thank you Smiley
saltg3n
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18



View Profile
October 08, 2011, 03:42:09 PM
 #11

lol, np glad I could help. Cheers!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!