Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 10:03:18 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Help needed with use of 1x slot to add third 5830 in LinuxCoin  (Read 1253 times)
Crypt_Current
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


Shame on everything; regret nothing.


View Profile
October 06, 2011, 08:56:59 PM
 #1

I just tried to use the pci-e 1x for another 5830 in my 2x5830 rig using a 1x to 16x cable (which would make it into a 3x5830 rig).
I had partial luck...
The rig runs LinuxCoin.  What happened was "aticonfig --lsa" listed all three devices, but "AMDOverdriveCtrl -h" only listed the ones plugged into 16x slots, even though it had a couple more entries in its table than usual.

When I tried to run phoenix miner on the DEVICE 2 that "aticonfig --lsa" listed, it tried to use the CPU...   Angry

If anyone could help me with my particular LinuxCoin issue, that'd be great!

It's not much, but I can offer 0.5 BTC for a complete solution.

10% off at CampBX for LIFE:  https://campbx.com/main.php?r=C9a5izBQ5vq  ----  Authorized BitVoucher MEGA reseller (& BTC donations appreciated):  https://bitvoucher.co/affl/1HkvK8o8WWDpCTSQGnek7DH9gT1LWeV5s3/
LTC:  LRL6vb6XBRrEEifB73DiEiYZ9vbRy99H41  NMC:  NGb2spdTGpWj8THCPyCainaXenwDhAW1ZT
1481450598
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450598

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450598
Reply with quote  #2

1481450598
Report to moderator
1481450598
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450598

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450598
Reply with quote  #2

1481450598
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
d.james
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280

Firstbits: 12pqwk


View Profile
October 17, 2011, 04:18:36 PM
 #2

I think what you need to do is this:
connect these 2 pins on your 1X adapter, your 2nd gpu shall be properly initialized.



You can not roll a BitCoin, but you can rollback some. Cheesy
Roll me back: 1NxMkvbYn8o7kKCWPsnWR4FDvH7L9TJqGG
Crypt_Current
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


Shame on everything; regret nothing.


View Profile
October 17, 2011, 04:55:58 PM
 #3

Forgive my being naive, but how exactly would I go about doing that?

10% off at CampBX for LIFE:  https://campbx.com/main.php?r=C9a5izBQ5vq  ----  Authorized BitVoucher MEGA reseller (& BTC donations appreciated):  https://bitvoucher.co/affl/1HkvK8o8WWDpCTSQGnek7DH9gT1LWeV5s3/
LTC:  LRL6vb6XBRrEEifB73DiEiYZ9vbRy99H41  NMC:  NGb2spdTGpWj8THCPyCainaXenwDhAW1ZT
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
October 18, 2011, 12:01:03 AM
 #4

Forgive my being naive, but how exactly would I go about doing that?

Get a piece of insulated wire, strip the ends of it.  Connect exactly those two pins in the slot.  Don't misconnect it or your card and/or MB can go poof.
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
October 21, 2011, 01:54:16 AM
 #5

I just tried to use the pci-e 1x for another 5830 in my 2x5830 rig using a 1x to 16x cable (which would make it into a 3x5830 rig).
I had partial luck...
The rig runs LinuxCoin.  What happened was "aticonfig --lsa" listed all three devices, but "AMDOverdriveCtrl -h" only listed the ones plugged into 16x slots, even though it had a couple more entries in its table than usual.

When I tried to run phoenix miner on the DEVICE 2 that "aticonfig --lsa" listed, it tried to use the CPU...   Angry

If anyone could help me with my particular LinuxCoin issue, that'd be great!

It's not much, but I can offer 0.5 BTC for a complete solution.

if aticonfig sees the card, I think it is initialized OK.  try a different miner.  I use cgminer, which would also negate your need for amdoverdirve too.  cgminer will clock and fan control your cards.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Crypt_Current
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


Shame on everything; regret nothing.


View Profile
October 21, 2011, 10:00:40 PM
 #6

I just tried to use the pci-e 1x for another 5830 in my 2x5830 rig using a 1x to 16x cable (which would make it into a 3x5830 rig).
I had partial luck...
The rig runs LinuxCoin.  What happened was "aticonfig --lsa" listed all three devices, but "AMDOverdriveCtrl -h" only listed the ones plugged into 16x slots, even though it had a couple more entries in its table than usual.

When I tried to run phoenix miner on the DEVICE 2 that "aticonfig --lsa" listed, it tried to use the CPU...   Angry

If anyone could help me with my particular LinuxCoin issue, that'd be great!

It's not much, but I can offer 0.5 BTC for a complete solution.

if aticonfig sees the card, I think it is initialized OK.  try a different miner.  I use cgminer, which would also negate your need for amdoverdirve too.  cgminer will clock and fan control your cards.


Hmm thanks, I'll give that a go and post results :-)

10% off at CampBX for LIFE:  https://campbx.com/main.php?r=C9a5izBQ5vq  ----  Authorized BitVoucher MEGA reseller (& BTC donations appreciated):  https://bitvoucher.co/affl/1HkvK8o8WWDpCTSQGnek7DH9gT1LWeV5s3/
LTC:  LRL6vb6XBRrEEifB73DiEiYZ9vbRy99H41  NMC:  NGb2spdTGpWj8THCPyCainaXenwDhAW1ZT
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!